We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Savai'i
from $61.84
More Info
from $61.84
More Info
from $68.71
More Info
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
246
157
39
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
246
157
39
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blow hole high tide coconut husks per person south coast parking fee white line blue sky drove down natural wonder well worth the trip be careful access road pay tala rental car rough road air
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 452 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2019

I'm sad to say I think the blowholes didn't quite live up to expectations.

We were really keen to check them out and could see them from the ferry which was pretty awesome. When we got there we actually drove straight past the blowholes because they were pretty small and we assumed there must be bigger ones further along, despite it being high tide. The road had not been well maintained so it was very rough on the car.

To be fair it was quite overcast so this made the spray a little bit harder to appreciate against the backdrop of the sky.

Some of the other things we didn't love about this attraction were being chased by a lady to pay to park our car (not mentioned at the time we paid our $5 each to visit) and the lack of shade to sit in and shelter from the sun while we ate our lunch (there were a handful of fales but they were very decrepit and set back from the water). The volcanic rock radiates a lot of heat!

I'm sure on the right day with the right conditions this can be a stunning attraction, but we were pretty underwhelmed unfortunately.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank rmcc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

A little bit of a drive to get to ( & lumpy driveway ) but fun when you get there ! Family before us dropped coconuts into the blow holes ( the idea being that they blow up & back ) - didnt quite work as the sea was not rough/ swelly nough but a couple of them did pop back up . Was a fun attraction .

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank teamharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

These are fairly spectacular lava tube blowholes best seen at high tide. With almost every wave you get waterspouts. There about five here.
We went in a group with a guide so we were not scammed.
We traveled with Tai of Tai's Native Experience, a local tour company who can be found on Facebook
The road to the site is rough and an average car would have problems.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We looked up google , google says closed at 5pm, but you can drive down the road regardless all the people had left wanting money !!! - got ferry across then went after ferry (6pm) / on the way out when we came back near village we heard someone yell - prob wanting money but we ignored

And looks like there is a viewing platform before the paid area FYI

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ttravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

There are several sites and we may not even have been at the best , though I think we were. What ever it is a tremendously forceful display of nature culminating in waterspouts and fine spray, with waves washing up to your feet. For me looking back one of the highlights of 18 days in Fiji and Samoa.After paying , I believe it was 5 tala for each of us. we drove out along a very bumpy track of sand and lava until we saw the water blowing up. . We then walked across the lave to several feet from them.. Just exhilarating! And my spouse could not stop taking pictures.. Truely if you are in the area do not miss this.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Nimrod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews