We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Janes Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Janes Beach Fales
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only stayed one night at Janes Beach Fale and we loved it. The food was nice, the showers were clean and the service was great. We loved the cocktail bar on the beach and our Fale was in a perfect location right on the beach. It was very simple and basic accomodation but it was just a beautiful place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ButchLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Janes Beach Fales
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

This place has basic beach fales and a couple of ensuite bungalows. We stayed in the bungalow which was fun and bright pink with a terrace. The windows were netted but a mosquito net would have been good. There was no fan and therefore it was hot. The bathroom was tired with just a pipe and no showerhead. A bit buggy in there at night. We were there in quiet season but in busier times it might be quite noisy. The food is included but it is very average, however I think this place has the most friendly service of the fales in Manase and the location is charming. There is a small beach bar next door which does nice cocktails.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights & from the moment we arrived it was a lovely experience...fili & her helper Wendy were a great help...we were there with our 5 kids,my mother & sister in law & we all had a fantastic stay & did not want 2 leave...Mum & sis in-law had a beachfront fale but ours was jst behind it..my kids loved evry minute there..waking up 2 the sound of the water..& the view..WOW!!!..the food was great..4 the price u pay including meals & clean shower & toilets it was a bargain...i'd recommend it 2 evryone...value 4 money...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alealiiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We recently spent two nights at Janes Beach Fales at Manese Beach. The accommodation was private, very basic but clean with a proper double bed, light bulb, lockable door (bring your own lock), and a great verandah with views to die for. The fales were surrounded by grass which we thought was much better than sand, and had plenty of shade for sitting and enjoying the view or reading a book. They have a nice beach bar with a great happy hour. Breakfast and dinner are included. Breakfast was good and dinner was adequate but not really to our liking. However, the price is so reasonable that it is still a bargain if you eat somewhere else occasionally. We did not have any problems with mosquitoes. It might be handy to bring a torch for any late night wanders.
We felt that there was everything there to make a relaxing, tropical holiday. I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Jane's for 8 nights in July 2010. We had booked online and had been told we would have a beachfront fale but when we arrived we were put into a 'second-row' fale. We asked to move after the first night and the only beachfront fale was No.13 which was 'out of service' at the time but Penina (sp?) and her staff went out of their way to ensure our original request for a beachfront fale was fulfilled. They reinforced the roof with more thatched fronds and even cut down some palm fronds from a neighbouring tree that were banging against the roof. We spent 7 nights in our little cosy fale and hated to leave - although it was an older fale it had the best position on the beach and was more private than others!

I'm surprised what other reviewers have said about the cleanliness. We were amazed at how clean the toilets/showers were while we were there. There must have been people cleaning them out every couple of hours as they always seemed to be sand-free in a sand filled site!! We also thought the food at Jane's was reasonably good (certainly adequate) and our meals were always served hot. There is a set time to eat at Jane's (6:30pm when we were there) and if you don't show up until 7:00 or 7:30pm you can't expect the food to be as hot as it would have been if you had showed up on time! At 120ST per night inclusive for two people you can't expect gourmet but in 8 nights we had no repeat dinners and only 1 repeat breakfast and we always had enough to eat so we were happy with what we had!

The location at Manase is fantastic. We met lots of interesting people at Jane's and we would go back there again the next time we're in Savaii.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roundtheworld25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

the pluses: oceanfront, clean, nice reef (prettiest portion of reef in manase) with good variety of fish and a turtle, grassy lawns between fales (cooler/more comfortable than sand), lockable fales, breakfast and dinner included (see below)

minus: this is a no frills fale experience. no electric outlets at fales (there is a light bulb), holes in bug nets, old mattresses and smelly pillows, leaky roofs in the two fales we were in. food was in single serving (no seconds), and was hotdog/fried chicken/or fried fish repeated daily, with a side of potato and a couple carrot slices. basically, takeaway style food with no traditional style samoan food. you don't come here for the accomodations or food. you come to snorkle twice a day and gaze at the gorgeous ocean.

nice staff, poor English communication but well intentioned. was a pretty place to laze for a week. nearby were several tiny beach bars and a petrol/service station that sold cold drinks and ice creams. convenient to captive turtle viewing pond, dive savaii (recommended), and as a big plus, janes has its own car rentals on-site.
janes would be improved with local/authentic samoan food/fresh fruits and veg.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor before going and they seemed contradictory.

You need to understand it’s really like camping at a gorgeous beach (which we do in New Zealand) only Jane’s provide the “tent” and bed and some meals. The grounds and beach were immaculate and at high tide the sea was great for swimming and snorkelling.

We rented a lockable fale, feeling our valuables were more secure, but it’s still an extremely basic concrete structure. This cost us as a couple WST180/night, which is actually expensive compared with the WST250/night it cost us at Lucia’s Lagoon Chalets near Salelologo with airconditioning, refrigerator, tea & coffee making facilities, hot and cold water shower, television, soft bed with 100% cotton sheets, a really good breakfast included and the ability to just dive off your balcony into the clear water of the lagoon below. They also have an award-winning restaurant.

We took a small electric travel jug and used it extensively to boil water for tea, coffee and drinking water, also a couple of mugs.

Soon after we arrived, our belongings and particularly some fruit had huge numbers of tiny ants crawling over and through everything. We were provided with cockroach spray which eased the problem.

The lockable fales have mosquito mesh over the windows but we were bitten badly the first night and found there were large gaps above and below the doors, around plumbing etc.

We did enjoy mixing with other tourists but our third night was spoiled by a very drunk local who got into an argument and kept us awake late at night. We were also woken repeatedly before dawn by buses or trucks sounding their horns as they approached and passed through Manase village.

Some of the junior staff were quite friendly but others were polite and satisfied requests but seemed very reserved, which may be a cultural thing.

The Samoan way is to have a huge breakfast and a substantial evening meal and nothing in between which makes sense in the mid-day heat, but we found the breakfasts extremely light. For example: a sandwich comprising a half slice of fluffy white bread with a slice of cucumber, a slice of tomato and a thin slice of cheese, plus a segment of papaya and a cup of tea or coffee. Also the evening meals varied little and were a single course mainly based on the Samoan version of “chop suey” with little bits of chicken and imported mixed frozen vegetables swimming in a gravy lightly seasoned with soy sauce, plus a half cup of cooked rice. One night a sausage was added to this. We were able to eat bananas and other fruit to supplement what was provided. We feel on reflection it would be better to forgo the meals offered at Jane’s and eat virtually next door at the Vacations Beach Fales restaurant, or at the upmarket Le Lagoto Beach Resort not far away, which we did on our last night.

In the end we bailed out a day early and went to stay at Lucia’s Lagoon Chalets. The next day the people we had spent most time with at Jane’s did the same! I think we would go to Jane's again for one or two nights. So long as you know what to expect it shouldn't be too much of a culture shock!

Other tourists told us they inspected other beach fales at Manase and came back to Jane’s as the best deal but it doesn’t take much to imagine how it could be improved. A shower head on the showers and a fridge for cold drinks would be a huge improvement. Fish, tropical fruit, taro, coconuts etc are all abundant and cheap in Samoa but only a little papaya was offered as part of meals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
17.8 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
3.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janes Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janes Beach Fales

Address: Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Janes Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Janes Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing