We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 6 nights in June this year and found it a very enjoyable resort. We stayed in a beautifully sited bungalow set apart from the others making it very private and looking right out over the lagoon. Sarah and Wayne who manage the resort are extremely helpful and they really went out of their way to make our stay special and they also resolved some transport issue for us as well. The food is based on fresh fish and produce and was always enjoyable. We were there to relax and this is a perfect place to do so - the snorkelling straight out from the beach is wonderful and there is a great variety of fish to see. The library is well stocked and we made good use of it.
We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    65
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
142
268
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A traveller may search long and hard and find better value on Savaii, but they will be hard pressed to find a better resort to unwind at. Young Wayne, Old Sarah, and their staff will help you overcome any first world issues and ensure you enjoy a perfect break. Other reviews pretty much cover the basics and they deserve their number one rating.

People staying at La Lagoto next door should consider eating at Savaii Lagoon Resort once or twice and vice versa. They would also be well advised to try Leilina's pizza place once or twice for a bit of variety. If you are travelling over by ferry pick a day when both ferry's are operating and take the newer ferry. The older ferry will get you there, but you will find the trip slower and more uncomfortable. When you arrive at the wharf look for the taxi which Wayne and Sarah usually ensure is waiting there. The going rate as at July 2013 is $70WST. The only other generic advice for Samoa would be to ensure you have reef shoes and snorkelling gear.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
672 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not sure what we can say to add to all of the other accoldaes that Savaii Lagoon has received, other than that they are all well deserved.

We stayed at Savaii Lagoon for two nights in July 2013 and hosts Sarah and Wayne were just wonderful and could not do enough to make the stay enjoyable. Large rooms and the best snorkelling right off the beach that I have experienced anywhere! World class!

Breakfast was generous enough and we ate dinner at the restaurant one of the nights we were there and the food was very nice.

We also ate at the reastaurant at the resort next door and at the pizza shop right across the road - and all were able to provide great quality food - so there are many choices.

The other thing we would recommend is a half day tour with local man Sam, who is a lovely bloke and very knowledgable about the area and the culture.

Already planning a return trip - thank you Wayne and Sarah

Andy and Sharon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed it here. Clean water to drink? Tick! Calm clean sea for swimming, right out the front, with lots of coral and fish to see? Tick! Gracious friendly hosts who were happy to chat and open to feedback? Tick! We enjoyed the meals, the deck at the restaurant means you are almost right on the water as you eat. The lounges on the beach under umbrellas were great for afternoon book reading. Free kayaks a bonus. The actual buildings of the accommodation are a bit bunkerish from the outside but clean, spacious and comfortable from the inside. Nice walk up and down to neighboring villages and Dive Savai'i just across the road offer a great service. Local Tour guide Sam did a great job of showing us the island and was really friendly and down to earth. The only downside on the tour was the captive and manhandled endangered sea turtles in a neighboring village, i personally would be happy to see that dropped from the tour.
As a destination though, thumbs up to Savaii and to Savaii Lagoon Resort, and surrounding businesses, we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greencouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

to express just how truly amazing SLR is. It epitomises what everyone dreams of when thinking of staying in paradise. Savaii Lagoon continues to work tirelessly in improving the resort itself, the facilities, customer service, food, management, just everything. The wonderful beach is at your doorstep where you can swim, dive, snorkel or just chill. Management is very humble in letting guests know how much they do to improve the life of the villagers of Fagamalo but they never stop giving and every improvement to the resort is also an improvement to the village. My absolute favourite resort in Samoa. PS: Don't miss the fantastic ride in the glass bottom boat.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views but the best is the Superior Ocean Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debdestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Debdestiny,

We do focus on the comfort of our guests while at the same time making efforts to ensure that the villagers receive benefits from our resort. To follow such a glowing review, I can only say a heartfelt "Thank you" from all the staff at Savaii Lagoon.
Alofa tele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were privileged to be at the wedding of Jocelyn and her husband at the Savaii Lagoon Resort, and we endorse everything she said in her review.

Never before have we ever had a holiday of this nature so we are going to return very soon.

It’s unspoilt, natural and little commercialisation.

If you want a totally relaxing holiday this is the place to go. Our stay was so good that we wish we could have stayed longer, but we will be back. Whilst we were there we didn't feel the need to go sightseeing and the locals made us very welcome.

The accommodation is simple and very comfortable, within a few steps of the beach, and because everybody gravitates to the beach the restaurant is well placed, being built over the beach itself allowing the guests to soak up peace and tranquillity, and to watch some amazing sunsets.

The food is sourced locally which means it is as fresh as one can get. None of it is frozen, and even the meat is local. The menu reflects what is in season and available on the day and is prepared under the expert guidance of your co-host, Wayne.

The staff is a credit to the resort and nothing is too much trouble.

The restaurant is also a Wi-Fi hotspot so if you feel the need to maintain contact with the outside world then this is the place to do it.

The other half of the hosting team is Sarah who looks after the front office and accommodation among other things. Both work as a team and complement each other.

A true holiday is a holiday and this is the place to experience it.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and with the spectacular Pacific at your toes there is no need for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose Savai'i Lagoon Resort to have our wedding and we couldn't recommend this resort more highly.
There are only a dozen or so rooms here and the intimate nature of it made it all the more special. The service from all staff in all areas can't be beaten, we left feeling like family and will definitely be back in years to come!
Rooms are spacious open plan with perfect sized kitchenette.
The resort is on a beautiful beach where you can snorkel right from the beach, and there's a great swimming hole for when the tide is low.
Special thank you to the beautiful village of Fagamalo for your hospitality, and everyone involved in our wedding.
Tui and Talavou my gorgeous warriors walking me down the aisle and chefs Koko & Tina. To the many involved in our decorations, Ava ceremony, Fia Fia and fire dance Tamiano, Tuluiga, Atia, Fa'alava, Amosa, Usuia, Alomai, Ruby, Itagnia, Tuliese, Suluia, Tagi, Faleiva, Tuvale, Pasi, Mikaele, Samu, Atia and the gorgeous wee A.J. just to name a few. You are all amazing people and you made our wedding day the most special day of our lives and we wouldn't change a thing!! THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly situated, however if you can get a beachfront room I would highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JocelynMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear JocelynMcG, Thank you for your welcome review. All the team at Savaii Lagoon resort thoroughly enjoyed making your wedding day extra special. Sarah and Wayne showed the staff your review where you mention each and everyone by name. The staff were simply "blown away" that you should give their names. It meant a great deal to them to know that their efforts were appreciated. Sarah and Wayne especially do a wonderful job over and beyond. Your photos are a special memory. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing