We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those who don't want the big resort feel”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband, myself & our mother took a 3 day holiday on Savai'i and stayed at Siufaga Beach Resort. We were so impressed by the cleanliness of Savai'i & the beautiful beach just across the road. If you are looking to get away from the busy world, this is certainly the place to go. It is about a 30 minute drive from the Wharf & located in the Faga village which allowed us to see first hand the culture and every day Samoan living. We loved taking a evening walk after dinner along the roads or just sitting at the picnic tables overlooking the ocean. We could hear the village kids singing & playing in the evening & watched a great game of volleyball played by the village teens just across the road-we watched from our dinner table. I do wish they served more classic samoan dishes, but the food that was prepared was made with good quality & generous portions. The staff are extrememly friendly, helpful and were easy to communicate with. Dinner in the evening was set in a fantasic atmosphere with indoor or outdoor eating, a view of the ocean and a fantastic live band from the village. It was great to mingle with other guests & to share our stories with one another about the days activities.

The bungalow was big, private & had great curb appeal-we stayed in #4. Our favorite part was the outdoor shower, it was beautiful & was great at night, when you could shower under the stars. The beds were comfortable & the furniture was well maintained. We had fresh flowers laid around our room when we first arrived & had a spacious fridge with complimentary bottles of water. The fridge was spacious enough to fit our bottles of waters & snacks that we purchased at a cute village shop just a 5 minute walk down the road. There is AC but we wished it was in a better position because we could not catch the cool air from our bed-but it did work & felt great when you walked in from a day in the heat.

The pool was a good size with a swim up bar. The first day the water was a bit green, but they cleaned it up & we were able to swim in there just fine. It had great shade, comfy lounging chairs & it was accessible from various pathways that lead from the 13 bungalows. We were impressed with it all & so was our mother who travels significantly & has a high bar of standards set when it comes to accommodations.

When we go back to Siufaga, we will stay here again! The price was reasonable & the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PO801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Liz and the staff at Siufaga were wonderful. There was an activity every day (including Samoan cooking/village walks etc) which they would arrange if you wanted to join in.
This is a really lovely location on Savai'i, although the beach across the road is very, very small. The hotel swim up bar is lovely - you can have a few cocktails there!
We stayed in a standard bungalow. This was really spacious but VERY hot - the ceiling fan was placed in the middle of the room - another one was really needed over the bed as my husband & I both had trouble sleeping as we were so hot.
The only downside is the upstairs restaurant - the staff were excellent but the food was really not great, and was very overpriced.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The best bits...
Location - set in fabulous tropical gardens around a lovely pool and across the road from a brochure-perfect but tiny beach with squeaky white sand and turquoise waters. In the middle of a beautiful village.
Most of the staff - friendly, open and hospitable especially Elizabeth (see * below), Elizabetta and Taga.
The Fa'a Samoa focus - learned a lot about the Samoan way of life both from casual chats with staff and particularly Elizabeth's village walk.

Could do with improvement...
More comfortable verandah furniture for the bungalows - it was a delightful place to sit but not for long as the only furniture options were chairs carved from large chunks of tree trunk.
Take the plastic covers off the lounge suites! Very Italian I know but not comfy.
Music by the pool - either local radio on full blast (which the pool guys were reluctant to turn down) or the same playlist over and over. Keep it subtle and relaxing please.

The worst bits...
The food - we tried most things on the menu and apart from the pizza (very good), breakfasts (good) and coconut shrimp (good) much of it was awful - fish not very fresh, slathered in sauce & overcooked, inedible pasta.
The wine - while we were there the only white option was a cheap sav blanc for 2 nights. When I asked if it was difficult to get some more supplies I was told they were in the owners house 50 metres away. Hmmm.
Running out of basics - one night, no large bottles of water and no Sprite.
The ferry trips! On the way over we were jammed on to the old ferry with many others and terrible fumes. On the way back, we travelled on the new flash ferry but despite the sea only being marginally rough, the boat rocked like crazy & many were sick. Take the new boat but take seasick precautions.

* Saying all this we still had a wonderful time at this special place and were extremely impressed by Elizabeth's commitment to improving the resort. She is a very intrepid, intelligent and committed young woman who I hope will be allowed to make a difference.
If they can get the food (fresher, simpler, more local) up to scratch, solve their stock control problems and get the pool bar guys to sort their music out, I would probably move in there for good!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloodgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Savaii was a wonderful place to visit. The locals are very friendly and easy going. Siufaga is a great place to stay - all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Made us feel comfortable and welcome - like part of their families - faafetai Taga and Elizabeth.
things I loved about Siufaga- the pool bar, the shower, air conditioning, staff, events. Everything was at a very high standard - and well organised. Delicious food. Great cocktails.
Use the buses - they are a wonderful experience. Just hop aboard and go wherever the bus takes you. Don't be nervous- there is so much to see and it so much cheaper than a taxi and you get to talk to all the people on the bus too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiricentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Enjoyed the privacy
Enjoyed the gardens
Friendly all round staff whom are helpful at all times
Accessability of the Village and the beautiful palm walkway created by the village if you wish to go for a walk
Enjoyed the breezy/hot palmy evenings and enjoyed the sounds of the waves instead of traffic.
Restaurant Building could be improved to reflect wha'ts hidden within the Resort

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPH03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Siufaga Beach Resort. It was just what we had hoped for - warm and friendly people who looked after us and made us feel like part of the family, a gorgeous chalet with outdoor shower, a lovely beach with good swimming and snorkeling, free kayak use, super swimming pool and grounds, lush vegetation, great food, optional tours and activities without pressure to join in, tasty food - and great music provided by the resident band. We wanted to get away from the upmarket scene of other South Pacific island resorts and we found a real gem in Siufaga.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSmithAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Siufaga Beach Resort. The rooms are very spacious, nicely designed and have a very comfortable feel. The outside shower attached to the room is a very nice tropical touch!

The pool was excellent and the gardens spacious and the units well spaced for privacy.

We ate in the restaurant which had a nice outlook over the lagoon. The meals were good quality, mainly fish based but with plenty of Italian choices for variety and these were very tasty!

What makes this resort rise above the rest are the wonderful staff - professional, friendly and warm.

I would highly recommend this resort for anyone wishing to kick back and relax on Savaii.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
3.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
562 reviews
19.8 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $155 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing