We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel El Belen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel el Belen

Hotel el Belen
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Belen
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hotel El Belen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel with a friend during out visit to Banos. It was a great hotel and well worth the price. It's located very near the bus terminal and the main attractions in town. I enjoyed the beauty of the inner courtyard with all the potted flowers and bright colours. The staff were super friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very convenient rooms, clean and comfortable, great report quality and price! We stayed 3 days at El Belen and what we have liked the most was the hospitality and great welcome we had. The host is a lovely person, very, vey helpful in every situation. As we had a problem and needed to see the police she accompanied us there with her own car. Like a mother would have done! We felt at home in El Belen and would no doubts stay again at El Belen if we return to Banos.

Ancuta, Brussels, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancuta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Enjoyed our stay very much. Room was bright and very clean. Newer bathroom with hot water. Very accommodating owners and staff was friendly. The day we left the volcano errupted which was straight up outside the front door. Very exciting. Of course the volcano was at least 2 miles up. I loved the courtyard and all the flowers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadielady947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is a fairly average hotel in a nice town. Location wise, it’s pretty good, only a 5 minute walk from the main square, and also very close to the bus station.
The rooms are reasonably sized, with a TV and a large bathroom. However, the walls are paper thin, so conversations can be heard clearly in the next room. There also appears to be a large rooster that lives nearby, who does his best to wake you up as soon as dawn breaks.
The bathrooms are spacious, but the hot water is not particularly warm.
The hotel advertises that it has it’s own gym and Jacuzzi. In reality, there is one weights machine and an empty hot tub in the garage.
The staff are a bit of a mixed bag. The lady that runs the place is very attentive and helpful, though the younger guys that work there do not really seem to care much, and are more interested with trying to sell you a tour.
Wifi is reliable, but a little slow. It’s available throughout most of the rooms, but there are a few blackspots upstairs.
Overall, not a bad place for the price, but there are better places to stay in Banos.

Room Tip: Try not to be next door to the "family room" upstairs. Screaming babies at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We ended up staying 3 nights at this hotel. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were $10-15 per night ($5-8 per person). The room was basic but clean, the bathroom was large, the shower pressure great and temperature stable. Our shower had problems draining but Anita (housekeeper) fixed it very quickly. Unfortunately, we ended up waking up the owners on two nights because the gate was locked and was not buzzing open, but they were very graceful about it. Breakfast was not included but there are plenty of places around to get a cheap and delicious meal. The third floor rooms have a great view of the balcony and the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldCitizen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a great stay at this place. It's convenient, cheap, clean, friendly owner. They hooked us up with a Chiva tour which was HILARIOUS and great. The one thing we found odd was that the windows don't really close. This nice place to stay added to our fun Banos experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed nearly a week in this lovely hostel. Rooms are located around a nice flowered patio. The friendliness of the couple is outstanding. They helped us immediately and generously with the particular problems with our car. Unfortunately on the weekend, the patio was a little noisy due to a big Ecuadorian family stay. Some of the spa features indicated on the website were not in operation, but this fact doesn't matter: the rooms are very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Painted508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
La Petite Auberge
La Petite Auberge
#15 of 28 in Banos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#23 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Donde Ivan
Hotel Donde Ivan
#17 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#18 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#14 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flor de Oriente
Hotel Flor de Oriente
#25 of 28 in Banos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Belen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Belen

Property: Hotel el Belen
Address: Oscar Efren Reyes y Ambato, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel el Belen 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel el Belen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing