We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Was Never Lost - It's Waiting For You At Sunset!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise Was Never Lost - It's Waiting For You At Sunset!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

So, it took a while to get myself to write this review, but its freezing in Sydney and the firewood and blankets have come out in full force, so I am reliving through this review an incredible memory of Le Lagoto Resort.
I haven't been to Savaii since I was 12yo and its been too long, I don't even recall what it looked like.
It was a Friday afternoon (April 19th) and I left Apia with two girlfriends for a quick getaway - one of my girls was de-stressing before a major Telco conference and the other was saying goodbye for a while as she was moving overseas. Me, I live in Sydney and wanted a break from the fast lane and dusty roads of Apia!!
The boat ride over was crazy!! We were parked next to the engine room so we got all the heat and the fumes arrrgggghhh!!! But an hour seemed so quick surprisingly and before we knew it, we docked and were driving off to our date with paradise.
I had seen pictures of how beautiful the Savaii coastline was, but nothing prepared me for the sight of the white sandy beaches at dusk, the smells of the evening fires and and the echoes of family evening prayers! They all acted to lull us into this state of calm and zen so that when we pulled in to the resort, we were blank canvases ready for the experiences to be imprinted into out tired and weary bodies.
First up - cocktails at the bar and the most beautiful pizza I have had anywhere!! Bar none. And I had pizza all over Australia, NZ, Italy, France, New York, LA - tall ask you say? Even in Italy? Ya!! Antika from the pizzeria across the road (also owned by the daughter of the owner), wafer thin, mozzarella, pastrami, salami, tomatoes, basil. Ahem. Wafer thin. No taste of flour at all - heaven in a box cut into 8 slices and gone in less than 60 seconds!!
After much ado about the many cocktails and the pizza, we got into the pool - only three of us plus the moon and the stars which did their magic because all the stresses of Apia, Sydney, Pago Pago, Auckland seemed soooooo far away!!
We walked back to our 2 bedroom apartment taking dibs on the remaining two large Antikas (this review is about food right?) and after a great nights sleep, we woke to the sound of silence. And it was beautiful. No cars. No noise. Distant birds chirping. The sounds of the waves lapping against the foreshore. I slipped out to take some early morning pics and it was just perfect like I imagined it in my dreams.
After a continental breakfast of fruits and pancakes, we went touring all the way down to Palauli for a swim at the legendary Afu Aau Falls and it was pissing down with rain so we could not wait to get back to Le Lagoto. It was like a cocoon of warmth hospitality and inviting staff waiting to take care of you. Dinner was fish. Choose the fish. It was beautifully cooked, and I had the home made juice - they take the juice of a baby coconut with its flesh, blended it with half a pawpaw and some lime juice and then served it in the coconut shell (see pic). Super delicious and a super healthy for those vegans who want something other than water.
The most memorable thing about Le Lagoto Resort - the staff!! They anticipate everything you want and do it with a smile. And the setting? Watching the sun set over the horizon in Fagamalo? Wow.
Bring some friends. Or a partner. Luggage of worries, stress and weary bodies expected because there is a Spa onsite!
Le Lagoto Resort? In your dreams!!! And Mine!! So what are you waiting for? See you next time Gabby and Derek and thank you for your kindest and legendary Samoan hospitality.

FV, LB, & YB

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YmaniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    112
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
134
178
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My mate and I had just spent the last night staying at a traditional fale on the northwest part of Savaii, after having traveled around Samoa for the past week. We had our fill of the traditional Samoan experience, were exhausted, and were seeking a luxurious place to spend our last two nights in country.

We found all of this at Le Lagoto.

As we drove in we knew this was the place for us. It was beautiful, right on the beach, and once we saw our "modern" fale we were sold: air conditioning, a shower, a TV, a lovely bed, and the ocean literally 10 feet away from our porch. The staff was super friendly and competent, and they had a BBQ coming up the next night. It was certainly more expensive than a fale on the beach (500T, or roughly $250/night), but it was worth it. We relaxed, enjoyed the pool, snorkeled a bit, and feasted on BBQ.

The pizza place across the road is great, too, and everyone is very friendly. There is also street BBQ down the road from several locals which is cheap and delicious.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaferica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We as a family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights in april in the downstairs apartment..

Pros.
Very beautiful location
Good snorkling right off the beach
can swim at all tides due to a large swimming hole
good food (but not cheap)
Nice grassy places to sit and hang
apartment was a little tired but very spacious
nice pool

Cons
Quite pricey (we had a 4 for 3 deal otherwise would have been to much for us)

Would we return? For the right price yes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigandlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort was everything we had hoped it would be. The infinity pool next to the bar overlooking the beach, perfect for swimming and relaxing. We were staying in the apartment at the side of the resort as we needed family accommodation on a budget. The apartment was pretty basic but we had full access to the resort which suited us perfectly. The staff were efficient and friendly and we felt we could relax and the children were welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Room - very nice, especially in context of the location, getting slightly used look but nothing serious. TV is a waste of time as reception is appalling and Samoan TV is aweful - no Sky. Safe was a bit of a pain, kept on jamming shut and needed to be fiddled with to open / close.

Restaurant - great service, fab inclusive breakfast, dinner is very good but expensive, weekly buffet bbq was good value and great food.

Resort - boutique, nice pool, well maintained, bit noisy at night due to the size - rooms near the bar.

Service - excellent!

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is nearest the pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffgeoffgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We agree with all the positive comments others have said - stunning location, v friendly staff, lovely big bures, good (though not cheap) food, cheap, tasty pizzas over the road, fun fia fia night etc etc. Only 2 minor negatives - bathroom could do with a little spruce up as it's quite basic for a luxury resort, and the tv only got one (or sometimes two) channels with really poor reception which disappointed my husband! Definitely recommend this resort and would very happily stay there again :)

Room Tip: We were kept awake for two nights by noisy drunk people at the bar so would ask for a room furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In 2011 I had booked into another resort to have my wedding, two and a half months before the wedding date I recieved an email, telling me that my wedding party had been moved to a hotel in the city instead of a beach resort. Needless to say, I cancelled with them and scrambled to find another place to book.
Not only did Le Lagoto organise the wedding, they went out of their way to help the few guests they couldn't accomodate, (as we had filled the resort) to get rooms at the resort next door!
The staff there bent over backwards to get everything organised in time and reassure us that it would be fine.
Not only did they pull it off in the time they had, they far exceeded our expectations.
The day was amazing and it couldn't have been done with out the brilliant staff.
We had a great week there and all of my guests loved it too.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
213 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagoto Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagoto Resort & Spa

Property: Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Address: Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Lagoto Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa is located on the big island of Savai'i, Samoa, on a secluded white sand beach, fringed by coconut palms and crystal clear water. We are a boutique resort with 10 Samoan-style bungalows and two family rooms -- each offering the modern conveniences of a large resort in an intimate, idyllic setting. It is with good reason, and much pride, that we take the name Le Lagoto -- Samoan for 'sunsets' -- as ours are truly sensational! As we say here, 'you haven't been to Samoa unless you are in Savai'i'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Lagoto Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagoto Beach Hotel Savai`i
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing