We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location, great people, Paradise!”
Review of Tanu Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanu Beach Fales
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Firstly arriving on Savai'i I was struck by how absolutely stunning the place was, and given what I'd heard over the years imagine my surprise to find it spotless! Savai'i has a reputation for being 'more rustic' and 'a bit dirty' but what I found was the complete opposite. Apparently there has been a big clean up campaign in recent years and it shows. Every village was well manicured, very little if any litter or trash to see. Beautiful colours in the trees plants and fale's even drew my eyes away from the stunning turquoise ocean view as we toured round.

The ferry to get there was the only part that I didn't enjoy.... it costs 12 Tala each way but next time I think I'll wait for the 'big ferry' and go Business class so I actually get a seat :-)

Tanu beach Fales in Manase offer an authentic Samoan experience, you sleep in the same standard accommodation as the villagers do and eat the food they eat. Unlike a previous post I only got bread with breakfast as toast (and a toastie every 3 days). The food is cooked traditionally using locally grown ingredients such as breadfruit, palusami, taro, watermellon etc you get heaps to eat and since there is so much on your plate you can

The accomodation is the best I've ever stayed in, being 30 I've grown tired of backpackers and prefer 3-5 star as a rule. I made an exception after a friends recommendation for this place, it is the most relaxing amazing feeling in the world to fall asleep looking out at the stars & wake up looking at the Sunrise over the ocean. The Fales are clean, cool and very basic. But that's all you need on a tropical island!

The family that run it were all very lovely and highly regarded in the area, even our taxi driver in Apia knew them by name. We were well looked after and my partner was given an alternative to the seafood portion of any meal. The family even got together and put a cultural dancing show on after dinner one night.

Beer, water & juice (whole coconuts sometimes) can be bought from the reception cold. They run a tab system and you pay when you leave so you don't have to go back and forward for cash. There is a safe in the reception for your valuables and the lovely girl called her uncle to drive us when we couldn't get a taxi to the pier!!

In the small village there isn't much to do, I went there to relax, read & swim,but if you want more you can hire a car for 160 Tala from Janes a few doors down & take a trip round the Island. Racy's Beach Club is also a few doors down and has watersports/bikes for hire & internet access as well as a 'cocktail bar'.

Overall this is one of the best places I have ever been anywhere in the world and perhaps the most beautiful, but it's not for everyone so do your research before you go to make sure this is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarylGove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 189 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

manase is beautiful & tanu would have everything going for it if only they would hire a decent chef . the food was greasy , soggy , bland & boring & they relied far too heavily on bread to fill out the meals . i left two days early because i could no longer stand the food & because of some inappropriate action by one of the male staff . i was terribly disappointed as seeing tanu on get away was the reason i came to samoa . there are other options nearby & i am assured the food is much better .

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seganaleqafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Back to nature holiday if you love a basic lifestyle you will love this place. The family run business is wonderful. While we were there we were taught to Dance Cook & Relax the Samoan way

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OutthereWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

From the moment we were welcomed off the ferry at Salelologa to when the Tanu Family all sang and waved us farewell, we had a wonderful time. We were a group of 18 students and 7 adults, and we could not have been better looked after. The family members run the resort, making you feel very welcome. They try and cater to any requests promptly. The whole resort is kept clean and neat with no sign of any rubbish.
We were escorted to many interesting attractions which was just what we wanted for the students. Family members joined in the fun and our children enjoyed the happy, free and easy friendship..
The Fia Fia night was great fun and done in a culturally respectful way, another good lesson for our students.
Food was excellent and very plentiful. Our students would have liked porridge some mornings for breakfast!
A great place to stay whether you are alone, couples, family or a group such as ours.
We hope to return!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicbird14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Tanu is too large and Manase has too many fale resorts in the village to be very Samoan. As a result the food here is second rate and the staff are not involved with the guests. The on site store even tried to charge me to charge my cell phone even though plugs were available in the dining fale. Manase even has a Swiss run cocktail lounge, not your typical Samoan feature. If you are looking to be involved with young foreign visitors and expats rather than Samoans this is an ok place to stay. Otherwise you can do better in Lano as an example.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed here in september after being in the township of apia and travelling on the local bus service and dealing with the locals we were very happy to arrive here and relax - it takes a while to get here - and it seems like the locals are always trying to rip you off -
tanus is a awesome pleace to stay a great getaway a must see.

unfortunatly my cellphone was stolen and the theives decided to call all their family in nz before is discovered it stolen. i got the bill however and called their friends for a catch up of my own !

thank goodness for travel insurance

the tanu family are really nice and this is a great place to stay - good food too - awesome snorkling - samoa in general is very basic you certianly dont go here for the shopping or the tourism

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

There are two ways to get to Tanu Beach. From the harbour in Savai'i you can either take a taxi or the bus (takes around 1 1/2 hours). The busses leave directly after the ferry has arrived, just ask for the one to Manase/Tanu Beach.
The Tanu Beach Fales in Manase are a family business, where different generations (from 2-80) participate to make the guests stay enjoyable. Fales are huts bulit in a traditional way and it's definately a nice experience to stay in a place so different from an ordinary hotel. The Fales are equipped with a matress, mosquito net and a light. If you need electricity to charge your phone or something else, you can do that in the reception/shop. Depending on where your hut is it can be a bit noisy sometimes, closer to the water you'll hear the sea and probably everywhere you will hear the turkeys, which can be a bit annoying. The beach is beautiful and the reef, which is not too far off shore, is good for snorkeling.
The food is very good and plenty, you get the possibility to try different samoan dishes. If enough guests wish so, there is a show in the evening, where the whole family performes. Afterwards there is a little 'dance party', probably the thing that comes the closest to partying in Savai'i. You get to know people easily in Tanu Beach, as everybody has dinner/breakfast together and the village is not too big. This makes Tanu Beach not only a place for couples, but also for single travellers.
Shopping facilities are limited to the little shop next to the reception, where you can buy beer and non-alcoholic drinks as well aswell as every-day-needs. Internet is available near the petrol station in Manase, it is not only the most western Internetcafé on earth, but also the one offering the slowest internet...
In Tanu Beach you not only get a beautiful beach and place to relax, but also Samoan Culture including Food, Music, Dances and Church (very recommandable, even for 'nonbelievers').
Make sure you take enough cash to Tanu Beach, as the only ATMs on Savai'i are in Falealupo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinimini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
21.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
227 reviews
19.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
1.4 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
545 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanu Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanu Beach Fales

Address: Tanu Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tanu Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Tanu Beach Fales Savai i
Tanu Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing