We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Ranked #14 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hostal is not only in a fantastic location and is very affordable for decent rooms. Also, the staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to provide an excellent service. They even went out of their way to return an item to me which I left in their room.
This Hostal, in my opinion, is the best choice for anyone going to Baños.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 218 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place was so disappointing. At first glance it seems great, until you meet the unhelpful staff who are more concerned with sitting on facebook on the “guest” computer and sitting playing cards at the cafe and see serving paying guests as a total inconvenience. There are also signs all over the place about how you have to pay for EVERYTHING, even watching an old dvd on their 1970's television. Great. The place is also horrendously noisy and seems to attract lots of adolescent geeks. I felt like I was staying in a dormitory at summer camp rather than a guest house and had to go out into the corridor on numerous occasions in the middle of the night to tell these kids to button it. They walk up and down the corridors playing music on their phones and use the common areas as pick up grounds. It was just cringe worthy and the staff couldn't care less. I unfortunately had pre-booked 4 nights here and got hardly any sleep my entire stay. Would not recommend to anyone over the age of 16. Awful!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

this place has it all:
great location, super comfortable dorms, free towels and soap service, droms are clean (cleaned daily), amazing rooftop, free computers with internet, great atmosphere.

just like everything about it.
you want to party you can you quiet you can have that too.
met there just good people !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week and we truly enjoyed the views from the rooftop. The rooms are spacious, light and nicely decorated with flowers. The noise from the street tends to leak in quite a lot, but during weekday nights this isn't a problem. The breakfast is really good for a reasonable price and you will enjoy it on the beautiful rooftop!
The cleaners did a good job and we always left our cellphones and computer on the table without any trouble.
They should buy some new towels since the once they had during our stay were old and terrible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hostal is located a very good spot in Banos and offers very good quality for it's price!

The rooms are bright, clean and have a nice view. The rooftop terrace is superb, the evening atmosphere over there is great, and the breakfast (not included in the price, around 3 $) was one of the best we had in Ecuador! We also tried the steam baths on the upper floor and found it a great experience.

We had a very nice and relaxing time at this hostal after a few days in the jungle, and the staff was very friendly. Only negative point is that there was some noice from the street, but if you go to ecuador and you're not a good sleeper, you absolutely need earplugs anyway :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location was what it's all about. Just down the street from the baths, around the corner from tour agencies, spas, and restaurants. Although a little pricier than some options around (El Chimenea), the rooms were decent. Good size. Our window opened on to the street so a little noisy at night. No big problems there though. The rooftop terrace and restaurant are nice. Good inexpensive breakfasts. Sparse Internet, but good hot water. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was the best hostel I stayed at in Ecuador. The name says it all. The walls are white and there are beautiful plants all over. There was an avacado tree outside my bedroom window and the plans at the rooftop cafe were amazing. Staff didn't speak English but made themselves understood. Breakfast was delicious and so much food! I couldn't leave without purchasing some weaving from the man downstairs on the corner. They're beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.3 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 71 in Banos
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal El Recreo
Hostal El Recreo
#9 of 52 in Banos
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantas & Blanco's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantas & Blanco's Hostel

Address: 12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantas & Blanco's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantas y Blanco has been one of the most popular hostels in Baños. That is because we really care in having a neat place that offers everything the traveller could need. Rooftop cafeteria with one of the best breakfasts and view in town, drinks, tea and coffee self service, table games, very recomended healthy steam bath, bakery, classic films available, book exchange, laundry, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Plantas & Blanco's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plants And White Hostel (Hostal Plantas y Blanco) Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing