We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in Samoa ! A wedding we will never forget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply the best in Samoa ! A wedding we will never forget.”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

It has just come to my attention that I have not written a post on here. We visited Le Lagoto and stayed five nights in July this year for our wedding

ACCOMODATION
This place is amazing, lovely small boutique resort, amazing pool, beautiful falas. Both beach front and ocean view falas are great, they are the same inside, just one is a few meters closer to the beach. My personal opinion is if u are trying to save a bit of money save it here and pick the ocean view. Resort offers kayaks free to use. Is located next to the dive shop, diary, takeaway pizza shop ( amazing pizzas) and is next door to savai'i lagoon resort if you are looking for a bit of food variety.

Complementsry breakfast daily is lovely. Food menu is large, big variety in price so you can eat on a budget or go deluxe.

Resort is children friendly, the staff love the kids and played with them constantly or gave crying children cuddles at dinner time while parents ate.

WEDDING
Le Lagoto ( big thanks to Gabriella) really did make our dream wedding come true. It was an amazing day and very stress free. Every request we gave they catered for. We had beautiful flowers to hold, and to have in our hair, the flower girls had cute little flower crowns and petals to throw as we went down the alie.

All wooden posts around the resort were plaited with flax, it took one guy half a day to do and looked incredible.

The food was amazing and band was great such chilled out music, the staff were wonderful and there uniform for the day was specifically picked to match our color theme, ( it just shows you the detail that Gabriella went to for us.)

Everything was so well organized and ran smoothly, at the end of the night the staff all came and danced with us, we went till about 2am.

I can not recommend Gabriella and the Le lagoto staff enough for giving me my dream wedding.

Room Tip: Both are great. Beach front is slightly closer to the sea but for the price difference I think ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saraandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    111
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
134
176
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Savaii, and Le Lagoto is well worth travelling to. We timed our arrival flight with the midday ferry which took an hour to chug across between the islands. We were met @ the other side by the resort and enjoyed the hour journey to the other side of the island, with bits and pieces of information being passed on by the friendly driver. Savaii is like Upolu 10 years ago – a bit slower and peaceful, and also the coastline is more rugged with old lava flows and rock faces.
Le Lagoto was a very relaxing start to our holiday. Devine units built with beautiful Samoan style arched wooden ceilings. Spacious, studio type layout so not so suitable for children. Louvre windows on 3 sides allowed the breeze to flow through; we didn’t need the air con. Bathroom all you need, spacious and clean. We like our 5 star accommodation but did not feel disappointed staying at 4 star Le Lagoto. Easy to get into island time!
Restaurant catered for all we wanted, liked the lighter lunch options, sandwiches from fresh made bread, and individually served tropical breakfast slightly different each day. However there is the option to get pizza from just 2 mins away, made by locals, thin crust and tasty – they even deliver to your unit! Also Savaii Lagoon Resort just next door with beachfront restaurant, pre-orders by 3pm but worth a visit. Shop across road has all the bits and pieces you need or may have forgotten to pack (toothpaste etc!).
This is the only place I have ever stayed at were the swimming pool was just an ornament! Why would you swim in it (but of course I did try it a few times) when the lagoon was so perfect! There is a deeper spot out in front so swimming is good even @ low tide. The water is so clear that you don’t even need snorkel and mask to see the fish. Kayaking is great and good visibility above water. We did not go on a snorkel trip but we noticed some people going out more than once and everyone came back smiling. On our last day we saw a turtle swimming in the lagoon and kayaked over to see him (or maybe her?). It was also happy with snorkelers swimming around him.
Stand out service for us was received from Seti – he works tirelessly in the restaurant and taking tours – you can tell he his truly passionate about Savii. He sets a great example for all the staff.
The round island trip was fantastic – again thanks to Seti. Blowholes are a must to see.
We stayed in a beachfront unit, although the ocean view units which are set directly behind would be just as good though close to the road.
Samoa is hot and humid – it was the beginning of the wet season and we experienced 30% rain and 70% sunshine. The rain was welcome when it came as it cooled the air down. Probably 30 degrees Celsius and high humidity. Water temp was from refreshing to bath water warm. We would not hesitate to go back at that time of year but we did stay for 15 nights in Samoa so could afford to risk some rainy days.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We cannot speak highly enough of this boutique resort on the lovely island of Savai'i. For the reasonable rate (we got one night free for 4 paid) we thought this was very good value. We spent 5 blissful nights here at the start of our Samoan holiday and genuinely did not want to leave. Everyone was amazing and so friendly there.

The service, by Samoan standards, was more efficient than anywhere else we stayed in Samoa, the fales we stayed in were gorgeous (we even got a free upgrade to a beach front fale which was so beautiful - thanks to Gabrielle). The pool is beautiful and the snorkelling was fantastic and right at your doorstep and the water was beautiful. The sunsets were spectacular. We really enjoyed our meals and the menu was quite extensive and the breakfasts were nice too (they were included in the price). Very good glass bottom kayaks which are free to use. A useful little shop accross the road which sells a pretty good range of stuff considering, and an internet cafe next door. There is a pizza place nearby but we didn't use it. It's a small resort with only about 10 fales and so it's fairly quiet, but if you want to relax at a reasonable price, this is the place.

Seti was an absolute stand out at the resort. He was incredibly helpful to us always and took us under his wing. My husband wanted to climb Mt Silisili so Seti took him to the nearby village and introduced him to the elders there and made sure all the arrangements were in place for an overnight camp, lent him a GPS and two jackets, rang the following day to ensure he was OK, came with me to pick him up.... you name it, Seti was there for us.

Gabrielle organised a very good rental car at incredibly reasonable prices for us compared with on Upolu, although we barely used it as we loved the resort so much we didn't want to go anywhere!

We did go to the swimming with the turtles nearby (and got ripped off by the lady there who charged us 10 tala each instead of 5 tala each) but it was an amazing experience as there's lots of turtles and you can swim right up to them and many will let you touch them and actually swim right next to them. There's no limit on how long you can spend there, and it's a wonderful experience.

Just some very mInor complaints - the pillows were very lumpy and the housekeeping wasn't particularly efficient - our shampoo bottles never got replenished and some days we didn't get new beach towels. The airconditioning in our fale didn't work terribly well. The Fia Fia night was quite good, with a very enjoyable buffet, but the dancing didn't include any fire dancing and I was a little disappointed about that. The advertised Friday night string band never occurred (no explanation as to why and nothing provided in compensation) and we had to ask to get the advertised free snacks that night. The bill for our meals/drinks at the end was completely wrong - so keep all your receipts in order to get it corrected!!

The ferry trip over to Savai'i from Upolu is a bit of an experience and can be quite rough and the small ferry (my lady Samoa 2) is very small indeed, however seems to be more reliable than the larger ferry which is regularly cancelled. There are no announcements that the ferry has arrived while you're waiting at the wharf - you just watch the locals rise en masse and figure out the ferry is ready to be boarded. There's a lot of pushing in that goes on so be prepared to stand your ground. Plus we got hassled at the Savai'i wharf by some fairly aggressive taxi drivers who kept following me around. So you have really got to want to go to Le Lagoto as it's an hour and a half on the ferry plus nearly an hour's drive up to the north east coast where the resort is located. But it's totally worth it. And we liked Savai'i - it was very pretty and the drive is very beautiful with lots of photo opportunities near the turquoise water

Overall we absolutely loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone. Very relaxing indeed. Thank you to all the lovely people at Le Lagoto -we miss you!!

Room Tip: as there's only 10 or so fales, you can't go wrong. Even the garden villas are only a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent 9 nights at Le Lagoto - what a great place to just relax and re-charge the batteries.
the water is crystal clear - great for swimming or snorkelling. The glass bottom kayaks are great. The staff are so lovely and helpful - Mataia Seti is a wealth of knowledge about the island, the customs and the legends. The restaurant is great - excellent variety of food and always good - the fresh bread the restaurant used from the bakery across the road was exceptional either in sandwiches or as toast. Would recommend this lovely place to anyone - it is so safe for children.

Room Tip: All the fales are lovely - it doesn't matter if you don't get a beach front one. They are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just come back from 8 night at this fabulous small resort. Rooms are spacious but a but close together however this was really not an issue. The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. The food was excellent with local produced used where ever possible. Great beach. When can I go back?

Room Tip: Fale 9 would be my pick. Its waterfront and the furthest from the facilities making it the quitest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradley_griffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Savai'i is a poor island and Le Lagoto stood out from all the other accommodation that we looked at. Swimming no matter what the tide was doing .. so safe for very wee ones too .. and the food in the restaurant was just stand out, lovely with great service. Perfect peace - don't expect too much to do here as it is a lay back and enjoy type of resort. The massage was lovely too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jim's place - the only rooms available. 1970's NZ Bach equivalent. Old but OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDTTKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A lovely small resort with really well appointed fales with air conditinaing, fridge, balcony. All have views so there is no real need to be 'beach front' as these cost more but are the same. The beach is lovely for swimming with a fabulous natural pool formed withion the sand which allows for good swimming in all tides. The snorkelling is good as there are large schools of fish. Be careful if kayaking as the wind and tide can easily challenge the younger kayaker. The pool is great for all ages and often you8 have it to yourself. The dive operation in Savaii is straight accross the road as is a shop for supplies and a lovely little pizza fale next door. The restuarant has a great atmosphere and a good menu which regularily changes. Entree portions were large enough for my children (10 and 13).You can easily bus from the ferry to the resort as the bus stops outside and leaves straight after the ferry arrives. It is ST3.50 pp and takes about 1 hour. Hotel tranfers are ST70 in total. Overall this place is excellent value for the quality and location and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirshaandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
19.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
212 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
506 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagoto Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagoto Resort & Spa

Property: Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Address: Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Lagoto Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa is located on the big island of Savai'i, Samoa, on a secluded white sand beach, fringed by coconut palms and crystal clear water. We are a boutique resort with 10 Samoan-style bungalows and two family rooms -- each offering the modern conveniences of a large resort in an intimate, idyllic setting. It is with good reason, and much pride, that we take the name Le Lagoto -- Samoan for 'sunsets' -- as ours are truly sensational! As we say here, 'you haven't been to Samoa unless you are in Savai'i'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Lagoto Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagoto Beach Hotel Savai`i
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing