We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising oasis”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprising oasis”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for only one night but wished we'd book here longer.
The rooms are large,lots of room for a family of two adults and two teenagers. Bathroom is modern and clean and outside shower an oasis.
The pool and swim up bar an excellent area to relax. Bar staff friendly and cocktails very well priced.
Food is not their strong point, but adequate. Beautiful views of the beach across the road and kayaks to paddle out on the crystal blue water.
Comfortable place to stay while you explore beautiful Savaii.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyBAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    45
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
85
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Siufaga despite it's short-comings. The room was basic but comfortable and quite spacious. Beds and pillows were a bit lumpy. Outdoor shower was fun - but don't go there at night or you'll be sharing it with the mozzies! Right across the road from a gorgeous little beach with stunning turquoise water. Food was mainly good, although a lack of variety in vegies was obvious. The coffee machine was never on in the morning, the safe in the room didn't work and they ran out of wine one night! People were lovely and happy to help wherever they could. Perhaps a little over-priced for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiChic2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our stay at this resort was very pleasant, a great experience for the family. The swim-up bar was definately a plus, whereas the quality of meals offered at the restaurant was a downside. The rooms were lovely, and had a quaint outdoor shower. The proximity to the beachfront was wonderful although the environment is clearly still recovering from the recent tsunami that affected the area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at this resort. The beautiful gardens and the very clean and large pool area are a real plus. Our original bungalow had some shortcomings but we were upgraded for no additional price. It was clean,very roomy with king size bed, good air con and small fridge. There was a porch with table and chairs. Unfortunately there is no cable tv or Internet despite advertisements to the contrary. Admittedly the breakfast was basic but unlike a previous reviewer we did not experience any rotten or stale food. The lunch time sandwiches were deliciously fresh and there are no complaints about the quality of the lattes. Although the evening menu food was perfectly acceptable, it was limited, so we chose to eat at other resorts some nights. This meant going by taxi unless you were fortunate enough to get one of the few rental cars that are available on the island. We used the local buses during the day but they stop at 5.30.The restaurant and reception staff were polite and helpful when asked but were not proactive with suggestions for daily activities given that none of those listed in the room booklet were available. There was no attempt to link guests up to make a party to do anything local like a village tour. The standard response was that 2 people were not enough. We discovered other couples got the same response. We recommend checking out the options at Savai'i Travel before using the taxi drivers suggested by the Resort. We made friends with Umu, who owns a plantation behind the resort, and took us on a reasonably priced tour in his family taxi.Admittedly the beach is across the road and there are no chairs etc but we swam in the clear water,used the kayak and the snorkelling gear to see some beautifully coloured fish. We enjoyed our stay but had to work quite hard to make the transport options work and were disappointed that some of the expected facilities no longer operate. Having read some of the other reviews, people need to take into account that this is a Pacific Island so spiders, geckos and less than perfect beach access come with the territory.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the top range bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is over ratted and in very bad condition. The service is so bad! The people are inefficient, the restaurant is very very slow...
The access at the beach is not so easy and the beach disappear at high tide!
Overall the worst hotel in Samoa...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cory207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Grounds are lovely and reception staff was very professional and kind however we were disappointed with the price for what was an average 'resort'. The place was bare, the activities unavailable, 'cable TV' didn't actually work, no internet, no phone (you have to go to a shop and buy credit so you can phone!). Drinks and food listed weren't available and air con very very nosey making sleep a challenge. Rooms are nice enough and staff pleasant but it just didn't feel like a relaxing resort. The final straw was a massive spider on the wall (which may have been a fluke) at which point we left......I feel the resort was very over priced. If there were more realistic about pricing and marketed themselves as a getaway from everything style hen ok. Also the included 'breakfast' was rotten fruit and stale bread, no joke. I hope they take their medicine and up the game as could be a really great place.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My 4 friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Siufaga! Stayed 4 days / nights and had a ball - great, friendly staff. Josh was a super host and stayed late to arrange birthday party :) We loved the laid back atmosphere and mostly had the pool to ourselves - lovely people met also. A great venue to relax and enjoy the culture - loved the outdoors shower! recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
10.6 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
521 reviews
19.0 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
396 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Property: Amoa Resort
Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing