We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
151
46
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
46
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel offers wonderful service spectacular views natural beauty family or friends heated pool three nights beautiful place delicious food ivan world sauna dryer conditioner hike quito climate
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 208 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017

This is an amazing property located 5km up in the mountain above Ibarra. The views from the rooms are gorgeous, the pool and the restaurant are absolutely fabulous. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. We loved the sitting area with views of the city and the volcanoes. The staff was very nice and (even though we didn’t speak much Spanish) was trying to cater to our every need and answer every question. We also met the owners who are some of the nicest people – Ivan speaks excellent English and his father speaks Russian so we were able to have a nice conversation and got some terrific recommendations about things to do in the area. They need a little heads up if you want to use the sauna and the pool as they need time to heat them up but it’s never a problem. Since the pool is heated, the water temp is comfortable even later in the evening. If you have time in the area and you catch a nice and clear day, drive 13km up on the road – it will take you to a place where you can hike a small hill and have amazing views of all the volcanoes, all the way to Cotopaxi and beyond (ask Ivan for directions). Our only regret was that we didn’t stay here longer.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DarkGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

que hermosa vista desde la estelita, el hotel es super lindo muy acogedor tiene lindas habitaciones y muy buena comida. it is very pretty and comfy, the food is very good and the view is awesome. Although the road is not in good shape, when you get to La Estelita it is worth it.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank isabellao563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

We were hoping for beautiful views of the city, the sunset, and city lights, but the clouds moved in and created a different atmosphere, egually spectacular and exciting. Our waiter was great, and we really enjoyed all our menu selections. The whipped cream for our coffee was a fun final touch to a perfect enjoyable evening and dining experience. We highly recommend La Estelita for a wonderful dining experience, or for a restful resort stay with pool and views. We will definitely return on a day when the sun is shining to enjoy the spectacular views from this Primo location.

Room tip: The rooms looking out to the West have spectacular views
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WJD_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Amazing! Excellent place!
If you want to have a romantic getaway at third of the price of Europe, this is the place.
The views are to die for.
And the service is just wonderful.
We couldn't ask for more.
Request suite 5 "Estelita" and dont miss the paragliding experience.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank miamor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I'm going to be brutally honest...La Estelita is hard to find, hard to get to and hard to navigate. BUT...if you do make the effort, you will be so glad you did. First of all, the hotel is perched high on a mountain top and the road to get to it is not the easiest to navigate as it is rocky and steep and not always marked so well. Additionally, the hotel and restaurant are on various levels so there are lots of steps to navigate and the air is very thin. So what makes this hotel so great? Simply one of the best views in the world.

We arrived just as the sun was starting to go down. You don't want to arrive after dark so plan accordingly. As we had reservations for dinner, the receptionist told us we should eat first before checking into our room so we could enjoy the sunset. We were seated at a small table in a bay window nook which had the most incredible views of the city below and volcanoes surrounding it. It was breath-taking to see the sun set and the lights come on so far below. It was truly one of the most fantastic nighttime views I have ever seen and we live in LA where the night lights can be pretty amazing.

Dinner at the restaurant was very good. We had steak and potatoes and two really good desserts. If you're staying here, plan to eat at the restaurant because you're not going to want to go down the hill to eat once you've gotten here.

The rooms are all designed with a cabin motif i.e. lots of wood. All very setting appropriate. Our suite had a fireplace in the living area (which no one offered to light for us). I guess if we wanted it lit, we should have asked. The bedroom was upstairs in a loft. The rooms were perfectly fine but you're not staying here for the rooms but rather the view.

We woke early and were greeted by the most incredible view of the city below complete with parasailers off in the distance. It was early and the hotel didn't seem very busy so we decided to try out the fantastic infinity pool. Again, a beautiful view from the pool.

After our swim, we had a very pleasant breakfast in the restaurant while taking in even more views.

I truly loved this little hotel perched so high on the mountain top and I've stayed at some of the top hotels in world. If you're in the area and need a place to stay, by all means make the effort to get to the top of the mountain, you'll be so glad you did!!!!

Room tip: High and on the end
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews