We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see to believe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estelita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Estelita
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Certificate of Excellence
Hillside, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see to believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

In all my trips to Ecuador, I have honestly never seen a place quite like this. The ride up is a bit more than bumpy, but I heard that the road is on the way to be paved like much of the infrastructure in Ecuador. It's almost hard to describe the sense of tranquility and peace you experience the moment you set foot at La Estelita. The views are breathtaking. Everywhere you look, it's gorgeous. It is truly a feast for the eyes and soul. I have been there a few times and had the pleasure of trying the food. The food was exquisite! The flavors were so sophisticated and so delicious. It truly caters to all tastes. It was an unexpected treat. The people were amazing and so nice. It adds to the experience and makes this place so much more of a delight. I could go on and on about all the fantastic things about La Estelita, but this is a place you need to see for yourself!
If you are traveling to Ecuador, go to Ibarra, spend a few days at La Estelita and you can count on for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate this review. It is true that we are working on paving the road. It will be ready by 2014. It is also true about the peace and tranquility La Estelita offers. All of our guests say the same thing, and describe it as the Most quiet and Romantic place in Ibarra.

We really hope to see you again, and we thank you again for this beautiful review.

Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
58
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Estelita is a rural hotel in the city of Ibarra (Ecuador), it is half way of the Yuracrucito mountain, facing the impressive "Taita Imbabura", a 4480 km high volcano, on the left ... and the Yaguarcocha (lake) on the right. I´ve been lodge in a room with these gorgeous views, from which it is possible to watch the dawn, incredible experience!
The Estelita offers a high quality restaurant service, and during my stay appeared, out of the blue, the President of Ecuador (Rafael Correa) who came to have lunch after a govermental meeting. It seemed that he also was nicely surprised by the quality and professionalism of this family business near to the Half World line.

Room Tip: If you come with your couple and it is availabie, I suggest to choose the room with two different st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you could enjoy all the beautiful views La Estelita has to offer, and even more if you mixed it up with the sun set. We are pleased you found La Estelita relaxing, as we try our best to make you feel that way.

We hope you visit us again!

Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

While travelling through Ecuador, this enchanted land, I was lucky enough to find myself in a real Paradise. When I first saw La Estelita, I felt like in Heaven – above the clouds, among the ancient volcanoes, picturesque valleys & beautiful Yahuarcocha Lake. It’s a very peaceful & serene place with the breathtaking views. But even more amazing makes it its people – lovely Hosts & friendly personnel, not mentioning the great Chef of La Estelita restaurant, whose cuisine will make your mouth water! All together they will make you feel at home… So once in Ibarra, Ecuador, don’t hesitate to stay for a couple of days at La Estelita, where I’m sure you’ll leave a piece of your heart forever.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable & cozy, with great views & rustic design. But still I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really happy you liked our home. We try our best so our guests find in us a second home, surrounded by nature, tranquility and peace. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful views, and even more glad that you are referring to La Estelita as a paradise.

Thank You so much!! We really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The view is awesome, godo rooms, great good (quantity & quality) no typicall food, missed that...
Great staff,highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pancho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us, we work really hard to make you feel relaxed in a peaceful environment. We are also glad you enjoyed our delicious food.

Please come visit us again!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I recently returned from a week stay at this lovely hotel high in the Andes mountains.I travelled to Ecuador with my World Vets volunteer group.We were in Ibarra to perform a large scale spay/neuter clinic and this hotel was an excellent choice for our team. It is a very quiet piece of property,almost at the top of a mountain. Our rooms were beautiful with fantastic views of the city of Ibarra and surrounding mountains! There is a restaurant just across from the hotel rooms. Most days we didn't return until after 10:00 pm and Carlos always made sure the restaurant was open and we got a hot meal. I liked the layout of this hotel because we were in a large group and we were able to have 4 people per room (dorm style) We had plenty of hot water, and also daily maid service.I must admit that it did take a while to get used to driving to and from town from the hotel. Since it is way up high on the mountain, the drive to town takes about 20 minutes on a good day. Late at night there is zero visability due to heavy cloud cover so driving can be a wee bit scarey. After a week or so we all got used to it, and it did not detract from the sheer beauty of this hotel. I hope if I return to Ibarra with my World Vets team we are able to stay here again !!

Room Tip: All rooms on the top floor have good 180 degree views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really enjoyed having you staying with us. Thank you for the review, we are glad you experienced the peace and relaxation we want our guests to feel.

We are currently waiting for another team of your organization that's coming to us this Thursday Nov 14th. We hope this team will like our place as did yours.

Thank you so much!!

P.S Our dog MAX says hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here with a large medical team working in a local village - the hotel is delightful and the scenery is spectacular. The owners and staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The food in the restaurant is good, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and overlook the town in the valley below.
Now for the drawback! An arduous trip up a steep, narrow and winding mountain road is necessary to get here. This would make it difficult to use this hotel as a base for day trips. On the other hand, as a honeymoon hotel for newlyweds desiring privacy, isolation and romantic nights, it would be superb.
Be sure and bring a dog biscuit for the sweet German Shepherd who guards the front yard!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the views seen from La Estelita. It is not something you see everyday. As for the road, we are currently working really hard to transform it to a paved road, so next time you visit us, it will be a pleasant road.

Thank you again for this wonderful review, and we will be waiting for you.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our flight school Icaro Flight Academy organized a fly-in in Ibarra as has become tradition for the last couple of years. This year the fly-in was to take place throughout the entire weekend for which we needed a hotel to stay in.

La Estelita was chosen due to the amount of people who formed part of this event (14).

The hotel offers a spectacular and breathtaking view of Ibarra and its surroundings. This view is especially beautiful during the morning when the sun illuminates the entire city and you won’t have a “backlit” view. From here you can see the Imbabura volcano, Ibarra, and Yaharcocha Lake, not to mention the surrounding valleys, lakes, and volcanoes which make the Imbabura province so beautiful.

This is a place where you can spend your honeymoon or a peaceful weekend as it is silent and the only noise you hear is the wind, or the birds. You can enjoy a nice walk through its gardens and surrounding forest. La Estelita is a bit distant from Ibarra (a 20 minute drive), and is far up in the mountain, so this place will guarantee a peaceful stay.

To get here you will definitely need a car, preferably an SUV as the road which leads to this hotel is partly paved, partly a stone road, and from one point on, a dirt road. If it is raining, or if the road is wet, going up this road will become an ordeal. We had to push our friend’s Peugeot 206 through one part, as there was a lot of mud and the car got stuck. Also, you will need a car because the prices the cab drivers charge to go up there is absurd (if not insulting).

However, once you are up there the effort you made going up will be compensated. The hotel is big and spacious, not too crowded, and to get from one place to the other is an experience. The front desk, main lounge and restaurant for example are in one building, and the rooms are yards away at another level of the mountain. You have quite a distance to walk from the front desk to the rooms, which is nice if you don’t have a lot of luggage or if it isn’t raining.

Even though the hotel is fairly new it conserves a rustic style similar to those of the Spanish colonial haciendas, typical of the Andean highlands but with new and modern materials. The hotel definitely spells out “Ecuadorian Highlands” that when you see it which subliminally gives you an idea of coziness and comfort. Though the edifications are big, it is not obtrusive and blends in with the landscape.

The rooms are huge and very cozy. They can accommodate a great number of people and the rooms are divided in different parts. If you are not a light traveler the space in the rooms is generous for your luggage. The rooms are also blessed with the view of the city. Rooms are not connected per se, but on the second floor you have some sort of lounge or mini lobby, which connects some rooms.

The only terrible thing about the rooms is that they lack outlets which would come in handy to charge your cell phone and camera batteries. For the price and age of the hotel, one would expect something this basic. Another thing that would help the rooms be perfect would be a thicker curtain to avoid the sunlight hitting your eyes come morning.

The bathrooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean which go with the type of room you are paying for. The bathroom is well designed so you won’t have water spilling on the floor. The amenities are generous and you have plenty of towels. Hot water takes some time to reach you, but once it does it will be a nice contrast to the highland cold. A fan to extract the fog could be useful too.

Service was excellent considering we arrived late at night, and that we were noisy and a bit cranky from the trip up to the hotel. At morning service was a bit slow for breakfast, but were waited with a smile and good attitude. In general we all felt great at the hotel.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool on a ledge that overlooks the city. This definitely gives the hotel great atmosphere and character. The hotel also has numerous gardens, places to sit down and read, and a small lake on the lower part with ducks. Private parking and the fact that the hotel gets locked down at night gives you peace of mind.

In general this is a great place to stay at if you are in Ibarra and want to get away. If your visit to the region is more aimed for tourism and sightseeing perhaps a different place less remote would be more ideal, but if you are a local seeking peace, comfort, relaxation, and want to get away from your work and the city this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandrorota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan J, Propietario at La Estelita, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly value your review. We have come a long way since 2011 (sorry for this response to have taken so long), and since it has been almost 3 years, we have learned a lot. As you said, we were a new hotel, without experience, but that has changed.

As of the taxis from the city, we have come to terms with a company, which charges only $5 from the city to us. We are also working really hard on transforming the dirt road into a paved road. That should be complete by 2014.

We will be taking serious consideration on the bathroom fogging issues, as well as the curtains. The reason our windows and curtains are designed that way, its because we don't want our guest to miss our on the beautiful morning light La Estelita has to offer.

Rest assure that next time you visit us, you will encounter the same friendly faces, with an improved service and a better road.

Thank You for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibarra hotels
4.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.0 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostal Fevilamir
Hostal Fevilamir
#15 of 15 in Ibarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estelita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estelita

Property: La Estelita
Address: Km. 5 Via Yuracrucito, a 3 Km. del Arcangel, Ibarra 100150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Estelita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing