We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savaii's little Gem .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lauiula Beach Fales
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Savaii's little Gem .”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are looking for a unique cultural experience on Savaii , look no further than Luaiula Beach Fales. Richard and his staff provide a wonderful personal service with a focus on Samoan culture . They are attentive and nothing is too much bother in making your stay a memorable one .
We chose an enclosed Fales which was very comfortable , the fridge was indispensable !
The food is typical Samoan , plentiful and tasty .
The bar , dining area is a great place to catch up with fellow guests to share your days experiences and sample a local beer or two or enjoy a glass of wine ! Good fun !
The lagoon is brilliant for swimming and snorkeling ( take own mask etc if poss) and take advantage and have a go of the native outrigger canoe that is provided for guests .
We especially enjoyed the cultural tour, Umo demonstration and the Fia Fia night is not to be missed .
We stayed for 7 nights , thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to recommend the Lauiula Beach Fales , they are a little Gem , and would love to return one day ;-)
Thank you Richard for your inimitable hospitality and sharing the passion for your culture . Your staff are a credit to you .
Marvelous !
Wendy and Grenville

Room Tip: The enclosed Fale at the north end is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grenville J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
28
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Samoa. we are so glad we found thenLauiula Beach Fales. We stayed at a neighbouring property last year which was no comparison! Richard and his girls cared for us and went the extra mile constantly. We were a group of 4 on a girls trip. We felt protected and safe. We had awful weather for the first few days and sadly witnessed the chaos from the bus accident. However, for us it out things I to perspective. I can not speak highly enough of this place and we will return next year. The food is lovely and plentiful and because of their generosity you only have to ask and they will accommodate I.e. extra fruit etc. The swimming was lovely and the Fales well maintained and clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending this real samoan experience. Thank you Richard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A group of girlfriends went and stayed at Lauiula Beach Fales for 7 nights. What an amazing experience. Richard the host and his wife went out of their way to make our stay so special. I recommend Lauiula Beach fales to everyone I know. You will have such a special, memorable time. Do not miss experiencing Lauiula.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at Lauiula Beach Fales in May 2013 with my three sons. I had a wooden fale at the end of the beach, had a good size fridge and a little porch with table and chairs. My sons stayed in a traditional fale with woven blinds, good size and you can pull up blinds if its too hot. It was very hot at night but Lano Beach is quite windy so always a nice cool breeze coming off the ocean. Quite a pleasant bar & dining area with a big deck over looking the ocean. Breakfast was eggs, bread, payapa, banana's, dinners were good quite a lot of fish and large portions. Showers, toilets were always clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Low tide was good for snorkelling, coral only metres from the beach, a good variety of fish and coral. High tide was good for swimming. Water was turquoise blue, clear and luke warm - magic. Fales just steps away into the ocean.

We were invited to a umu which is cooking over a open fire a traditional Samoan way of cooking. I also attended a local church on Sunday morning, where I was made to feel very welcome.

Lano Beach is beautiful, soft white sand. A very relaxing place if your looking for more of a party atmosphere go to Manase Beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay in a tropical beach paradise. Thank your for your hospitality and making our holiday so enjoyable. Deb, Gareth, Timmy & Spencer.

Room Tip: If your middle age like me go for the wooden fale, double bed, fridge and little porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debzliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here . Many thanks to Lyn and Esther for looking after me..Meals were very good and the "bar and restaurant " area overlook the beach and ocean..
Fales were clean and comfortable.

Only criticism would be the bar closing at 7pm,perhaps because of small number of guests while I was there and the staff seemed quite confused when a lady asked for a boubon and coke.So maybe a bit of training there..but like many things in Samoa you take it in your stride and move on .

Overall a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is the insiders´tip for travelers seeking for best relaxing instead of standard tourist resorts! I stood there for 6 weeks and have seen almost all other fale resorts in Savai´i and Upolu... no doubt about my tip!
You sleep 10 ft away from the ocean with the "sunsise in your bed"!
Fales and facilities are in best shape and condition. The lovely staff cares for you in a famliy atmosphere.
Delicious breakfast and dinner meals, which are included in the good price are served in a front beach restaurant with an amazing view to the reef.
The reef prepares the beach to best conditions for swimming, diving and canoeing (eqiument provided for free).
I never felt more home, free and fun overseas than here!
A MUST for travelers in Samoa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Volker_W45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have to start by sincerely thanking Richard for being an inspiring and charming host. It is literally his personality that made our stay so special.
The fales are basic, but comfortable and clean. They look out onto a beautiful beach, golden sand and great snorkeling and swimming. Among regenerating Acrapora and stag horn corals (Richard asked us to let him know if we saw any Crown of Thorns starfish eating the coral colonies), the bay serves as a nursery for many species of beautiful tropical marine fish. I even had the pleasure of a brief swim with a turtle before it swam hurriedly back to sea.
We arrived early the first day not expecting any hospitality, but Richard immediately offered us a free lunch. After our prior experiences in Samoa this was a pleasant, and much appreciated surprise.
Richard goes the extra mile to make this a culturally rewarding experience. The food is served and very pleasant, home cooked fare, but on the third night we were there we were in for a culinary experience unlike anything we had experienced before.
Ricard takes great delight in offering guests a tour of Samoas heritage, and with the help of a local villager, demonstrated and walked us through how to select coconuts, make fire, and prepare traditional dishes. For dinner that night we experienced how they prepared food for generations, from the start of the fire, climbing for coconuts, selecting taro leaves, and cooking the fish. The food was divine, an experience we fondly remember.
It is this passion and innovation that Richard adds to the stay of his guests that stands out. He works incredibly hard to keep these traditions alive, and to teach it to people who are his guests. He is a one of a kind cultural ambassador.
If you stay in Savai'i, we recommend that you take some time out here. While the surrounds are basic, the experience is nothing short of lush, and the beach is idyllic.
Richard - sorry our review was so late - and thanks so much again for looking after us!
Clinton and Ursh

Room Tip: We opted for a locable fale, but the beach seems very safe, and you are well looked after by Richard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ursula_and_Clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
3.6 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
223 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
314 reviews
30.5 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
15.7 mi away
Savaii Lagoon Resort
Savaii Lagoon Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauiula Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauiula Beach Fales

Property: Lauiula Beach Fales
Address: Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally built Samoan beach fales on a white sandy beach. Beautiful spot for snorkelling in crystal clear water and watching a stunning sunrise in the morning. Together with honestly open-hearted hospitality and locally produced fresh food, there is no doubt in indulging in a pure pleasure and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauiula Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing