We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mejor hospedaje en baños”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Ranked #14 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Shunan, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mejor hospedaje en baños”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

At first, one of our friends recommended us this hostel and it was really nice stay, so we had used this place many times when we had to stop at Baños. It is a complex composed of three houses and any of them were clean good tasted. they let us use a clean equipped kitchen, refrigerator, fire place and free internet. there were some backpackers, but in our case, it was not problem since they turned off at 22:00. Staff were friendly and helpfull. breakfast at the terrace was good especially their home made bread and cookie sold at first floor. hot shower was good but shorted at 10:00 morning. Worth to stay for $12,00

Room Tip: rooms on the house called "SantaCruz" is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masomi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    76
    21
    13
    17
See reviews for
7
61
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a room on the level just under the rooftop terrace. Luckily we were able to get wifi in our room. Unluckily our window faced a balcony where late teen/early 20s backpackers would congregate for full volume conversations once the rooftop terrace was closed - massively inconsiderate and annoying. This was by far the predominant age group of backpackers when we stayed there. The private room had a comfy bed and decent shower. It got cleaned daily. The rooftop terrace is a really nice place to be and the breakfasts are quite good. If you like decent coffee, try Cafe Ali Cumba across the road or Arte Cafe y Te (both have wifi). The hostel is well located to shops, restaurants and tour/equipment hire companies. I'd probably choose a place off the Lonely Planet Guide trail if I went back to Banos.

Room Tip: More likely to get wifi in your room on the top level (just below the rooftop terrace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was very impressed with this place - while it is a hostel, our room felt more like a simple hotel room. Very clean and comfortable, not too much outside noise. The free Wifi and the awesome breakfasts (not included) in their beautiful rooftop cafe were a real perk too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariab327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was a little worried about staying here based on some of the reviews below, but a friend recommended it to me and I enjoyed my stay - no problems whatsoever. The rooftop terrace is beautiful, the bathrooms are clean. The staff front desk and restaurant staff aren't overly friendly, but the cleaning staff seem really sweet. They make your bed EVERY SINGLE DAY! The mattresses seem a bit old, but are comfortable enough. I enjoyed myself and would stay here again.

PS - the homemade bread at breakfast is incredible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analyze37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed here in January, it was a great experience and I wouldn't of wanted to stay anywhere else, it's in a great location but not too loud at night, there are loads of things to do in banos and it's literally a minute walk from here. The kitchen facilities are such a bonus and we enjoyed cooking and also the self service fridge which is a great idea. The rooms were perfect, and just generally an astonishing place with friendly staff. Thankyou!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackdanielcollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really great hostel, atmosphere was really friendly, made lots of friends. The room we had was a twin bunk with shared bathroom, you'd hardly have known it was shared though. The dorm rooms were only $5, ours was $7 as the dorms were all taken. Great self service system to get your own beers and drinks out the fridge, and a grat cooking area with loads of different appliances and spices with other condiments coming free. There are 3 different sites on the same block for this hostel so don't be confused like we were if you ask for a room at reception and you get taken further down the road. We had friends at the other parts of the hostel and it all looked really professional for the price. Breakfast was great, not free but there's loads of choice, try the pancakes. The terrace you eat breakfast on gives amazing views. Ideally situated, opposite a laundrette, and a block away from just a few of the hundred little shops offering tours. Would highly recommend, we stayed 4 nights for about $40 including a breakfast one morning and beers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT PLEASANT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I traveled here about a week ago with some other American students from the university that we attend in Quito. We were really pleased with the place, with comfy rooms, a nice atmosphere and everything... until on Saturday afternoon, after returning from a day-long adventure excursion (that the hostel recommended to us!), one of the students in my room noticed that she had $10 go missing from our hotel room. She searched for about 10 minutes, but after that, she was pretty sure it was gone, as she had specifically set it aside that morning, and we all watched her do it. It never showed up later, neither in the hotel room nor in her things. Later that evening, we caught wind that another student from our group, in a different room on a different floor, had $20 go missing from his hotel room. It was suspected that since the hostel recommended the trip to us and had everyone sign their names who wanted to go -- so they knew how many people to count on, supposedly -- they knew which students were going and therefore were going to be out of their rooms all day. This was especially disappointing, because it seemed like such a nice place up until that point, but when we return to Banos, we will definitely be choosing another hostel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JOCELYNH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel L, Propriétaire at Plantas & Blanco's Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello future guests,
We are a french couple and we own Plantas y Blanco,s Hostel.
Bad publicity trying to push us out of the business is our big concern today after 18 years of being the first ranged hotel in Baños. Some of it was truth, but the problem being resolved, some people with bad intention is following making bad reputation to us.
Please jump all this bad information and come back to our hostel which is still one of the best in town.
Regards, Nathalie and Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 70 in Banos
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantas & Blanco's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantas & Blanco's Hostel

Property: Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Address: 12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantas & Blanco's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantas y Blanco has been one of the most popular hostels in Baños. That is because we really care in having a neat place that offers everything the traveller could need. Rooftop cafeteria with one of the best breakfasts and view in town, drinks, tea and coffee self service, table games, very recomended healthy steam bath, bakery, classic films available, book exchange, laundry, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Plantas & Blanco's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plants And White Hostel (Hostal Plantas y Blanco) Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing