We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild & wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falealupo Beach Fales
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A bit of a challenge getting here with no public transport - but the effort hitching was certainly worth it. Great views, beach, snorkling, food & sunset. We loved the horizontal coconut tree set in concrete! Would be exciting in a westerly gale!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

While we were having dinner in the communal dinner area, the young guy who hung our mosquito nets above our bed stole from our wallet. We had just finished counting our money - and when we came back there was 200 tala missing.( Lucky for us he didnt take the lot - he could have had 2000 tala. We told the boss, he said it was the first time it ever happened. We have since found out its not the first time. Other travellers said the same thing had happened. Its a beautiful area, and the food was great. Just watch out for your gear. The money we are sure about - other clothing items went missing also - but we not sure who. Take care.

Room Tip: They are all fales - no lockable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Incredible beach, and snorkelling. We didn't notice any rips (strong currents) in the lagoon, it seemed very safe.
Some interesting sights in the area, like the rock house, canopy walkway, tsunami-damaged church.
But, as the title says, this place is desolate to say the least. We were the only guests (2 friends on a cycle tour) and, while we appreciated the sheer beauty of this location, we felt a little 'exposed' staying here. Lonely planet, and our tour guide, warned of burglaries in the area. We saw no signs of trouble, and the locals were friendly, but we were a long, long way from the nearest decent sized settlement if anything had gone wrong.
I would not advise this location for single travellers, especially women, or for people who have a narrow comfort zone.

Dinner was surprisingly awesome. Brekkie average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

A friend and I intended to stay in Falealupo for 1 night but after finding the fales and the stunning beach with friendly, personal service we decided to stay an extra night!
I had the most rested night sleep here and we woke up to the sight of the sea and deserted beach the next morning.
The couple who run the place went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and bought us fresh papaya and coconut to drink during the day. The food was local fare but tasty and we did not feel threatened by any male presence so hopefully the previous problems mentioned have been solved.
We would highly recommend this place as a quiet get-away to travellers on a back-packing style holiday who are looking for the truly Samoan experience!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a stunning location and the first day was bliss - fresh coconuts to drink and fruit were brought out to us (breakfast is at 7.30am and dinner at 7pm so it's a long stretch). However the next day, in this isolated location which unless you have your own transport you can only walk, they were doing some building work, there was no fruit and no snorkels to hire (yes, I should have brought my own). That same afternoon myself and another female discovered that one of the workers at the fales was a peeping tom and had been trying to spy on us both in the showers. Having heard other stories of females having their fales invaded by Samoan men we both decided to leave. Although the management assured us that the guy would be sacked the next day I learnt from other travellers that he was still there. Subsequent to this the owner has been in touch assuring us the man has been removed and police are dealing with it. I really hope so but felt that the matter was dealt with badly, the male manager at the fales was more concerned about business than our personal safety and security. It's a real shame but after my experience I cannot recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank flf_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank kermocotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julieta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
42.1 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
229 reviews
42.2 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.6 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
100 reviews
29.3 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#1 of 15 in Savai'i
557 reviews
27.7 mi away
Stevenson's at Manase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falealupo Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falealupo Beach Fales

Address: Falealupo Village, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Falealupo Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing