We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
80
28
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
28
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanyan treeshigh tidehuge treesfishtree swinggreat opportunitysense of humourtoastiestraditional beachfood was greatlocal communitycoral reefmarine reserveoverwater bungalowgreat spotnearby villagesamoan food
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 113 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018

Our one night here was our best experience in Samoa! Beautiful location with amazing snorkeling. Make sure you check tides before coming and be there close to high tide as it is shallow. Float down the beach with the natural curent across the coral but stop before it gets too shallow. The giant Bayon trees provide beautiful shade and you can even sit up on the treehouse platform.

The family and staff are so friendly and will look after you. This made our stay here the best on the island! Make sure you check out the things to do sheet on arrival. If possible plan to be there on a Sunday and experience tradional Samoan church and meal.

Dinner and breakfast is included and the food was the best on the island. I had the best Samoan meal of our whole trip... this must not be missed!!

First to arrive we had the choice of fales, we chose the basic fale and loved sleeping with the water lapping under us. Basic but comfortable the fale is ideal.

Over all the family runs this Fale resort well and you won't be dissapointed if you want Samoan Fale style accommodation and not expecting western hotel standard.

Room Tip: Fale 7 was our favourite with water coming up to it.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant location right on the beach under a large banyan tree. It has been run by the same family for over 15 years. Great snorkelling right out the front. Traditional beach fales as well as more western style rooms. Magical

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank DamoandMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here and were really sad to leave! The staff were amazing and made us feel at home the entire time. They were extremely accommodating and even cooked us a meal when we arrived late on the first night after the kitchen had closed. The food was delicious and every day we looked forward to choosing something new from the menu.

The fakes were simple but comfortable and nice and close to the shared amenities. There’s no hot water but you get used to it pretty quickly! It feels like you have everything you need. The beach was nice and the snorkeling was great. Be sure to bring your own gear along with you though.

Overall, we couldn’t really fault this place. We were well looked after and it was great value for money. We’ll definitely be back :)

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank KelseyD507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

This is a friendly and interesting place to visit while in Savai'i. The coral reef is vibrant and easily accessed, although best at high tide. The overall environment is fabulous. The food was good and reasonably price. I recommend this place

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

The fales are basic and nice. The family that runs the resort is awesome. Lei Lua will make sure you are taken good care of. Ta'a cooks great food. We had a small card with our dietary restraints on it (medical, not preference). They did a good job accommodating us after a couple of misunderstandings. We looked forward to dinner every night. The Samoan cuisine is good. Love luau and oka! Church (Methodist) across the street, followed by Sunday family feast brunch. It seems like many places don't believe you at first when you say you want Samoan food. You can ask for a greater range of stuff, such as tamu and breadfruit. Why so many people travel to a place like Savai'i and still avoid the traditional food confuses me. If you want to eat like a European or American, stay in Europe or America! Still they offered western menu options.

Fruit was a bit scarce and expensive after the hurricane but starting to recover (same with telecommunications). The chocolate (koko Samoa) is to die for. Fresh, unprocessed. Koko rice pudding a fantastic Monday leftover. Smooth, free of bitterness. Westernized versions give me migraines. This stuff did not! Same goes with the local coffee. Very mild and smooth.

Facilities work well enough. Don't expect hot water, but you probably won't miss it! Cell charge in the restaurant.

Please don't feed the cats! It makes life more difficult for everyone in the long run, them included.

Good snorkel location, but probably plan to bring your own snorkel gear. Theirs was hit and miss and run down, but we still pieced together enough to make it work.

The location is a great launch pad for exploring the West of the island. Be careful about wandering the villages, you might get invited in to a meal or a rugby scrimmage match :)

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank EthanY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews