We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot”
Review of Hotel Monte Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monte Selva
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good spot”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

very good place, we stayed in rooms near the pool and spa in single and double rooms all very clean.
the restaurant very good, especially the "buffet" excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fienc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    26
    8
    11
See reviews for
36
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I am really surprised at the not so good reviews of this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the cabins (202) and it was soooo beautiful and romantic! We had the most amazing view of the city---I doubt there is a better view anywhere in Banos--and the room was spotless and spacious. The staff was super helpful. We used the spa facilities and those were great too. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuregirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel on a tour - it was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Drains in bathroom smelt awful, the toilet blocked, the room had a dirty, grubby feel, walls had chipped paint and dark and dingy, breakfast was mediocre. Would never recommend this hotel. The spa pools were mostly empty, those that were filled had freezing cold water and the sauna was luke warm.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenzie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banos hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
413 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We chose this place due to the “Spa Facilities”, however only use midweek as soon as the water is changed. The same with the public “curative termas” Virgen and Salado hundreds of people and children get in these cement pools that are not chlorinated. The rooms here are very mediocre and need a lot of work. Towels are old but clean as well as the sheets. The rooms need to be cleaned and updated as well as the bathrooms. The cabins are a little better but up on a hill. After the rafting and hiking our muscles were hurting too much to go up and down. The restaurant has a simple menu, the grill trout was good. Breakfast is pretty basic. The rooms in Volcano Hotel were much better for the same $64.00 price for a double, but had no pool or other “Spa” facilities. But as dirty as these facilities are, might as well. We also checked the Marquesa and it was a basic hostel with no facilities. Our guide recommended Stay in Touch for a massage, the place was terrible and the massage mediocre at best. The lady at the hotel was better, but not great either. Marians for dinner was awful, we ate much better at the Suizo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Having read someone's comment that the Monte Selva resembled a youth hostel I was a little unexcited when we checked in. However, the cabana they gave us was excellent - up in the hills with a great view and plenty of chairs as well as a comfy double bed. The spa was switched on to begin with as the hotel was pretty busy, which meant that the thermal pool, jacuzzi and sauna were all piping hot...unfortunately this wasn't the case when the large group left. A shame as we'd built our hopes up after a long walk in the hills. We enjoyed our stay and would have stayed longer had Tungurahua not erupted again! It would have been nice if the hotel staff had given us some information about this rather than having to rely on a lady in a coffee shop in town.

Helpful?
Thank LexR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I had an amazing experience. I was travelling with a couple of friends, and the motel was a little more than we wanted to spend. But, we did it anyway and we were not dissapointed! Inside, there are several pools. There was a arctic plunge pool, a few regular bubbly pools and also a very hot pool. Also inside there was a sauna and steam room. Outside, there is a beautiful pool with a little slide, but too cold for my blood! With the room came a free breakfast, and it was very good! In that same resturant, they serve a fantastic dinner. The rooms are nice and the motel just has a very friendly atmosphere!

  • Liked — The location and the different thermal pools
  • Disliked — That they wouldn't exchange large bills for me
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Monte Selva was recommended to us by another hotel operator. That should have been a give-away. The nightly rate was suppose to be $25. When we got there we were told it was $64 a night. Don't let the outside garden fool you. It was late and we were too tired to track down another hotel. The rooms look like your standard dorm rooms. Cement walls with faded paint. Ceiling light fixture holding on by a thread. Toilet flushing ability variable. Furnishings old and one student type chair and small bedside table. The one saving grace was a number of the staff, in particular Glory, tried to be very helpful. If you go to Banos pay the $64 and stay at a nicer hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank hikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#20 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Selva

Property: Hotel Monte Selva
Address: Thomas Halflants y Juan Montalvo, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1993 a family resting place in a natural setting at the foot of the mountain Tungurahua. 5 acres of gardens, cabins, rooms, suites and spa with several pools, safe and natural to enjoy, rest and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Monte Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing