We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Gem of a resort”
Review of Amoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amoa Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Siufaga in July this year, our 3rd stay at this beautiful small resort. It is not actually beach front but the rooms especially the Pool Villas arfe spacious and clean and set in the most beautiful gardens filled with tropical trees and flower. The pools is wonderful with a swim up bar and then the small but lovely beach just a few steps across the road with soft sand and perfect for swimming. The restaurant is on the upper floor of the reception and has wonderful views of the ocean and beach and we love to sit having a delightful tropical breakfast and wave to the children walking past on their way to school. The pizzas at Siufaga are the best and relatively inexpensive but do ask the friendly waiter to sample a little of tradionaly Samoan food for breakfast such a supo esi which is a sort of delicious soup made of rice and papaya, then Kokoaraise which is again a delicious soup made from rice and Samoa cocoa. Then of course a visit to Samoa would not be complete with sampling Koko Samoa made from Samoa cocoa which is a very mild cocoa and not bitter as we are accustomed to in NZ, it is strong and served without milk and very sweet (not at all recommended for diabetics) but simply lovely to drink. The staff espedcially Malia are friendly and always willing to assist. We can recommend this resort very highly and often wonder why the resort do not sell themselves better as it is a privilege to stay at this lovely very quiet resort and also an inexpensive place to stay compared to some others.

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are always our favourite being spacious with a King size bed, an outside shower big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iansnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice size villas with outside showers you can watch the stars whilst you shower. Comfy beds, good air con, great pool and really lovely staff.

Samoa coastline is volcanic rock with not a lot big beaches. The resort has a tiny beach across the road in the lagoon which is delightful and relatively free of rocks and coral. There is not much else in the town of Faga but the next village is a short walk and has a supermarket.

The bus into town is cheap and an experience, you can flag the bus down from outside the hotel.

There are few restaurants on savai'i so you tend to eat a lot at the hotel. The seem to make each meal from scratch so it can take awhile, the fish with eggplant was tasty, the spaghetti and pizza OK. Desert seemed to be an issue with ice cream the only thing available but we were there late in the season and not a lot of guests. The next closest restaurant we found was at the savai'ian hotel about 10 -15 mins away by car or bus.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in poolside villa 12 which easily accomodates 4 people with plenty of room.Its divided into two areas by a step, top area contains double bed and separate bathroom with an outdoor shower which is wonderful,then you step down into another area containing a double bed and your lounge.Aircon is effective but a little noisy and the TV reception is not that great but these were so minor.If they fix these it would be perfection, also be aware no cable TV.
The pool is fantastic and the swim up bar is great as we spent alot of time here.
The beach is across the road and is lovely and we had use of kayaks and snorkel gear,it was bliss.
The staff were friendly,helpful and service was fantastic, food is great and I admit food can be a bit slow coming out by Western standards , but whos in a hurry, and when we got our food we loved it.
I admit to arriving in the Taxi and first impression was difficult, very deceptive,until you get further into the hotel, its lovely.The grounds are immaculate and its a shame the hotel doesnt sell itself more, we were the only guests for 5 days and we enjoyed our stay.We went up too Manase and looked at other hotels like Le lagoto, its newer but pool looks smaller and the beach distance seems the same,even though ours is across the road.
Catch the local bus to the market in Saleloga and its great to see the difference in Savaii to Upolu.The history of the hotel is interesting also.
We enjoyed our stay at Siufaga resort, picturesque ,and recommend this lovely resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brownrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Be ready for Island time the real Samoa beutifgul people, beutiful beaches an awesome island, if you want out of the way authentic island and culture experience then this place is for you.
The resort is lovely, lanscaped within in an inch of its life just imaculate , great pool and bar and the resuraunt is simple but it needs not to be anything else as the view from the deck says it all and the food is simple unpretentous but fresh and delightful especially the seafood.
take a plantation walk with the lovely local poeple next door, travel by bus to the markets in town or hire a car and beach hop your way around the island trust me it will surprise and captivate you.
siufaga is like staying with friends the staff are what make this place what it is always helpful and always smileing they will help you with any arrangments you my need whilst you are there, my wife and i honeymooned there and absolutly loved it.
D & N

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Dan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family of four stayed in a 'pool-side' vila at Suifaga in July 2012.

The vila was spacious, nicely decorated and well spaced from the other vilas to afford a reasonable degree of privacy. It provided plenty of room for the whole family. One of the two queen or kingsize beds in the vila was able to be separated into two singles for the kids. We all loved the open-air shower which is a real feature of these vilas!

The grounds (tropical garden style) were bueatifully maintained and the pool with swim up bar was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach across the road was fine for kayaking & snorkling (the resort has complementary kayaks & snorkles), although the beaches further north are nicer.

The restaurant food is OK, athough you need to be prepared for a wait as anything you order takes a long while to arrive! Being first to dinner didn't seem to help much either in terms of the wait.

Overall we were very happy with Siufaga as a place to stay. Although if you have the opportunity some of the holiday accomodation further North(e.g. Safai and Manse) is better located on spectular beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrantT92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at this lovely resort in early June. Although we caught the early ferry across to Savai and arrived at the resort a lot earlier than expected, this was no bother to the lovely staff and after a sumptious breakfast and a quick walk around the pool our room was ready for us.

The resort is lovely with the bungalows a nice distance from each other giving everyone privacy. The pool area is great and as this was a relaxing getaway we spent a lot of our time there. We had an airconditioned bungalow (very large, clean with outdoor shower) but next time would probably go for just a fan room.

The restaurant provides breakfast, lunch and dinner but after a few days the menu does get a bit boring as it is very western. The resort staff are all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. At times, service at meals was a little slow compared to some other resorts. However this was due to a number of new staff and also the relaxed "Samoan way". This didn't bother us as we were there to relax, and not watch a clock, and besides a little patience is never a bad thing.

We would quite happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed as a family for four nights and found alot to love about this little place. The grounds are lovely, really well planted, and the fales are well spread out so you feel private. The fales have nice furniture, nice firm beds and lovely opening windows on all sides so you could catch the beeze with ease. The pool is gorgeous and the swim up bar is a touch of luxury that was very nice. The snorkelling is good and the beach is nice (albeit small and across the road). Most of all the staff are fantastic - very warm, welcoming and caring.

On the disappointing side, however, the resort is not being well maintained so it will go downhill over time. Lots of things needed repair - out aircom was incredibly loud, and stuck on one speed - high - with a faulty temperature gauge. The blinds werent hung properly, there was a hole in our bathroom door and for security you used a tiny hook and eye lock to close up the bathroom (about as secure as a rubber band). TVs are fuzzy and discoloured and definitely not the cable advertised. Some of the pool furniture was broken as was the door to the loo poolside. None of these things on their own are a worry (Ok maybe the aircon) more they are a sign of lack of care which in time is likely to result in less and less that works!

Our biggest gripe was the food. Breakfast was OK - although the coffee machine was broken (and no sign of any interest in fixing it) and we were only able to get guava juice despite fresh fruit being in abundance. Dinner was the main problem with a menu that was quite limited and when you asked, up to half the menu wasnt actually available!! Same with the wine and cocktails - lots on the list, but very little available in reality! And all the cocktails made with syrup not fresh fruit or juices. The cooking was pretty disappointing - most of our meals were over cooked, dried out, drowned in cheese or sauce and one even came with a live slug! The time to be served was also problematic - even when the only diners, it was a min of 40 min to get any food. We would have happily stayed and dined elsewhere - only problem is there isnt anywhere else for 10-15 miles! If you have no car, you are stuck....

So please Siufaga - fix your restaurant and pick up the maintenance - and then youll really have a great resort

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
3.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
19.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
562 reviews
19.8 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoa Resort

Address: Faga Village, Savai'i 8002, Samoa (Formerly Siufaga Beach Resort)
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range: $155 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amoa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst exotic tropical garden and fringed by the most magnificent blue lagoon is Amoa Resort. Newly renovated our restaurant overlooks the stunning lagoon and swimming pool. Intimate bungalows and villas with shady terraces are scattered over hillside gardens, and emblazoned with brightly colored hibiscus blossoms, tropical flowers, swaying palms and manicured lawns. The ambiance is more like that of a private house than a resort. The relaxing environment of Faga village and the tranquility of its lazy days must be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siufaga Beach Hotel Savai`i
Amoa Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing