We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hostel, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantas & Blanco's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent hostel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Key points:
-a little far from the bus station, but otherwise located near lots of attractions, with a short walk to the famous hot water springs and local indoor soccer gymnasium (where you can watch a game).
-The rooftop terrace is clearly a selling point. Beautiful views, mostly covered from rain, with basic kitchen materials to cook for yourselve
-The clientele is, as expected, young white backpackers.
-The rooms are bare-bones but fine. Ours had 2 beds and plenty of storage for stuff. We got one facing the street rather than the pretty views but it was fine.
-Internet room was well used; you may have to wait a bit.
-Massages up the street from the hostel are OUTRAGEOUSLY cheap and good!
-Horsebackriding in the area is cheap and very strenuous - we were galloping on back trails and hiking up to waterfalls!

Overally, I'd recommend this hostel for young people interested in meeting others and who don't plan to be in their rooms much at all. Banos is lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fellowtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    74
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
7
54
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooftop is incredible with a view of the town and a waterfall. There are chairs and tables for reading and relaxing. The hostel provides many amenities including complimentary DVD rentals and fresh towels each day. There's also a refrigerator stocked with beer and drinks that you can keep a running tab on. One of my favorite parts was the strong hot showers. The indoor cafe area on the rooftop has a kitchen that can be used to prepare your own food. The walls aren't that thick so noise will filter in from outside. We stayed in a three person room on the first floor and they put shutters down at night which doesn't allow any light in during the morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JQH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean rooms that are serviced every day, amazing views of banos and the surrounding mountains from the roof, and centrally located. Worth every penny. I don't think you could get a better view from anywhere else in the city!

The indoor portion of the rooftop is where you can use the kitchen and where they serve breakfast. There is beer for sale there, but I do wish they had more in the way of drinks and food through the day (although I think the nature of Banos is that people are usually out on tours and adventures during the day). They have self serve tea and coffee all day for $1.50 but the water was always cold and the coffee is the instant kind, so I quickly learned not to bother.

Room Tip: After being shown a room on the bottom floor, my friends and I opted for a private on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The bed was full size and seriously solid, just like the floor! Pillows and blankets come with the scent of an aged male. The cacophonous sounds of the Baños nightlife hammered through the streets up to our room until late in the evening. There is no TV to drown out the noise, but that's okay because they offered old videos found at the front desk. Important hint about the videos: first go to the unique video selection map found on the second floor by the Internet room; select and communicate your video number to the person at the front desk on the bottom floor. Hint to find the too thin sheet-like towels: see closet top shelf. Hint to find mini-postage sized sink: beside toilet that does flush. There is a great hot, hot shower with a window that did not close. Hint to find hairdryer: there is none; but really if you ask they think you are a silly person to want dry hair in a place that rains all the time. The shower produced a lot of water on to floor with nowhere to go! The Internet room is as most found in Baños but this one is special as it has a bathroom that many people use, and every noise is heard, every smell from their experience is also available! There is a sweet roof garden café, with flowers to behold! and WIFI! It is nice to have WIFI available in a place that has super loud music so if you need to work, think, digest your food, or talk to the person you are with that is just not possible. That super breed of very single, young international types are found busy with their smart phones. They don’t need to talk or eat or think because they live in ~ radio waves. It must have been too early for the café staff, the waitress had a strange attitude, like I’m not really here, don’t bother me. Eventually we did get fed because thankfully the cook clearly was there and wanted to work. Bread was plentiful. The coffee was very good. Little English is spoken at the front desk if that matters. Remember they offer videos for free!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sisterdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in every type of room there- private with three people, shared bathroom/private room, and dorm-style room. All of the rooms were clean, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms had hot water and were clean as well. The best part, as many people have probably said, is the terrace. It has a nice view, you can be inside or outside, the breakfast is good, and you can serve yourself a beer or tea when you please. Last time I stayed in the dorm room it was about $8 per person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetendorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Plantas y Blanco is a really decent hostel with an awesome sundeck. It is clean as (service daily), has a comunal kitchen, board games, dvds, internet (not only wifi) etc all FOR FREE. What makes the big difference though is the staff: Extremely friendly and helpful with anything - always with a smile: printing documents for us, using the shower & other facilities until late at night AFTER checking out and more... and all was offered from their side! And the prices are fair too. There's not one thing to complain about!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
othello20, Owner at Plantas & Blanco's Hostel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi,
We are so greatfull for your comentary,,,,, we try to help the traveller to feel confortable, secure and in a friendly atmosphere....
We hope you to see again....
Thank you again,
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My boyfriend stayed in this hostel with a friend during his visit to Banos last year, so I heard many good things about it before even going there. When he and I finally arrived in Banos and walked into the hostel, I could immediately see why it appealed to him. Plantas y Blanco is so, so, so, so cute!

Even though we arrived without reservations and spoke little Spanish, the receptionist was very kind and accommodating. She showed us two rooms, and we ultimately ended up picking a room on the topmost floor near the balcony that looks out over Cafe Ali Cumba. I believe our room only costed $13 per night--and for the spacious, lovely room we received, it was almost like we were stealing it. A nice addition to our room aside from the comfortable bed and table and chairs was the vine that wrapped around the room. The decorations were also very nice. We immediately felt at home, and what we also liked about the place was how safe and secure it was.

But perhaps the best thing about Plants and White Hostel is how very beautiful the views are from the rooftop terrace. It's absolutely gorgeous! Please do yourself a favor: stay here, make lots of beautiful memories, and enjoy the rooftop.

The rooftop truly is one of the "bonuses" that comes with staying in this hostel. It's open for you to go and hang out there at any time. There's no one behind the counter in the afternoons, but they still make tea and other drinks available for you (all you have to do is just write your name down so they can put it on your hotel bill). Oh, and who could forget the board games they have for all to share? You can sit indoors or outdoors, and there's plenty of chairs to relax. I sincerely enjoyed playing chess, reading, and sunbathing while on the roof, surrounded by glorious mountains. Incredible.

I would also use the word "incredible" to describe the breakfast offered at Plantas y Blanco. One morning I had a delicious cheese omelet, and the next morning I had some delicious scrambled eggs. One of the best things about the breakfast is the freshly squeezed juice and the homemade breads. They certainly give you an array of breads to compliment the breakfast order of your choice, and you can no doubt tell that the breads are freshly baked. I can't recommend eating breakfast here enough (plus, it's on the rooftop!).

Other cool things about the hostel: they offer unique baths (I didn't get one, but they sounded really neat) and computers for you to use the Internet (for free). There is also a bakery right outside the hostel so if you liked those breakfast breads as much as I did, you can go support the talented "Banos bakers."

I commend the owners and staff of Plantas y Blanco for operating a gorgeous and affordable place in Banos for guests to stay. I hope they continue to keep up the excellent service because they definitely met my expectations in every way possible. Now I finally know what my boyfriend loved so much about this place! This means that you have to go see for yourself what WE love about this place! (And have fun on the rooftop!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPsRECs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
othello20, Owner at Plantas & Blanco's Hostel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank so much for your opinion....really it was a pleasure to have received you in our hostel!
You apreciate every service we try to offer .... to make happy every traveller...to feel at home!
Thank you again and we hope see you again....
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#23 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.1 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantas & Blanco's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantas & Blanco's Hostel

Property: Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Address: 12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantas & Blanco's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantas y Blanco has been one of the most popular hostels in Baños. That is because we really care in having a neat place that offers everything the traveller could need. Rooftop cafeteria with one of the best breakfasts and view in town, drinks, tea and coffee self service, table games, very recomended healthy steam bath, bakery, classic films available, book exchange, laundry, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Plantas & Blanco's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plants And White Hostel (Hostal Plantas y Blanco) Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing