We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't hesitate to recommend”
Review of Tanu Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanu Beach Fales
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed here 5 nights. The family / staff are what makes this place special. The best fia fia of the 3 we saw in Samoa - again because of the family / staff involvement.

The accomm itself was good - shared facilities which were clean. Food (brekky and dinner inclusive) was very good. We initially had a 'back' fale, with no ocean views... but as soon as a beach front one was available we were moved there. The swimming and snorkelling here is OK. Lalomanu is a little better. Manase (the village) is well catered for... with Racis Beach Club, a service station and Janes bar.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

Tanu's is the bomb..We have spent many great holidays at tanu beach fales. So much so that we are close to being part of the family..

Everything is great for the perfect samoan holiday experience..Fab beach, good snorkalling, amazing coral, pristine white sand, great hospitality, fiafia, staff prices.. Its really the only place to stay on savaii at the price..

I am sadenned to read the trip advisor comment about petty theft.. It would be a travesty if such an unusual occurance would put anybody off. I n all the times staying at tanu's I have never had anything taken from me, either in the safety box or in the fale..(in truth I trust them all so don't bother using the safety box.) and seen as we tend to stay for a month at a time, we are generally carrying a serious wedge.. I have nevr heard of anyone else losing stuff either..save the odd pair of jandels that may look derelicted...Samoa is culturally built on the notion of respect..tanus is quite safe..anyone found stealing would be severely dealt to by vai or the high chief taito...

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nzartist-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

After intensively researching for our 10day holiday in Samoa, my partner and I decided to do the hotel thing in Apia (as we thought we would have more to do), and come out to the beaches for day trips or the odd night. We don't enjoy camping so assumed the beach fale's would be similar. Our hotel (Hotel Elisa see my review!) didn't live up to our expectations for service so in our last few days decided to visit family in Savaii and spent our last night in Savaii at Tanu Beach Fale's. The staff were so much more friendly than our hotel staff and the rate inclusive of (large!) breakfast and dinner makes this place a real bargain. We had no trouble with mosquitos or bugs as were provided with a large mosquito net and the Manase beach is absolutely breathtaking. Apart from markets in Apia, Aggie Grey's fiafia night and tours, there wasn't much else to do in Upolo. We found Savaii much more appealing and were quite happy to spend days on the beach. The shop at at Tanu Beach Fales was well equipped and we could hire snorkel gear at a reasonable rate. The shared bathroom facilities were clean and the beach fale's weren't as close together like the other ones around Samoa. I understand they provide transfers from the wharf too. Gorgeous beach, friendly staff, exceptional service and great experience - highly recommended - our only regret, we didn't stay here longer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PacificPrincess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

had the most awesome time at tanu Beach fales in manase. great weather and people. love Janes beach bar down the beach. reletively cheap drinks too!! RACIS beach club a 2 min walk down the road is worth a visit for hiring kayaks,bikes etc. tanu facilities are much cleaner than Litia Sinis i though too, well done Tanu!! Will back in the near future!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWTjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed 3 days in Upolu altogether, and if we had known how great Tanu Breach Fales were, we would have stayed the whole time there. Depending on your flights into Samoa, would recommend staying somewhere close to the airport the first night in if you have to. Then you can just pop on the ferry for the trip across to Savaii. Ferry times are basically every 2 hours. We wouldn't waste our time in Upolu again, as Tanu Beach was just so magical.

How would we describe it? If sleeping so close to a beautiful, sandy beach lagoon is your style, then this is the place for you. The traditional style fales are small but well kept. Make sure when you book that you ask for a beach front fale, as there are some which are back from the beach, and that wouldn't be as good. The staff, who seemed to be all from the one family, were fantastic, warm and friendly. You eat pretty much what the Samoan's eat - lots of taro, breadfruit, fried tuna and fried chicken & rice for dinner, and papaya, pineapple, toast and the occasional egg for breakfast. The servings are huge and very filling, if a little light on variety. We just loved it though.

Staying at Tanu Beach Fales is sort of like upmarket camping, with communal showers and toilets, so if you're looking for an air-conditioned 5 star experience, then this isn't for you. If you want a holiday that you'll never forget, a truly cultural/castaway style experience, (a totally relaxing experience, too) then you won't find anywhere better. Another real plus is meeting lots of people from all over the world, this was a real plus for us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandLisafromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

If you want a truely Samoan cultural experience and dont mind roughing it, then this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My new husband ( Carl) and I honeymooned for 10 days in Samoa. After having spent 4 days at Apia Central ( it rained the whole time) we decide to take a chance and visit Savaii, as planned. We took the ferry ride over having been told about Manase village and Tanu fales, but were having trouble contacting them. We figured even though we had no booking we would take a look and decide when we got there as they were not the only fales within the village so something must be available as it was not peak tourist season.
On the way over we met some fellow travellers from NZ (we are Aussies). They told us they were on their way to stay at Tanu and that bookings were pretty casual so should be ok. When we arrived Via from Tanu was there at the jetty to meet his guests we quickly explained our position and he was more than happy to take us with him, as the fales has a small mini bus, this was great as we were expecting to pay at least 60-70 tala in taxi fares anyway.

We were so delighted as we all got to know the others on the trip to the village and it turned into a full comedy show along the way. As the trip took about 40 minutes and taking in along the way other villages and accomodation the island had on offer we were so surprised at how clean and tidy the whole village of Manase was when we arrived. Other than the resort about 4 kms down the road nothing can compare to it.

They have taken a great deal of care with the environmental impact and cleanliness of running such a business. They have closed top wheelie bins, unlike the locals who have bags on platforms, dogs and pigs are banned from the front beach side of the village as they make a messand it makes a huge difference. Each bus stop has a bunch of bananas hanging from it for a treat throughout the day. The showers and toilets are clean, and the grounds are cleaned and swept daily. Very humble and truely a beautiful place made even more special by the family.

If you are expecting a hotel with room service forget it, but if you are looking for a real Samoan experiece with its people the service and friendliness make up for the loss of modern cons not avail. In saying that we did travel with a camera however that needed to be charged so for a small fee we were able to charge this in the office, so not all bad. Tanu beach fales is a upmarket camping style accomodation.

As I mentioned earlier it rained for 8 out of 10 days we were at Tanu but they are very well set up for bad weather. Our fales was set back off the beach so we were protected but as soon as the weather broke and was sunshine they moved us to beach front. fales without us saying a word. We were delighted when we got back from our day out and found our new room set up. The place was pretty full at leat 50 guests and not one of us had any problems with things going missing or lost, as others have mentioned in other fales accomodations I have read about. and a few people we met at the local cocktail bar in the evening that were staying a few doors down. They do offer a lockable safety service of your valueables to be locked in the safe if required. They even moved our washing we had hanging out to dry and placed everything back they way we had it in the other fale. The only thing they don't have is an ATM close by but the local Bank of Samoa is a 5 minute walk away to change cash if required.

They have a well stocked shop at the fales, and small cocktail bar Raci's only 500 metres down the beach, bike hire, snorkles, internet etc avail also. Tanu fales provided basic breakfast and dinner each day more than enough local food, so unless you are a very fussy eater you would find it a wonderful experience. Meals are spent in a communal dining area about 50 metres from the ocean. So imagine eating breakfast or a sunset dinner each night, anywhere else in the world it would have cost you and arm and a leg, but this is included.

We were lucky enough to be present for their Fia Fia night .Even after having to wait for the power to come on again due to weather difficulties it was well worth it and they kept us all entertained while we waited. After seeing a few at hotels on Apia we found their show to be alot more interesting. The Head chief and his wife were wonderful and took the time to speak to the guests throughout our 4 day stay.

When we asked about tours or car hire, Tanu asked about the breakfast table and arranged for a day tour of the island for us,as their were about 10 of us who were intersted, this also included lunch. If you don't have a car its a must and well worth the price ( less than the cost of a hire car for the day) as you see so much and the information that is provided along the way it is priceless. We learnt about local history, stories about how the coconut and Lover leap etc came about (won't tell or it will ruin your time). The coconuts at the blowhole were great and a few extras Via took us to along the way followed by a huge icecream we picked up on the way home via the new Savaii growers markets.

We were also there for Sunday service and although we had been told not alot happens on Sundays due to church, we found that as long as you followed advise so to not offend the villagers we had a great time. We hired bikes and rode to the lava fields and turtle swimming. Then in the afternoon we spent the time relaxing on the beach reading and having a few quiet drinks with our new friends. We had the best mixed group of people of all ages groups covered, and a few we will continue to keep in touch.

Tanu has something for everyone familes, couples, singles and are very kid friendly.
So weather you are wanting a fun time or a quiet time reading your book can be achieved easily.

I honestly don't think our honeymoon would have been complete if we had not met such wonderful giving and down to earth people at Tanu beach. We loved it so much we are planning our next trip already and next time with a few more family and friends in toe we will be spending a whole lot more time at Tanu Beach. I would strongly recomend this place to anyone looking for something different to do that loves meeting new people.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hipkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
21.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
232 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
70 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
1.4 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanu Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanu Beach Fales

Address: Tanu Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tanu Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Tanu Beach Fales Savai i
Tanu Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing