We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a great holiday?”
Review of Joelan Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joelan Beach Fales
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Want a great holiday?”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just arrived back from a wonderful holiday in Samoa. We called into Joelan Beach Fales with no pre bookings, requiring 2 fales. We were made most welcome, and given a cup of tea while they readied the fales for us. The fales were old and in need of repair, but they were right on the beach front and we hadn't pre arranged a booking. They were all that we needed and most comfortable. The food was the best on the Island as were the hosts, Falesoa & Sione. This place has a great swimming and snorkelling beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
38
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

we are a family of two adults 2 kids just returned from a fantastic memorable 5nights stay at joelan,beautifully located fales with the waves coming in almost to the entrance, excellent value for money especially with three meals a day included in the 50tala pp!! The fiafia night was also great experience & entertainment, also recommended is a savaii island full tour through sione if you dont wish to rent a car, toilets are well maintained, all facilities including the fale is basic but functional, shops are a 5minutes walk nearby,the beach is by far one of the best in savaii so dont forget to pack your snorkelling gear,togs,beach towels,insect repellant,sun screen,camera,and if travelling with kids take along some of their favourite snacks/cereals. falesoa & sione and their family members are a wonderful host and will treat you as family
a suggestion! if you are planning to travel to both savaii & upolu,fly down to apia,take the ferry straight to savaii,spent 75% of your time in savaii, you wont regret it,have a fantastic holiday!!

Room Tip: all the fales are located right on the beach but try to secure the ones away from the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU to stay in Joelan Beach Fale! :) It runs by a Samoan couple Falesoa & Sione, they cook a very nice traditional samoan breakfast (contains many tropical fruit like papaya, pineapple, oranges, banana), lunch (many taros, fish & vegetable) and also dinner. The fales are placed right in front of the beach (yess, it's a white sandy beach with a sparkling blue sea! And most special about them is that they don't treat guests like customers, but they treat us like family! So you really get the paradise feeling and also get to know Samoan family & culture even more, and it all only costs 50 tala per night! What a great bargain :-D For full review about Samoa, visit ---> http://www.happywimmy.com/2012/05/samoa-beach-paradise.html#more

Room Tip: The open fale! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happywimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you like to learn things about real life of samoans: Stay here, I can´t imagine anyboby to be disappointed by the people and the beauty of this place. I´ve been 4 weeks in samoa, Joelans beach with the wunderful, always hardworking Falesoa (sometimes even too hard, you should stop her from time to time and force her to sit down, drinking a cup of strong coffee together with you) and the wonderful, always helpful Sione (you should give him a break and share your cigarettes with him from time to time) was the best accodomodation I have seen. Noboby can cook as perfect as Falesoa, nobody is a better fisherman than Sione. And no fale can be closer to the pacific than these of Joelans.
If you meet the familiy, give them greetings from Petra and Doris!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraGeisbuesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just come back from a week at Joelan's. We are vegans and would definitely recommend coming here. You will definitely not go hungry at Joelan's even as a vegan!
Falesoa understood the foods that we could and couldn't eat and it was great to be able to learn some Samoan recipes as well such as the batter she used which was just coconut milk and flour.
Great snorkeling among the fish and simple coral directly in front of the fale (we brought our own but they have a snorkeling mask you can borrow).
During our stay we learned how to make coconut oil via the frying method, how to make a coconut oil candle, and how to weave a basket. We also tried many of the traditional foods such as the amazing palusami (young taro leaves and coconut cream - incredible flavour!! Be there on a Sunday to try this as this is part of the post church umu feast).

The fale are just brilliant with easy adjustable walls to adjust privacy and sunlight into your 'room'. We had a few incredible sunrises we woke to. The waves under the fale can be a bit loud at night if the tide is high, but you could just bring ear plugs if you are concerned and we mostly got used to it.
For around 2.50 tala you can catch a bus back to Salelolonga where the ferry leaves and go to the supermarket and market (the market is a bit further, we caught a ride when Sione went there), to pick up some extra fruit and veg for snacks as the local shops along the roadside only sell junk food. Definitely bring your own chocolate to Samoa if you are vegan! (I'd suggest it even if you're not). Take tampons too if it's that time of the month - couldn't find them in any of the shops, just pads.

Sione and Falesoa and their children are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. There were a number of people who had only planned to stay a shorter time and after going to other places such as Manase, returned to Joelan's. From what they were saying, it is truly the best of the bunch! Great price, great food, great beach.

It seems wise to avoid a place called Regina's in Manase which has become just commercial and charges for every little thing (like filling your water bottle or recharging a cell phone) and the family run it more like a Western business. There was another place in Manase that didn't even have enough food for everyone staying there and the last people in the queue would end up with just rice! At the airport, we caught up with another couple who we had met at Joelan's who had also been to Lalomanu on Upolu (where we had originally planned to go until we realised it would be cheaper to catch a ferry and bus to Joelan's instead). It seems that the beaches there are much the same but it's not the place to go if you are wanting a relaxing holiday as there were bars and they even had one next to their fale (owned by the place they were staying) which pumped out music until 3pm even though one night night it was just one tourist partying.

Save yourself the hassle and go straight there or at least make this your base when on Savai'i.
You can email to book: joelanbeachfales@gmail.com (Send well in advance. I don't know where they check emails, but it's not that regularly). Although Falesoa clearly stated that the 50 tala is for breakfast and dinner she would often give us a big plate of food for lunch (even when we had been out and returned early afternoon). Be prepared to say you're full!

Room Tip: The open fale allowed good airflow during the night which we found important as temperatures are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Really fabulous people, both tourists and hosts alike! So beautiful, and run by such incredibly hospitable and kind folks, I can't imagine being disapointed staying in a place like this.
I recommend taking the city bus and ignoring the taxi drivers, it's a way cooler experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place is amazing, my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in their enclosed beach fales, although the open ones, looked just as good! The hosts were amazing and their was always plenty of food (breakfast,lunch and dinner all included, and huge. Eaten with all other guests in the family fale) and bananas to fill you up all day!! Snorkelling is awesome just out from your fales! The only thing is that there isn't anything around in walking distance (which was amazing for us as we just wanted to snorkel and swim on the beach), so make sure that you have all the fluids you will need whilst you are staying there. Showers were great, lots of pressure!! Definitely would recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
0.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
0.0 mi away
Taufua Beach Fales
Taufua Beach Fales
#1 of 2 in Lalomanu
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joelan Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joelan Beach Fales

Property: Joelan Beach Fales
Address: Lano Beach, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Joelan Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing