We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the cloud forest!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ibarra
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great stay in the cloud forest!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I actually stayed here back in 2008 before I was ever a member on TripAdvisor, but came across Hacienda online the other day and thought I should contribute to the good online vibes for this place.

It really is a special place to stay and it is far away from everything, so that you really feel that primal beauty of mother nature as you take in the surroundings. The hacienda is really like a big family home, which definitely contributes to the experience. Run by very very nice people who feed you very good, fresh, home made food, guide you through banana plantations and dirt roads on horse back rides, take you on AMAZING AMAZING hikes through the cloud forest where you end up swimming in the streams and rivers, and taking "showers" under waterfalls, and then in the evening the people of hacienda get together with the guests in the family room and play guitars and sing. The atmosphere is absolutely amazing. Note that it does take about 4-5 hours to get here by car from Quito, but the trip is fun and you see so much local life on the way, in my opinion the road tip is actually a bonus, despite the sometimes-crazy road conditions and police check stops near the border with Colombia.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is that there were some issues with insects, as really should be expected perhaps in such a remote and close to nature setting. These issues were due perhaps to the age of the building and and having quite large gaps under the doors and in the window frames (the windows have glass, but no nets and there are also no mosquito nets above the beds - or at least there were none in 2008). That said, mosquitoes were NOT the problem, it's the other type of bugs that would get into the room, especially if the light was on (which we avoided doing after our first night, because we literally got freaked out by what was going on outside our window when we turned our light on). The names of all these bugs I do not know, but between them, a variety of small and large moths, and several giant spiders we found in the room one morning - I would rather take mosquitoes any day. Two particularly memorable occasions were when my husband found a spider in his shoe one morning and both of us jumped back onto the bed screaming bloody murder while the huge spider hurried across the room, and another when there was a baby tarantula underneath our breakfast table (on both of these occasions the staff promptly came to our help). But if you don't mid the insects, then this place is absolutely a 5 star. And even I who cannot think about spiders without shuddering, would go back here - the place was THAT enchanting otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, late at night, we were well looked after. We were driven the 3 and half hours or so through the night to the hacienda and although the last part of the journey was a bit hair-raising (for us Health and Safety conscious Brits!) we arrived safely and were made to feel very welcome.

We were struck by the wonderful peace and quiet all round the hacienda and we stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was spacious with wonderful views over the hills and the bed was comfy, although for midday naps we preferred the hammocks just outside!

The owner (Pepe) speaks English very well and after speaking with us about what we wanted to do with our time, organised our days out and we explored the surrounding countryside on horseback (I'd never done that before) and on foot. We also went to the nearby town to watch the regular Sunday volleyball match and mix with the locals. The two cowboys (Jose and Byron) who accompanied us were lovely and always went at our pace. Each day was a delight and to round it off a quick dip in the pool was very refreshing.

As vegetarians we were very well catered for and the food just kept on coming. The service was brilliant and although the rest of the staff spoke very little English, it didn't matter, we were always able to make ourselves understood and everyone was so relaxed.

We'd heard that the chef was a talented musician so we asked him to play for us on our last night which he did, accompanied beautifully by our lovely waiter.

We forgot to bring our camera re-charger and Pepe actually lent us his own for the rest of our 3 week trip and was happy for us to leave it for him in our last hotel in Quito. What a nice man and so trusting!

So.........if you want a little retreat, far off the beaten track but with lots of lovely food, horseriding, trecking, swimming and relaxing - we would definately recommend this place and we'd love to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Words can’t describe the incredible views. The setting is magnificent, surrounded by a cloud forest and lush green mountains that look as if they were a quilted patchwork of farms.

Every day was filled with a new adventure, horseback riding, hiking through the forest to discover beautiful waterfalls, white water rafting and more. Upon returning from each days activity, we were always greeted with a smile and a cold drink.

It was also nice to just relax by the pool or in one of the many hammocks on the porch. I’ve never felt so relaxed while on vacation.

The chef and his staff provided delicious food every day. Breakfast is whenever you wake up. Make sure you ask for the "Ecuadorian breakfast", my kid’s favorite. Lunch and diner times are planned around your schedule. One day my kids caught fish at a local trout farm. The chef cooked it that evening for dinner!

The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. They really made you feel at home, providing very personal service.

We highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave70051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you want to experience nature, while enjoying all your comforts, then you found it with Hacienda Primavera. I travelled with my wife, two young daughters (ages 8 and 14), mother in law (70+) and friends who were traveling with their 3 young children. All of us were overwhelmed by the beauty of the hacienda and the surrounding territory. The Hacienda has horses for all riders. We trekked by horse or hiked to beautiful waterfalls and villages. Exhausted from a day of adventure, we relaxed by pool and enjoyed drinks on the porch. We picked and ate fruit of all varieties which grow naturally on its property. The kids most of all enjoyed our time at the hacienda. They were free to roam and explore the hills on their own. And finally, the owners Pepe and Julie are simply the best. They make you feel like guests in their home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I first visited la Hacienda Primavera in 2001, just a few months after its grand opening. During that visit, I was bewitched by its charm and its tranquil surroundings. Since, I have faithfully visited almost every year, making it into my private oasis, in which I feel that as the clouds roll down the mountains so do all the tensions and worries of my daily life.

La Hacienda’s breathtaking views of rolling green mountains, roaring rivers and beautiful birds is just one part of what makes this amazing place my favorite and treasured get away. The other part is the graciousness and hospitality of its staff who are responsive to your every need at all times by creating stupendous meals with special attention to specific tastes and desires, maintaining the rooms clean and free of critters, offering spectacular hikes, fabulous horse back riding, bird watching and sightseeing and filling the nights with delightful guitar playing and memorable ballads. I can’t wait to return to re-experience it all, all over again and many times more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jun9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at Hacienda Primavera with our 3 adult children for 4 amazing days. We were transported from our inn in Cotopaxi to Primavera by Pepe himself, the larger-than-life owner of the hacienda (his English is excellent.), who wanted to make sure we didn't get lost. Yes, Primavera is quite a ways from the big city, but that's part of what makes it so incredible. With its gorgeous pool, lush landscape, perfectly situated hammocks and large, clean rooms, the place immediately makes you forget about the long drive to get there.
The hacienda is a working farm, so we were surrounded by banana trees, papaya and guava orchards, and coffee plants. All of these make an appearance in the day's cuisine.
The staff, including Pedro, the chef by day/guitarist and singer by night, could not have been more accommodating. We had some special dietary requests, and Pedro fulfilled these exactly as we had asked. Byron, who grooms and trains the hacienda's magnificent horses, led us on an incredible ride into the jungle, where we stopped at a trout pond and caught our dinner. The horses ranged from lazy to thoroughbred, so each of us found a horse to match our skill level. While some of us rafted the Rio Mira (it was rainy season, making this one of the most intense and thrilling rafting trips we've ever had), Byron took my son on a long hike, teaching him how to cut and haul 40 lbs. of bananas on his back, and picking coffee beans which his wife peeled and which the kitchen guys dried on the stove for us to take home with us. Armando took us into the tiny town of Primavera to join the locals in a holiday celebration, where we were given sugarcane moonshine and drafted into the volleyball tournament.
Hacienda Primavera is a hidden gem if you're looking for a remote, beautiful setting and like to hike, ride, raft, and relax at night. The lower altitude makes the weather temperate and the hiking easier. The flora is spectacular. The food is delicious and fresh. Pepe delivers a level of personal attention that is rare, and his insights into life in Ecuador (he lived in the US for many years) are insightful and entertaining. We all agreed this was a perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

This Hacienda has it all! Great service, great food, and so many things to do... or just relax by the pool and enjoy the scenery. The resort is great for people of all ages. We brought our 8 month old daughter along and there were other guests in their 60s and up!

The drive from Quito is not short, but there are so many things to see along the way, including stopping to stand on the equator. On the way back, we also stopped in Otavalo at the market. If you love to bargain over prices, that place is heaven... otherwise, you pay full or over-price, and yet everything is still incredibly cheap. And the finds can be great quality. My Otavalo tablecloths have stood up to washing better than my Crate & Barrel ones!!

We went horseback riding, hiking to waterfalls, and I got to go white water rafting while hubby stayed with the baby :) All the guides are so nice and helpful. You can just feel that everyone there wants to make sure you are happy and having a great time. Knowing that they all care so much made such a difference in the quality of our stay.

The food was excellent. Lunches and dinners are prepared at pretty flexible hours. They usually figure out when you will be done with your morning and afternoon activities and adjust the timing accordingly. Breakfast is whenever you wake up. Make sure you ask for the "Ecuadorian breakfast", which consists of last night's leftovers fried up with rice and an egg. Great energy for your morning hike! All the juices are freshly squeezed and they have a pretty great selection of wines.

Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable, and my husband is very sensitive to this. Each room has it's own bathroom and balcony, and the views are breathtaking.

Our stay at the Hacienda was by far the best we have ever been on... and we have been around the world a bit. You couldn't ask for better views or friendlier staff, and the activities are plentiful. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneBugMom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
30.3 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#10 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
31.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
30.6 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge

Property: Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge
Address: Caserio Primavera, Ibarra 59362, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ibarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hacienda is located three hours Northwest of Quito and one and a half hours Northwest of Otavalo and Ibarra The same family has owned the hacienda for over 90 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Primavera Wilderness Ecolodge Hotel Imbabura Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing