We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper fales”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanu Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanu Beach Fales
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Proper fales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here fo 2 nights and loved the fales, they are the real traditional ones & pretty comfortable. The beach isn't the best in Samoa but the sea is gorgeous in the morning. The family that's runs it are all really lovely and make you very welcome, especially Judiana. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephaniewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
72
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed on Savaii for 2 nights, but only stayed here for one night. Next trip we will definately stay here longer. Fales are the real deal with flax leaf walls and doors, with a wooden floor and a mattress on the floor. They are dotted all around Tanu's property, which is on the sand, and there are steps down onto the beach. We didn't even bother shutting our door though, a mossie net is provided to protect from bugs (and geckos). Dinner and breakfast wbere included in the price, and both were nice meals. The dining area is a long table under cover, which provides for a very social meal, and a great way to meet the other guests. There is a shop on sight, with cold Vailima beer for sale. Friendly staff and a fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to beach front, as fales are all spread out some are over by the shop, so ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VincentWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This family run holiday spot is one out of the bag if you want to experience the simple way of Samoan village life. We had only one night but I would definitely go back for an extended period. Our fale only a few steps from the water had the most basic of requirements for life in the tropics - a roof (it rained at night), a mattress, a sheet and a mosquito net. What more do you need to watch the sunset? The meals were cooked on open fires, all local produce and were tasty and plentiful. Swimming and snorkeling in the blood warm water - fantastic. They also arrange island tours at a much more reasonable rate than the main tour companies.

Room Tip: By the beach is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KmagsatCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We only stayed for one night. Our Fale number 14, was right next to the area you eat dinner, and next to the shaded area where kids play. If I was to go again(which I would love to do), I would try to get a fale further away from this area.

Both dinner and breakfast were very filling, though perhaps not so good for people who are "fussy eaters".

I would definitely recommend staying at Tanu, but not sure if I could do it for more than 2-3 nights, only because I like to sleep on a nice big comfy bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place was recommended and we booked with some hesitation as it looked so basic, the 'gold card' holder section of the party weren't sure about mattresses on the floor with aging bones! We stayed two nights and just loved it. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived, the family could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The bathroom blocks are basic but kept really clean, the whole area is raked and rubbish picked up so great surroundings. Breakfast & dinner is provided and probably the only true 'island' fare we had on our holiday. The children particularly enjoyed being able to pick bananas at will. The convenience store was reasonably priced and had the basics. We were lucky to be there for the fia fia night and loved it, far more authentic & enthusastic than the one we saw later at the resort. The beach is just magic- step out of the fale and there it is, pristine & great for swimming & snorkelling to see colourful fish. The family were very quick to assist when we had a flattening tyre as we were leaving. Only down was the pillows were lumpy, recommend you take your own.

Room Tip: You can request an extra layer of mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Tanu Beach fales are beautifully kept, the sand around the fales is raked each day, there is no rubbish and the toilets are very clean. The meals are substantial, i never got sick of them and i stayed for 8 nights. Good snorkling and the fales are lovely and cool to sleep in. So much better than an inclosed room or one with tarpouline.

Room Tip: ocean front fales are the best, lie in bed and watch the sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pompallier64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a beachfront fale which was great. We loved the fact that the walls were of palm fronds and not blue tarp/plastic like some places we stayed. This allowed for ventilation as well as privacy. The small convenience store onsite was a bonus, especially the beer fridge with it's reasonably priced contents. The store is operated on an honestly system and you simply record your own purchases in an exercise book and pay when checking out. Communal dining is a great way to meet fellow travellers although I preferred other fales where food was served to the table and you could help yourself as opposed to being served monstrous, stodgy portions that I felt guilty not being able to get through. Although the portions are huge, you are left wondering why there is no grilled fish or salads. If you crave a decent meal, there are two resorts within a 25 minute walk that welcome non-guests. The fiafia night was the best one we saw, very well organised and professional. And some of the kids in the show were real little characters.Sleep quality lacked sadly. A lot of screaming and yelling children running between the fales first thing in the morning isn't the most relaxed way to awake on a beautiful beach. And this was the operators children, not guests. I imagine in peak season it would be even worse. We loved our stay and the family were lovely although we felt it lacked the intimacy of some of the other smaller places we stayed.

Room Tip: Beachfront all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
18.9 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
23.5 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanu Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanu Beach Fales

Property: Tanu Beach Fales
Address: Tanu Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tanu Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Tanu Beach Fales Savai i
Tanu Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing