We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We only have one holiday a year and this was the perfect way to start our 10 day stay in Samoa. Sunny, warm and the water was fantastic. Accommodation was very clean and tidy and LOVED the outdoor shower rooms. Enjoy my hot shower one day with rain come down as well! The food was well presented and very enjoyable as was the cocktails and the company of the restaurant staff and managers Wayne and Sarah. Nothing was a hassle and five nights was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Northlanders.
We are very happy that we came up to your expectations for your one annual holiday. Thank you for your review. All the best from Savaii Lagoon Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Savaii Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 543 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had such a great time at Savaii Lagoon Resort. We chose Samoa for our honeymoon and were lucky enough to stay for 7 nights here in the honeymoon bungalow. The Bungalow was very comfortable and decorated beautifully, we were so excited to have an outdoor bathroom and one night my husband saw a shooting star whilst having a shower! The surrounding gardens are very well kept and if you look close there is so many little hermit crabs cruising around. The lagoon and outlook is absolutely gorgeous! We loved sitting on the deck of the restaurant looking out over the lagoon enjoying great food, friendly service and yummy cocktails! The restaurant had great variety and were willing to change the menu to suit different tastes. We usually didn't get to dinner until 8pm as it was so nice swimming, the lagoon is beautiful and clean and full of heaps of different fish. Even at low tide we would swim along the edge of the reef, it is like a fish nursery, lots of juveniles, especially triggers. We spotted some turtles and also some snowflake eels.
We went on a fishing charter with Wayne which was fantastic and a fia fia night next door at Le Legato with all the other guests at Savaii Lagoon Resort which was a really good night.
We hired a car and saw just about everything on Savaii, we are so glad we chose to visit Savaii as well as Upolu, the islands really are so different. The staff at this resort were so friendly and management was amazing, Wayne & Sarah did everything possible to make sure we had a great stay. This resort had a great feel about it, everything has been thought of and the location is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdotiozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear cdotiozo,
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. We wish you the very best for your future life together. From the staff at Savaii Lagoon resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for 8 days in the "Honeymoon Fale". When we were looking for accommodation in Savaii we were attracted to this resort by the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed; such an awesome place to chill out for a week.We arrived to be greeted by our friendly hosts Wayne and Sarah who did a great job of looking after us. Our days were filled with snorkelling, swimming ,kayaking, reading, sleeping, playing cards and dining at the resort. Exactly what we imagined. The menu changed daily and the food was excellent.
We did a fishing charter with Wayne and caught Wahoo, Trevally and a Rainbow Runner.This was a fun day out on the water and we were lucky to see dolphins and turtles! A delicious cut lunch was included and we dined on our catch later that night. We highly recommend the Savaii Lagoon Resort and we hope to go back here someday.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon fale is in the best location as it is very roomy and private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinWinner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hi all - ok we didn't stay here but wish we had, however we did a FISHING Charter with Wayne and although we didn't catch anything except the police patrol boat yep sirens screaming and lights flashing was very funny. We were out for 5 hours and we tried hard A BIG ups to Wayne Sarah and the lads for a great day on the water though - GREAT boat to go out in AWESOME Lunch and coffee etc provided on the boat and the cold Coconut milk bloody nice. The next Day we went back for LUNCH - RECOMMEND this PLACE for dinner or lunch to one and all they went out of their way to please - Thanks Wayne and Sarah you have my vote - cheers G

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't Stay there but what a location - very nice spot tucked away on the side of the l...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you Gazza20142014,
Thanks for your review. The sea waters are cooling slightly now which makes it more suitable for catching fish it seems due to the fish not going into deeper waters. Even though you were not successful on this trip, perhaps you will stay at Savaii Lagoon sometime and try your luck again. Wayne has just returned from a day's successful charter, so disappointed for you in that respect.
Best wishes from Savaii Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the Savaii Lagoon resort for five nights, and were lucky enough to be in the 'honeymoon' Fale. Everything that I had read about Savaii Lagoon here on tripadviser was spot on. The Fale was spacious, clean and inviting. The 'outdoor' bathroom was clean with a good shower. At night the overhead fan and the seabreeze through the slatted windows were all we needed for a good night sleep. We certainly did not miss air-con.

We loved the restaurant breakfast each morning. The fruit was fresh and delicious. The smoothies refreshing and the coffee strong. Each afternoon we would select our choice for dinner from the menu black board which changed each day. We found the choice extensive, the meals were always well presented and delicious. I thought the prices were very reasonable.

Swimming was great in the little 'swimming hole' just off our Fale, at both high and low tides. We spent hours lolling around in the ocean. There was a pool next door at Le Legoto but we didn't even think of using it.

Snorkelling at high tide was great, with an abundance of coral and tropical fish. Kayaking in the lagoon was also fun.

While we were there Bruce and staff were busy concreting a new driveway out the front. I would sweat just watching them work in the heat. Thank you Bruce and Margaret for being fantastic hosts.

February might be officially called the 'low' season, but we called it the "fruit' season because of the amount of fresh fruit we had.

While we were there we had a rental car (picked up from airport). We toured around Savaii a few days, but most of the time were more than content to just enjoy staying at the resort.

We absolutely loved everything about Savaii Lagoon and feel privileged to have been able to stay there for the five nights. The only sad part was leaving. We can only dream of returning one day....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aus_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hello Aus _Harry,
Thank you very much for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed your company. You were easy to take care of and most supportive. It was interesting to learn from you about the various fishes in our lagoon. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Samoa. Looking forward to your return.to SL.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recently visited here with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it. The rooms were wonderful, the food was of a very high standard and best of all the staff and management were extremely helpful and friendly. The room cleaning staff were like ninjas.

It was a 20 meter walk from our room to the water, and some beautiful snorkeling just off the shore. The gardens provide wonderful scenery as well as plenty of privacy. We loved the outdoor bathroom as well!

The fans were fine at keeping you cool, and we actually preferred the good fans here then the air con we had at another resort, as it made everything quite damp.

It is a little pricey but absolutely worth the extra money. I know exactly where we will be going for our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Emma259,
Thank you for your review. We try to achieve a feeling of romance in addition to the relaxed and friendly atmosphere which is the focus of Savaii Lagoon. Gratifying to know that you wish to book your honeymoon with us. Do advise us of that fact when making your booking to enable us to treat you in an extra special way. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon as a family of four in January and loved it. The management team of Wayne and Sarah have really got the place sorted - from the excellent restaurant food ( better than other well known resorts in Samoa that I won't name) to the very functional and comfortable bungalows with potable water on tap.The deck down by the water is perfect and the beach is beautiful. We were surprised at how empty the place was - with only 30% of the bungalows in use in late January. In fact the whole manase area with about 8 or 9 resorts is mostly empty during the wet season ( December thru march except Christmas). So here is a tip - next time - If travelling in the off season we would just book 1 night at Aggies, say, and then show up at any of the resorts at Manase starting with SLR and ask for their walk in price. Stevensons offered to knock 2/3 off the internet rate and throw in the kids for nothing - which would make for a huge saving - as our superior bungalow booked online at SLR cost about $400 per night (with two teenagers added at $80 each per night on top of the $235 NZD base price - ie it is not cheap). Le legoto next door to SLR will also knock the price down. At the end of the day Savaii Lagoon is better but you would be hard pressed to turn down a very cheap "wet season" rate at either Stevensons down the road or Le Legoto next door if SLR won't match it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
8  Thank Travelling-wilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for an excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed Savaii Lagoon and the management team of Sarah and Wayne. We pride ourselves on the facilities we offer our guests including the filtered and ultra violet treated water on tap in the bungalows, and the chilled safe drinking water in our restaurant - a major saving on not having to purchase bottled water. We do our best to ensure that each guest is treated as a V.I P.

Yes ,certainly you can get cheaper accommodation in the quiet season, but those accommodations do not have self contained cooking facilities and complimentary safe drinking water. During the busy season many other resorts quote US$. We don't. We have no hidden charges. We have a beautiful lagoon, self contained bungalows giving families the choice of doing their own cooking, absolute beach front bar and restaurant and staff who we encourage to engage with our guests. The friendliness of our staff is often commented on.

Even in the quiet season we are a popular resort with more bookings than other resorts. As pointed out by you, every other resort had no guests. Regarding your comment about discounts in the quiet season, some guests prefer the security of a booking regardless of whether it is low season, while others take the risk. It is difficult to say several months before how busy we will be from day to day.

Again thank you for your complimentary review and we wish you all the best for your future journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $124 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing