We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, friendly hosts”
Review of Janes Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Janes Beach Fales
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Jane's for 8 nights in July 2010. We had booked online and had been told we would have a beachfront fale but when we arrived we were put into a 'second-row' fale. We asked to move after the first night and the only beachfront fale was No.13 which was 'out of service' at the time but Penina (sp?) and her staff went out of their way to ensure our original request for a beachfront fale was fulfilled. They reinforced the roof with more thatched fronds and even cut down some palm fronds from a neighbouring tree that were banging against the roof. We spent 7 nights in our little cosy fale and hated to leave - although it was an older fale it had the best position on the beach and was more private than others!

I'm surprised what other reviewers have said about the cleanliness. We were amazed at how clean the toilets/showers were while we were there. There must have been people cleaning them out every couple of hours as they always seemed to be sand-free in a sand filled site!! We also thought the food at Jane's was reasonably good (certainly adequate) and our meals were always served hot. There is a set time to eat at Jane's (6:30pm when we were there) and if you don't show up until 7:00 or 7:30pm you can't expect the food to be as hot as it would have been if you had showed up on time! At 120ST per night inclusive for two people you can't expect gourmet but in 8 nights we had no repeat dinners and only 1 repeat breakfast and we always had enough to eat so we were happy with what we had!

The location at Manase is fantastic. We met lots of interesting people at Jane's and we would go back there again the next time we're in Savaii.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundtheworld25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

the pluses: oceanfront, clean, nice reef (prettiest portion of reef in manase) with good variety of fish and a turtle, grassy lawns between fales (cooler/more comfortable than sand), lockable fales, breakfast and dinner included (see below)

minus: this is a no frills fale experience. no electric outlets at fales (there is a light bulb), holes in bug nets, old mattresses and smelly pillows, leaky roofs in the two fales we were in. food was in single serving (no seconds), and was hotdog/fried chicken/or fried fish repeated daily, with a side of potato and a couple carrot slices. basically, takeaway style food with no traditional style samoan food. you don't come here for the accomodations or food. you come to snorkle twice a day and gaze at the gorgeous ocean.

nice staff, poor English communication but well intentioned. was a pretty place to laze for a week. nearby were several tiny beach bars and a petrol/service station that sold cold drinks and ice creams. convenient to captive turtle viewing pond, dive savaii (recommended), and as a big plus, janes has its own car rentals on-site.
janes would be improved with local/authentic samoan food/fresh fruits and veg.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor before going and they seemed contradictory.

You need to understand it’s really like camping at a gorgeous beach (which we do in New Zealand) only Jane’s provide the “tent” and bed and some meals. The grounds and beach were immaculate and at high tide the sea was great for swimming and snorkelling.

We rented a lockable fale, feeling our valuables were more secure, but it’s still an extremely basic concrete structure. This cost us as a couple WST180/night, which is actually expensive compared with the WST250/night it cost us at Lucia’s Lagoon Chalets near Salelologo with airconditioning, refrigerator, tea & coffee making facilities, hot and cold water shower, television, soft bed with 100% cotton sheets, a really good breakfast included and the ability to just dive off your balcony into the clear water of the lagoon below. They also have an award-winning restaurant.

We took a small electric travel jug and used it extensively to boil water for tea, coffee and drinking water, also a couple of mugs.

Soon after we arrived, our belongings and particularly some fruit had huge numbers of tiny ants crawling over and through everything. We were provided with cockroach spray which eased the problem.

The lockable fales have mosquito mesh over the windows but we were bitten badly the first night and found there were large gaps above and below the doors, around plumbing etc.

We did enjoy mixing with other tourists but our third night was spoiled by a very drunk local who got into an argument and kept us awake late at night. We were also woken repeatedly before dawn by buses or trucks sounding their horns as they approached and passed through Manase village.

Some of the junior staff were quite friendly but others were polite and satisfied requests but seemed very reserved, which may be a cultural thing.

The Samoan way is to have a huge breakfast and a substantial evening meal and nothing in between which makes sense in the mid-day heat, but we found the breakfasts extremely light. For example: a sandwich comprising a half slice of fluffy white bread with a slice of cucumber, a slice of tomato and a thin slice of cheese, plus a segment of papaya and a cup of tea or coffee. Also the evening meals varied little and were a single course mainly based on the Samoan version of “chop suey” with little bits of chicken and imported mixed frozen vegetables swimming in a gravy lightly seasoned with soy sauce, plus a half cup of cooked rice. One night a sausage was added to this. We were able to eat bananas and other fruit to supplement what was provided. We feel on reflection it would be better to forgo the meals offered at Jane’s and eat virtually next door at the Vacations Beach Fales restaurant, or at the upmarket Le Lagoto Beach Resort not far away, which we did on our last night.

In the end we bailed out a day early and went to stay at Lucia’s Lagoon Chalets. The next day the people we had spent most time with at Jane’s did the same! I think we would go to Jane's again for one or two nights. So long as you know what to expect it shouldn't be too much of a culture shock!

Other tourists told us they inspected other beach fales at Manase and came back to Jane’s as the best deal but it doesn’t take much to imagine how it could be improved. A shower head on the showers and a fridge for cold drinks would be a huge improvement. Fish, tropical fruit, taro, coconuts etc are all abundant and cheap in Samoa but only a little papaya was offered as part of meals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at Jane's for 3 nights. It was low season, so our group of 6 students practically had the beach to ourselves. Fili and her helper Wendy were very friendly, accommodating and happy to help at any point. The boys who do the maintenance there were also kind enough to cut down and serve us coconuts the traditional way!

The location is probably one of the best on Savai'i. The beach is beautiful and clear, and there are nearby attractions like snorkeling, swimming with the turtles and the lava fields. You get served basic but generous quantities of breakfast and dinner, which is included in the rates, but if you feel like a bit more you can walk 2 minutes down to the petrol station for some more snacks. Alternatively, take a short taxi ride to the restaurant at Le Lagoto Resort where they occasionally serve a special $10tala lunch menu. At Jane's, there is also a small bar which serves local beer and a good range of cocktails for reasonable prices.

As for rooms, these are basic but charming. They are set on grass and are literally a few steps away from the sand and sea. These fales have the advantage of being lockable, so no need to worry about losing things while away on a day trip. Facilities are shared, and also very basic, but are serviced every day. All in all, Jane's Beach Fales was excellent value for money. Great location, well maintained and service was excellent. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiwigrace47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

basic but very charming beach fales, right on the beach in Manase

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
4  Thank etreur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

was a great friendly place to stay!
paradise at your doorstep!
great meals, breakfast and dinner.
clear beautiful water for snorkling
relaxing quiet!
PERFECT!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at Jane's. Felt at home from the beginning. Enjoyed the fale that was several steps up from many other places'--enclosed and lockable, with a little deck and chairs. Lovely beach and some okay snorkeling, very well-maintained lawns and grounds, friendly staff, cute chickens, fun crabs. The food was variable; we had some good meals and a few mediocre ones, but there was always enough. Breakfast always solid.

Just a relaxing place to chill out and enjoy life.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ScubaGirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
21.2 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
23 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
320 reviews
16.9 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janes Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janes Beach Fales

Address: Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Janes Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Janes Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing