We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel and restaurant”
Review of La Estelita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Estelita
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Certificate of Excellence
K
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Amazing hotel and restaurant

We stayed in La Estelita two nights in the presidential suite and very positively surprised. The hotel is amazing; the room was huge with a fire place and a whirlpool with a perfect view to the city and the lake. The staff was very friendly and helped with every small request, such as preparing a sauna just for us or making fire in room. The breakfast was very good as well, every day freshly pressed juice on choice. We also ate lunch in the restaurant with fantastic view. For the lunch they always have cheap (10$-12$) very good menus (3 courses). All in all, the hotel is one of the best ones, we have ever been in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwetikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful review. We do our best in keeping the level of confort and service really high, so you can have a wonderful time staying with us.

We really appreciate the visit.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
59
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Up up up and up....up the mountain we go! Once there...in total awe...feeling on top of the world!

My husband found La Estelita online while trip planning. We were totally intrigued by the beautiful photos and outstanding reviews (not to mention the more than reasonable rates!)...and decided to book it for the night of our daughter's 22nd birthday. We were totally blown away with the beauty of this spot, the luxurious comfort of the accomodation, the warm hospitality of the host family, and the delicious meals we enjoyed in the dining room. The views were indescribable, and Carlos, Jasmina and Ivan did the utmost to ensure that Klarita's birthday was extra special. The conversations, the exceptional, personalized service and the delectable food ensured that our stay will be a lifelong memory!

We, too, stayed in the suite, detailed in other reviews, and we would highly recommend it. Taking in the moonlit night view of the lights of Ibarra, with clouds floating by, I felt as though I was in a plane, coming in for a landing. It is truly spectacular. We loved La Estelita so much that we extended our stay....and we definitely plan on returning on our next trip to Ecuador!!!

I would recommend this place to anyone. It is definitely a 5 star plus...by international standards. It is luxurious yet rustic....upscale yet unpretentious. La Estelita is WELL WORTH the 20 minute drive skyward....if you are in the area, DO NOT MISS IT!!!! .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for such beautiful review. We loved having you here with us, and we thank you for choosing us to spend Clarita's birthday. As i told you personally, we try our best to make our guests feel more comfortable, this is why we choose a more personalized service, and this outcomes as becoming friends. We really hope you come back again, i believe it is in Clarita's plans to come back by next year, we hope she visits us.

Thank you again for visit us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is simply amazing....the scenery, the view, the decor, the service...I have not been in Quito to any place like this...I recommend it to anyone...and if in the mood of some romance...just perfect...very nice food! Service is a bit slow, but it probably has to do with the fact that everything is made from scratch.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tariq W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like home, adding a little bit of peace and tranquility to their lives.

As you said in the review, our plates are prepared from scratch, to ensure the quality and unbeatable taste of our food.

We really hope to see you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I knew it would be fantastic; I read the reviews and had to experience the hospitality. What an amazing place. Sure the road is a bit rough but it is well worth the ride up and down.

Dinner was outstanding, the view spectacular and the charm and decor of the facilities was wonderful and a must see. The most fantastic part of the entire trip to Ecuador was getting to spend time with, and get to know the owners. Hugo, Jasmine, Carlos and even little Carlita were fascinating and remarkable.

If your plans include Imbabura province, you must stay or at least dine with this amazing family and enjoy what they have created.

Room Tip: Best to try the Suite! Extremely nice and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDCHGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are really glad you liked our place, and we hope you visit us again. The road is being worked on, so maybe next time you visit us, the ride will be more pleasant for you. Thank you for getting to know us, and thank you for your visit.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I think the only way to describe this place is "mind blowing"!

The views are breathtaking and I spend most of our stay taking pictures. I would highly recommend the 'suite Estelita'. It has a fireplace which the staff kindly comes in and lights for you, a jacuzzi and being a corner room you get to admire the city of Ibarra as well as the the lake Yahuarcocha.

It's a family run resort with a welcoming atmosphere; all members of staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely delicious. And don't forget to order a Jugo(freshly squeezed juice) of Mora or Guanavana..... Utterly delicious.

I cannot praise this place enough and cannot wait to be back in Ecuador for a longer stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this amazing review. We hope you had an amazing experience, as we do everyday living in this wonderful place. Please make sure next time you visit us, also try our Jugo de Tomate de Arbol, thats a fruit maybe you haven't tried.

Thank You again for this review, and me will be waiting next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even thought I read many review complaning about the acces road to this beautiful hotel, It is far from true, I got there in a very low automobile in a very rainy day and it wasnt so hard as I thought. The first thing that would cross your mind If you ever been before in Ibarra is "Why you havent seen it before when it is almost impossible to miss seen it from everywhere in Ibarra?" The prices are very affordable around $35 per person, the food is not overpriced so you can relax at the restaurant with a hot chocolate (I truly recomment ) in the afternoon and have a romantic dinner with a good bottle of wine (again half price that in other hotels in Ibarra)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCS2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for this review. It is true about the road, although it is not perfect, it is not a bad road to get to us. We are working really hard on it, and we really hope to get it fixed by 2014.

Besides the bottle of wine, and the hot chocolate, next time you visit us, we recommend our exquisite Sangría.

Than you again for the review, and we hope to see you again.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place was absolutely amazing! The best time of day to go up is right before sunset (around 5pm everyday).

After a winding, climbing road that you aren't sure is ever going to end, you finally stumble upon the beautiful entrance of La Estelita. And you realize it was well worth the wait. With it's eucalyptus tree-lined driveway with breathtaking views from either side, you drive down into the parking-lot and you can't get your seat-belt off quick enough to get out of the car and start taking pictures. The first thing you see is a kidney shaped infinity pool that perfectly reflects the gorgeous sunset settling in between the valley of Imbabura and Cotacachi mountains. In this moment you realize this is really someplace very special.

After a 15-minute photo shoot (it's so hard to stop, especially at this time of day because the whole scene keeps changing into a beautiful display of lights as you watch the city of Ibarra below you slowly begin to shine) you follow the stone steps up to the restaurant.The cuisine at the restaurant is really something special in it's own right, but couple it with the amazing view through the huge picture windows and you have a romantic dinner you will never forget.

I recommend the crepes, especially the chicken crepe (crepe de pollo) and the nutty dessert crepe (crepe de nueces). They are both wonderfully delicious!

A beautiful place for any kind of special event or nice dinner with someone special or with good friends. Also the rooms looked amazing too, and not outlandishly priced either. All the taxi drivers know how to get up to the Arcangel statue, you just have to tell them it's about 5 mins past the statue if they are unfamiliar with the hotel itself. Make sure you get their phone number so they can come back and get you, as transportation going back down the mountain could be harder to come by, although I'm sure arrangements can be made through the hotel itself if you don't want to do it yourself.

Although I've never come here for the hotel part, just the restaurant, the owner let us take a glimpse of the rooms for future reference, and they were beautiful too! I would imagine staying here would be an amazing experience, if slightly difficult for transportation if you didn't have your own car. It's a bit of a hike up the hill.

I've been here twice so far and I plan on making this a family tradition and definitely a place I take guests who come to visit me. It will give them a whole other look at Ecuador!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisiFuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this beautiful review. As i read the letters, i imagined every single detail you told in the review. It is true that La Estelita is a very quiet and romantic place, especially at 17:00pm - 18:00pm. Next time you come back, please try the Fruit Crepe (Crepe de Frutas).

Thank you for including us in a family tradition, that's what makes La Estelita a special place.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
4.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.0 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
16.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estelita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estelita

Property: La Estelita
Address: Km. 5 Via Yuracrucito, a 3 Km. del Arcangel, Ibarra 100150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Estelita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing