We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
Review of Bayview Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayview Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Savai'i B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay here last week in one of the rooms which in addition to offering 1 double plus 2 single beds a l s o have an entire open Fale attached - which sleeps up to 2 persons. As there was 2 of us we could choose if we wanted to sleep inside our room or out in the Fale. Guess what we've done? Right, the Fale it was! And it was a great experience, our 1st Fale nights ever. Loved it!

Breakfast was as good as the accommodation, especially the 'Samoan Flavour of the day', 3 of which have been rotated between the days so everyone who'd stay for a min. of 3 nights could sample all of them. I loved the Vaisalo and the Supo Esy!

We even could pick our dinners which were included in the rate from the á-la-carte menu, Oka was ok, chef needs to learn that Tuna steak is usually not being served 'well done', but besides that the food was amazing.

Overall rateing 4.5 outta 5 I'd say....

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the attached Fales - especially if you've never slept in a Fale before!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolut_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Talofa absolut_thomas :)

I'm so glad that you tried the "Fale" area and enjoyed it. Theres a slogan for Savaii that says "You haven't been to Samoa if you havent visited Savaii Island" but I would change that to "You haven't been to Samoa if you hadn't experienced sleeping in a Fale" lol.!!. The other pride of Bayview is our food, which i sincerely apologise for. Thank you for your kind words and your advise for the betterment of our service.

Best Regards

Sesilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Bayview Resort. Fale 5 faces straight onto the water and the rooms are modest with both a double and a single bed as well as a fantastic covered balcony area which has a picnic table and outside bedding area. The food is reasonable and although on the lagoon not the beach the beach is only 5 mins down the road which is bikeable and 5/10 tala by taxi.Nothing was a hassle and staff were more than happy to help. I would highly recommend staying here as found the hosts to go the extra mile, very fast communication when making the booking and everything appears to work well. We caught the bus up from the ferry and that was no hassle at all. If you have a car I would recommend it is definitely worth staying here, using the lagoon and make the short trip to the beach. We stayed at three different places in Samoa and Bayview was by far the best. Enjoy your stay, I would definitely make a return visit :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZAC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Talofa ANZAC79

It is always great to read feedback from our guests. It not only gives us directions, but also helps us upkeep and improve our service. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and its great to know that you're happy to stay at Bayview again in your future travels. Thank you for sharing your experience.

All the Best!

Sesilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was a very pleasant place to stay, peaceful and quiet. Really enjoyed the large, cool Fale attached to the cabin, with day-beds with mosquito nets, looking out over the lava-gardens. The best breakfasts, including different delicious traditional dishes, and tasty menu for lunch and dinner. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff, happy to get you whatever you need. The swimming there wasn't very good, but its a short distance to good beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teinesamoa l, Owner at Bayview Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Talofa Elzie_12

Thank you for sharing your experience at Bayview. We built our bungalows so our guests can experience the open fale and still have the choice of the enclosed quarters for privacy, which i'm so glad that you enjoyed. I'm also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well as the service provided by our staff. Thank you once again for your feedback.

All the best!

Sesilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We returned to Bayview for a second visit and will be back again for another next time we visit Samoa. The indoor/outdoor fale were wonderful and we spent almost all our time in the outdoor half. It was lovely to sleep outside under the excellent protection of the mosquito nets! The staff were genuinely marvellous and it was great to catch up again with what is becoming a home away from home. We made the most of our time with some kayacking in the lagoon as well as a truly magical snorkelling trip with Dive Savaii. The geologist was especially happy in all the lava! The restaurant and food were also first rate.

Room Tip: Go for the attached fale option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbrd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

we stumbled on the Bay view resort and stayed three night in a fale overlooking the bay.
Don't let the drab entrance put you off. Stay here and wander through the local village and meet the locals. Paddle in the bay and take in the great sun rises from your balcony.
Great restaurant that cant do enough for you, but the best part is the people. We couldn't of been looked after better by Becc and her family. the beach resorts are just up the road but this is what we were looking for when we went to Savaii

Room Tip: Get the fale overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We, my Mum and I, spent two nights at Bayview resort when we went to Savaii, Samoa for a wedding. The fale, we had one without an open outside part, was basic but functional and comfortable. We had aircon and a small ensuite. I booked online six months before our trip and we were charged only $200 tala per night (I see someone else paid $300 a night... maybe for a bigger room or more guests?) which I thought was reasonable as it included an extensive breakfast.

Bayview doesn't have a nice beach area, but you can swim and kayaks are free to use. The food was really good and we found the staff were very friendly. I would also recommend that you hire a car as it is a few minutes drive to any other resort or a good swimming beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We isolated ourselves from the outside world so we didnt access the internet etc.
The staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.
Just a tip, hire a car to drive here. The resort picked us up from the ferry but then we were isloated without transport. Because we were not on a tight schedule we caught the local bus back to town and hired a car there.
Not really a resort by western standards but still worth the stay. Very quiet with only one other cabin occupied while we were there,
This is not a chain resort and is family run so at least the money stays in Samoa.
We didnt sleep outside in the fale because it was a little windy but it was good to lie around on

Room Tip: ask for the lagoon facing room with fale attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savai'i
0.0 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Resort

Property: Bayview Resort
Address: Sale'aula Lava Field | Sale'aula, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Saleaula Lava Fields fronting on to the ocean is this safe and peaceful haven. Built for your comfort and privacy, Bayview Resort offers beauty that is natural and untouched. The dramatic Lava surrounding and the islet opposite the resort is pure nature, with fresh water springs bubbling up in the midst of the lava rocks, and creates a fresh water pool to soothe you when you feel hot. A place to unwind and recuperate before you explore its historic surroundings. Comfortable, panoramic scenery, affordable and worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Resort Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing