We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and it wont be the last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back again and it wont be the last”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

At the beginning of June we left the New Zealand winter for a week at Savaii Lagoon Resort, exactly 2 years since we were there last.

The warmth of the Samoan weather and ocean were matched by the welcome of the delightful owners Margaret and Bruce. Margaret is the consummate host, always ensuring the happiness and comfort of her guests. Bruce is irrepressible in his enthusiasm to build and improve the resort. We are looking forward to the opening of 'Dave's Place', the floating bar Bruce will build in front of the restaurant.

The accommodation is simple but comfortable and very clean. The open roofed showers are a delight.

The food is also simple, (the dinner menu changes daily), and utilises fresh ingredients from the surrounding villages and of course the ocean. In terms of quality the food is good and tasty.

One of the highlights of our week at the resort was the Fiafia night put on by the resort’s own staff. Their pride in their culture was very evident and authentic.

Savaii Lagoon Resort is the ideal place to unwind and forget the pressures of home. A must do is to hire snorkel gear to explore the myriad of tropical fish in the coral reef directly in front of the resort. The gear can be hired from the dive shop, run by a German couple, just across the road from the resort. The shop also runs snorkel and scuba tours for the more adventurous.

The resort also has a couple of kayaks for use, although they are looking a bit worn. However given the heat, our preference was to spend more time in the water rather than on it.

Sipping a pre dinner Tropicana cocktail, watching as the sun sank slowly behind the horizon, became a daily ritual for us, and is but one of the great memories we will take from this place.

We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach so having right on the beach is not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello David S,
Thank you once again for an excellent review. It was good to see you both. It was a coincidence that we were at the resort for your second visit also. We are happy that you and your wife enjoyed Savaii Lagoon, and to know that we ensured your enjoyment, is pleasing. We will be looking at bringing in more kayaks soon, so thank you for bringing that to our attention. . On your next return do ensure that you tell our reservations that you are a returning guest. We always like to offer a special to say thank you. Dave's floating bar may be built by then! Thank you from all the Savaii Lagoon team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    73
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
155
282
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love coming to Savaii lagoon resort, each time there have been improvements to enhance the resort.

The snorkelling is some of the best I have experienced and it right outside your door.

Bruce and Margaret are so lucky to find great managers, thanks Sara and Wayne.

If you have any spare room in your bags, the local schools appreciate anything you can contribute. The children are so grateful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Talofa Deb and Martin,
Thank you for posting another excellent review. We should say to you "Many Happy Returns to Savaii Lagoon" It is always good to hear that our guests enjoy what the resort has to offer. We do not believe in standing still as there is a risk of going backwards, so that is why you see improvements on each visit. Thank you for your appreciative comments. We are indeed most fortunate to have Sarah and Wayne as our managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nice little restaurant, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and amazing beach with free kayaks.
Well recommended.
Our travel brochure (infinity holidays) said there are no children allowed but on the 2nd day, young children started arriving, ending up with about 7 after a week which were all very loud and crying at night and 6am so ask if there will be children first.

Room Tip: rooms all had a great location :) room 2 and 3 are by a main pathway though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EzraWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello Ezrawells,
Thank you for an excellent review. Good to know that you enjoyed our restaurant, beach and kayaks. It is always good to receive feedback.
I wish to clear up a misunderstanding. Savaii Lagoon Resort has always been a family resort and our rates include those for children. I have double checked the brochure with Infinity Holidays and it mentions children. There are a couple of bungalows which may not be suitable for children because there is not a separate bedroom, so that is where there could be some confusion. All the bungalows with separate bedrooms are designed to take children. I do apologise that your agent has perhaps caused this misunderstanding and I will discuss with them to ensure that this is explained correctly. We have not had this issue before so it is a one off. Once again thank you from the team at Savaii Lagoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

From the moment you check in until you check out this wonderful oasis is a real tonic for anyone.
A lovely west facing beach to watch the wonderful sunsets.
The rooms are very clean with beautiful welcoming flowers everywhere.
So wonderful to have fridge, microwave and kitchen utilities. This is rare to find in any Samoan hotel or resort.
Meals served in the open fale dining area are delicious. The fresh fruit morning smoothies are wonderful.
Went on the glass bottom boat and saw the shipwreck from 1816. Amazing history story.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaKIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Savaii Lagoon Resort!

The beach is beautiful and safe- there is a deep water hole you can swim in during low tide. A stunning beach for snorkelling during high tide. There are also kayaks available for guests to use.

Wayne and Sarah were fantastic hosts; they could not have made us feel more welcome! They both checked in with us every day to make sure we were happy.

The accommodation is clean and basic- we did find some of the fixtures to be in need of repair.

The restaurant/bar is a lovely place to eat your breakfast and dinner- we did find the food overpriced, however portions are large. Places to eat out were quite limited in Savaii.

Unfortunately we did struggle a little bit with the noise- the rooms are quite close to each other and windows do need to open to let the breeze in. We were woken by maintenance, music playing from the kitchen and the other guests in the morning- easily fixed with some decent earplugs.

These however were minor details for us as our stay was amazing and we will definitely be back to this tranquil and peaceful paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missm2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Missm2m,
Thank you for your review.
Guest feedback is always important to us as it helps the Resort strive to improve on any areas where we are found lacking. We are sorry that your sleep was interrupted in the mornings. We have a happy team here at the resort and we sometimes have to remind them to keep their voices down in the mornings. Music and singing plays a major part in their culture and our staff do forget that the sound can carry, especially on a beach situation. At our next meeting we will pass on your positive comments to the staff and also mention your other comments about the noise.
Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I first stayed there with my sister we're from American Samoa, me living in NYC and she lives in Arizona. I booked a second trip there with a friend he's from Hawaii but we lost everything during the tsunami when we stayed at the Coconut's Beach Club, to my dismay SLR wouldn't refund my money. But 2013 I told my partner it's the best place to stay in Savai'i so we stayed there for 2 nights it was the best experience he had and so did I.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance to get the center front bungalow. Its the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Senele M,
Thank you for your review. Best wishes from Savaii Lagoon resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Thankyou Wayne and Sarah. Our second time a the resort and enjoyed every minute of it. We love Samoa and the beautiful people, but a stay at the resort is a must do. Keep up the great work and hope to see you again next year. Stayed in the studio and loved the privacy aspect. I think I said this in my last review, if you want a 5 star Hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want the best beach, a couple of metres from your front door, genuine island bungalows, great service and made to feel like your the only guest in the resort, then have a good look at SLR. Thanks again.

Room Tip: If there is only two of you, have a look at the studio, great value. I've added a photo from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvit292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a second review. We are happy that we came up to your expectations a second time. Best wishes from Savaii Lagoon resort team. - especially from Sarah and Wayne, managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
397 reviews
23.3 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing