We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lauiula Beach Fales
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed at Lauiula Beach Fales with my family - 6 adults in all, qw stayed for 3 days. First of all that beach is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen, white sand, clear blue water. We stayed in 3 beach fales, each with mosquito nets, mattresses, and clean bedding.

The fales are simple and tidy, there is a power outlet in each for you to use to charge your gadgets, by the door near the light switch. The fales are right on the water when the tide comes in, the beach is superb. The area is private, there were not too many guests when I stayed. Salanoa & his family & staff are wonderful hosts. They were attentive and very warm. The food was awesome fresh, delicious samoan food. The price is outstanding, meals included. The snorkeling is great, plenty of fish & coral around.

I highly recommend this for people who want a serene, simple, beautiful, uncluttered escape. This place will stay close to my heart forever. If I ever feel the need to disappear from my from a high stress & hectic city life in the future, and withdraw from it all, this is where I'll come.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleek_I_Fresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 109 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Lauiula Beach Fales are certainly not luxurious accommodation, but we had a great time there and met some nice people among our fellow guests. It was good value and the rate included a nice breakfast which the owner's wife cooked every morning.

My wife booked this accommodation for us to celebrate a 'milestone' birthday for me. We stayed 4 nights there after initially spending 3 nights at a resort on Upolu. After that we took our rental car on the ferry to Savai'i. Lauiula Beach Fales consists of a central building which serves as a restaurant and bar as well as eight or nine fales. 'Fale' is Samoan for 'house', and these are very basic accommodations. Ours was the only lockable fale - most are open at the sides except for blinds woven from coconut fronds that can be lowered for privacy at night or when it rains hard enough to warrant it.

Our fale was perhaps two or three metres from the water, depending on the
tide. Most of Samoa is surrounded by a coral reef which acts as a breakwater. Where we stayed the reef was only a few hundred metres offshore and we could hear the surf crashing against it. Inside the reef the surf is very gentle and it is shallow enough that you could walk
all way out to the reef. We went snokelling a few times - there are nice tropical fishes to be seen.

Our host Richard was a wonderful guy who told us all kinds of interesting things about Samoa and their way of life, myths and legends etc. He taught us how to husk a coconut and how to
squeeze oil from the meat of the coconut. Knowing it was my birthday, Richard organized an 'Umu' - a Samoan feast similar to a Maori hangi or the Hawaiian luau. This involves the killing of a suckling pig, I was worried for a while that as the guest of honor I might given the 'privilege' of cutting its throat! Turns out they apparently dispatch it by drowning instead.

The pig is cooked using hot stones (inside its chest cavity as well as packed around its body) and served along with taro (similar to potato) as well as coconut milk wrapped in taro leaves and cooked alongside the pig. We were shown all these preparations and the various steps in the process. We also had a kava ceremony in which we were taught the correct
way of passing the kava cup, with one person acting as the chief and refilling the cup and passing it to the next person. Kava is supposedly mildly narcotic and is traditionally taken at any formal event. Kava is like muddy water and didn't seem to have much effect on us apart from making our lips go numb and maybe helping us sleep well afterwards...

Anyway it was a nice night for the birthday celebrations. Richard said grace and made a nice speech which I responded to. Another guy from his village played Samoan songs on the guitar and sang. All in all it was a very memorable night.

As I say, the fales are very basic accommodation but are located in a Samoan village and there is not really any 'commercial' or 'touristy' development nearby -- just a few local shops. For us it was a wonderful experience and we were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank djk_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Positives:
Staff were friendly, helpful, humble.
Good cultural show. 30 tala extra per person and this all goes to help out the local village.
Good dining fale.
Nice fales right on the beach.
Good snorkelling

Negatives:
Shower/toilet facilities very basic, but hey that's Savai'i!
Beer prices were the highest in Savai'i.
Snorkelling: it's a LONG way out to the reef. Other locations have way better access, but this place is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have just returned from a 12 day trip to Samoa. My sister and I and our 15 year old sons and my mum and dad spent 4 days at the Lauiula Beach Fales in Savaai. Wow!! to sleep so close to the sea (approx 3 metres) and watch and sunrise and just '"chill'' to the sound of the waves, theres nothing more relaxing!! This is the place to escape the 'rat race'. The water was so 'blue' and clear that you could still see your toes when the water was at shoulder high. Awesome snorkeliing. Lots of schools of fishes just swimming beneath you, its a sight that is rare.

Very clean accomodation and our host Richard Salanoa and his family were just awesome! They made us feel like we were part of their family and they looked after us very well while still maintaining our privacy. Richard even went out of his way to make us a dish that he heard we liked and was not even on the menu for dinner.

It has to be the highlight of our whole trip to Samoa and we did not want to leave especially our boys who scored themselves beautiful tans just from running along the beach and swimming daily.

Faafetail Salanoa and your family
Luisa

Room Tip: Open Beach fales are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Staying at Lauiula Beach Fales was one of the best decisions we made when we decided to go to Samoa. Not only is the price cheap and very affordable but the food is delicious! (and included in the nightly stay). We got red lobster for dinner once, and a variety of native samoan cuisine. Richard, the owner treated us incredibly good, he was always there for us if anything was needed. The beach is very very calm and you sleep and wake up o the sound of the waves. I would DEFINITELY recommed this place if you are going to savai'i. It is the true samoan experience combined with great hospitality, great food and the best relaxing atmosphere you will have in your life!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldovilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We only stayed one night here but found the hospitality to be second to none. Although the place seems a little run down now it is still fantastically located right on the beach and the fales and beds were great. Our 3 kids had a fale to themselves and we had the choice of the cabin or the open fale in front. We chose the open fale which was perfect. Lots of room and a small side table and chairs. Had one of the better nights sleeps here.The wind was very strong during the day and almost as bad at night so unfortunately time on the beach was limited (for us fussy adults) kids didnt mind. Good place to base yourself for day trips around Savaii.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hujazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Richard and his wife Mafa were just lovely, couldnt do enough for us. We were having a family holiday including granma who is 89 and she was treated like royalty. Richard cooked a special meal for her and the pinnacoladas were made from scratch with fresh pineapple and coconuts, and he gave us the leftovers.... Just an awesome holiday and highly recommend a stay here. Lovely location, beautiful beaches and we definitely will be back. The highlight of our holiday in Samoa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savai'i hotels
3.7 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
232 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#13 of 15 in Savai'i
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayview Resort
Bayview Resort
#1 of 5 in Savai'i
57 reviews
15.6 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fagamalo
413 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauiula Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauiula Beach Fales

Address: Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally built Samoan beach fales on a white sandy beach. Beautiful spot for snorkelling in crystal clear water and watching a stunning sunrise in the morning. Together with honestly open-hearted hospitality and locally produced fresh food, there is no doubt in indulging in a pure pleasure and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauiula Beach Fales Samoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing