We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great place to relax and unwind, great staff and hosts, Tony and Melissa. We even got to watch the rugby. The rooms are great self contained although they don't have air conditioning, this really wasn't a problem. Short walk from rooms to either the restaurant/bar or the beautiful beach, where you can kayak, snorkel or swim with the tropical fish over a gorgeous coral reef. Also great as you can walk to the next resort and share their facilities as well, and they work in together to make your stay enjoyable and relaxed. The food is wonderful and presented wonderfully. Great walks to be had around the plantations or around the roads to the next bays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    70
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
152
278
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spacious room, large, well equiped kitchen area and large semi outdoor bathroom with tropical plants. Great fun snorkelling amongst the colourful fish (take your own snorkel). Appetising tropical breakfast with great selection of fruit. Friendly and helpful owners and lots of nice touches, such as beautiful floral decorations ( hibiscus) all over the room and bathroom on arrival; milk replenished every day; breakfast delivered the night before for early departure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Savaii Lagoon Resort for 4 nights. The whole team there is really wonderful - genuine, caring, helpful and professional. It felt safe and friendly the whole time. The fales are clean and well maintained, and the whole place has a nice, personal and low-key feel to it. There's also a small shop and pizza joint across the road, and it's right next to Dive Savaii and a car rental place if you want to explore further.

Room Tip: As with all the pacific islands I've visited, the local roosters will wake you up at some point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Sadly we only stayed 3 nights and then 6 nights at Seabreeze resort on Upolu, in hindsight we wished we had done the reverse. From the amazing beach front bungalow, the picture perfect beach and wonderful relaxed nature of the whole resort this for us was as near to a relaxed paradise as you will ever get.
The restuarant is simple and adequate but dont expect huge choice every night but what is on the menu changes daily and is fresh. The swimming is good except at low tide when coral is exposed and you are asked not to swim at low tide anyway, no swimming pool at resort but we found the cold shower if needed when tide was out kept you cool.
A great little Pizza place across the road if you feel like a change of diet.
Getting to the resort can be a bit of a mission, a $20 tale 10 mins taxi ride to ferry terminal from airport , either a 1.5 hour ferry or 1 hour depending on which one is going , all for $12 tale and then a $70 1 hour taxi ride to the resort.
The ferry, if it is the open car ferry has no seating and can be full on exposure in the sun if you have just arrived, the larger and faster closed in ferry is certainly the best option. Our only suggestions for improvemnts in the resort would be more comfortable loungers are needed on beach as wooden ones with thin squabs ae not that great after an hour or so.
Dont come here if you want a night life or a fast paced holiday as you will be in bed early as everything shuts down by 9.30- 10pm , perfect for some but guess not everyone, for us it was paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We returned to Savai'i Lagoon Resort between 24-30 August and were lucky enough to have the "honeymoon" suite and it was gorgeous. Beautiful sunsets, great privacy and just a wonderful experience. When we discussed it afterwards we decided that this trip was better than last time because we knew what to expect and got the most of our time there.
Highlights included snorkeling in the coral garden, beers in the water, plantation tour with June, scrabble with Tony and delicious meals at night.

Room Tip: Read the description - all rooms are within 25-30 metres of the water but some don't have water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just came home from a wonderful week at Savaii Lagoon Resort. We traveled with our 17 month old at everything was perfect. Our Son had a port-a-cot set up just after our arrival (45 tala to hire) and he also had a highchair at the restaurant, these little things made life so easy and gave us a chance to relax.

Being right on the beach was awesome, when we weren't exploring the island we spent our days kayaking, snorkeling, swimming and hanging out on the beach

We love that Savaii Lagoon is so community minded, getting their amazing produce and fish from the local growers and fishermen, employing staff from the local village, providing clean and safe water to the locals for free.

Melissa and Tony were wonderful hosts, nothing was ever a problem, Tony even bought our son a bunch of banana's to snack on, Tele was so kind to stay on one evening and babysit us (i learnt afterwards it is protocol to pay the babysitters directly on the night), the restaurant manager was so friendly and always welcoming. All the staff made it such a relaxing and welcoming holiday.

Thanks team!
Highly recommend staying here, very family friendly!

Room Tip: All fale's are awesome and right on the beach, only issue we found was sometimes securing a beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haykerryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the perfect place to chill out and escape the winter weather for a short time. The lagoon and beach must be one of the prettiest in Samoa. Swimming and snorkelling is great as the water is so clear and calm. The bungalows are about 20 paces from the beach and the deckchairs, making it hard to leave the place and explore the island!
We stayed 9 nights and are glad that we had this time. Some guests decided to spend time on Upolu before coming to Savaii and, once at the Resort, said they wished that they had come straight here. The bungalows are very comfortable and clean and the outdoor showers are a nice touch.
The restaraurant serves delicous meals - the menu is simple and based on the fresh catch of the day and locally sourced produce. The breakfast is great - fresh fruit, freshly baked bread and excellent coffee.
As the other reviewers have said, Tony and Melissa are excellent hosts who go over and above to make sure you have a great holiday. They have instilled this customer service in their staff who provide warm friendly service and all seem to love working there. One of the staff, June, runs a Plantation Tour , to his village. It's a gently paced cultural walking tour which gives an insight into daily Samoan life and I highly recommend it. It was one of the highlights of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giselle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.1 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
396 reviews
23.3 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Property: Savaii Lagoon Resort
Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing