We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh water oasis in the rainforest”
Review of Afu Aau Waterfall

Afu Aau Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.60*
and up
Half-Day South Coast Savaii Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Savai'i
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh water oasis in the rainforest”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pay your $5 tala happily to get to wallow in the pools beneath the pure fresh waterfalls. Could make it a whole day trip to wash the salt off and picnic by the cool water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    57
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went early hoping to avoid other visitors, and were rewarded with the falls to ourselves for about an hour. Very, very pretty swimming pool, the falls weren't flowing much but it was still a spectacle, with beautiful crystal clear blue water. Loved it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

These beautiful waterfalls, fringed in native bush, provided us with a deliciously refreshing swim after a day touring Savai'i.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upton-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best swim I had in Savaii”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Loved these waterfalls, nice and deep. Had a beautiful swim, and didn't want to leave!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ttpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“refreshing after a walk”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The information we had in Jasons was a bit out of date and we walked to the Pulemei Mounds thinking we would see a great ancient site, and follow a marked track to the waterfall expecting to pay10tala for both
The mounds were overgrown, the track a bit confusing and the person asking for our 10tala only spoke samoan ( and I didnt) so we eventually found our way back on the road and by the time we walked to the 'waterfall' and pool we were more than happy to pay another 10tala and didnt care if the waterfall was flowing or not,-the pool was beautiful and cool with no other swimmers (although maybe a lone figure watching from a distance?)
Dont expect much from 'waterfalls' during the dry season, just enjoy the pools- and maybe best to arrive wearing your togs, or swim in a lavalava/shorts and top combo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afu Aau Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Afu Aau Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing