We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lauiula Beach Fales
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A group of girlfriends went and stayed at Lauiula Beach Fales for 7 nights. What an amazing experience. Richard the host and his wife went out of their way to make our stay so special. I recommend Lauiula Beach fales to everyone I know. You will have such a special, memorable time. Do not miss experiencing Lauiula.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at Lauiula Beach Fales in May 2013 with my three sons. I had a wooden fale at the end of the beach, had a good size fridge and a little porch with table and chairs. My sons stayed in a traditional fale with woven blinds, good size and you can pull up blinds if its too hot. It was very hot at night but Lano Beach is quite windy so always a nice cool breeze coming off the ocean. Quite a pleasant bar & dining area with a big deck over looking the ocean. Breakfast was eggs, bread, payapa, banana's, dinners were good quite a lot of fish and large portions. Showers, toilets were always clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Low tide was good for snorkelling, coral only metres from the beach, a good variety of fish and coral. High tide was good for swimming. Water was turquoise blue, clear and luke warm - magic. Fales just steps away into the ocean.

We were invited to a umu which is cooking over a open fire a traditional Samoan way of cooking. I also attended a local church on Sunday morning, where I was made to feel very welcome.

Lano Beach is beautiful, soft white sand. A very relaxing place if your looking for more of a party atmosphere go to Manase Beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay in a tropical beach paradise. Thank your for your hospitality and making our holiday so enjoyable. Deb, Gareth, Timmy & Spencer.

Room Tip: If your middle age like me go for the wooden fale, double bed, fridge and little porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debzliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here . Many thanks to Lyn and Esther for looking after me..Meals were very good and the "bar and restaurant " area overlook the beach and ocean..
Fales were clean and comfortable.

Only criticism would be the bar closing at 7pm,perhaps because of small number of guests while I was there and the staff seemed quite confused when a lady asked for a boubon and coke.So maybe a bit of training there..but like many things in Samoa you take it in your stride and move on .

Overall a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is the insiders´tip for travelers seeking for best relaxing instead of standard tourist resorts! I stood there for 6 weeks and have seen almost all other fale resorts in Savai´i and Upolu... no doubt about my tip!
You sleep 10 ft away from the ocean with the "sunsise in your bed"!
Fales and facilities are in best shape and condition. The lovely staff cares for you in a famliy atmosphere.
Delicious breakfast and dinner meals, which are included in the good price are served in a front beach restaurant with an amazing view to the reef.
The reef prepares the beach to best conditions for swimming, diving and canoeing (eqiument provided for free).
I never felt more home, free and fun overseas than here!
A MUST for travelers in Samoa!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volker_W45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have to start by sincerely thanking Richard for being an inspiring and charming host. It is literally his personality that made our stay so special.
The fales are basic, but comfortable and clean. They look out onto a beautiful beach, golden sand and great snorkeling and swimming. Among regenerating Acrapora and stag horn corals (Richard asked us to let him know if we saw any Crown of Thorns starfish eating the coral colonies), the bay serves as a nursery for many species of beautiful tropical marine fish. I even had the pleasure of a brief swim with a turtle before it swam hurriedly back to sea.
We arrived early the first day not expecting any hospitality, but Richard immediately offered us a free lunch. After our prior experiences in Samoa this was a pleasant, and much appreciated surprise.
Richard goes the extra mile to make this a culturally rewarding experience. The food is served and very pleasant, home cooked fare, but on the third night we were there we were in for a culinary experience unlike anything we had experienced before.
Ricard takes great delight in offering guests a tour of Samoas heritage, and with the help of a local villager, demonstrated and walked us through how to select coconuts, make fire, and prepare traditional dishes. For dinner that night we experienced how they prepared food for generations, from the start of the fire, climbing for coconuts, selecting taro leaves, and cooking the fish. The food was divine, an experience we fondly remember.
It is this passion and innovation that Richard adds to the stay of his guests that stands out. He works incredibly hard to keep these traditions alive, and to teach it to people who are his guests. He is a one of a kind cultural ambassador.
If you stay in Savai'i, we recommend that you take some time out here. While the surrounds are basic, the experience is nothing short of lush, and the beach is idyllic.
Richard - sorry our review was so late - and thanks so much again for looking after us!
Clinton and Ursh

Room Tip: We opted for a locable fale, but the beach seems very safe, and you are well looked after by Richard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ursula_and_Clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Basic fales with double bed and mosquito net. Enjoyed our one night spent here although we had to wait 1-2 hours while our fale was being prepared due to 'unexpected' guests checking in which i didnt understand as i had booked and deposited this all in advance. however, Salanoa(owner) was very helpful and advised us not to worry. Our meal was lovely and tasty(chicken chopsuey/taro slices/salad and roastpork and gravy). Fantasic beach, very calm waters and lovely outdoor shower to rinse it off. Price was only $50 tala per person including breakie and dinner. Nice breakie of toast, scrambled egg and spaghetti with slice of pawpaw. VERY GOOD DEAL.Only recommendation is that the fales should be made to open out to the beach. All the fales are on the beachfront and ours didnt allow for the polas(screens) to go up as there was ugly tarpaulin wrapped around it. The place needs a little facelift as it looks a little tired. I think the linoleum flooring should be stripped back and allow for the natural wood to peek through as it makes the fales look 'cheap'. What we liked about Lauiula was that it was not a BIG tourist resort like Tanu but more peaceful and unspoilt. If the facilities and fales are given a facelift it would be 100% perfect. Lovely beach for swimming and almost connected to another resort that is right next door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargainhunter1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

For anyone looking for world class hospitality + a fantastic beach position, on a beach fale budget, you can't go past Lauilula Beach Fales. Located on the beautiful Lano beach, these fales are right on the beach, with the fales literally next to the sea wall. Great swimming and snorkelling within a few paces. The central dining hall/bar with carved features is a beautiful space to gather for meals and a game of cards and to catch up with other travellers. The food was a big step above what we experienced at other beach side fales, with the dinners often smacking a hint of gourmet and a great love of food. We feasted on lobster soup entree on two nights, fresh mahi-mahi panned fried in a gorgeous white wine and coconut sauce. On our last day (a Sunday) we asked for an early lunch before we left to catch the ferry. Our amazing host Richard, organised instead a sampler of food from a local umu- we were in heaven! Richard goes out of to create an fantastic experience, and his staff, especially Martha are true professionals, but with that Samoan friendliness. No request was too difficult. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diannemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
6.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
0 mi away
Bayview Resort
Bayview Resort
#1 of 5 in Savai'i
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
416 reviews
30.5 mi away
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
10 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauiula Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauiula Beach Fales

Address: Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally built Samoan beach fales on a white sandy beach. Beautiful spot for snorkelling in crystal clear water and watching a stunning sunrise in the morning. Together with honestly open-hearted hospitality and locally produced fresh food, there is no doubt in indulging in a pure pleasure and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauiula Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing