We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Manteles
Ranked #1 of 47 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Afton MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When I say fantastic hospitality I don't mean in any way to downplay the lovely lodge, gourmet food or the beautiful setting, only to say, that of them all I found the hospitality most impressive. Fernando, the manager, made our short stay memorable. The personal attention he pays to his guests is most impressive. From cocktails to dinner, to tours of the gardens, this is a spot in which I felt thoroughly at home; a lifestyle to which I would love to become accustomed. It was yet another jewel presented to us by our tour operator, Gate 1. The lodge featured a homey lounge with comfortable furnishings to create an intimate setting for twenty-five for pre dinner cocktails and snacks. There we could enjoy the view from large windows, or examine artifacts gathered from the surrounding area, local artwork, some impressive photography, or simply bask in the warm glow of our surroundings. Our room, in the main lodge, featured a large bed, huge picture window and a small wood stove to drive off the chill of the evening. Fernando and his staff made Hacienda Manteles one of the highlights of our stay in Ecuador.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.
We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    52
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
75
107
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was like staying at someone's beautiful home. In fact, you are staying in someone's beautiful home located in the mountains of banos. The view was amazing. The first impression was a welcome party of awesome friendly dogs that live on the property. The dogs were a lot of fun for me as they are very happy and well-trained animals. The manager Fernando does a great job to make sure everyone was comfortable (as I traveled with a group) and spared no expense to ensure the best time possible for each guest. The food was amazing, drinks were amazing and the people were even more amazing. The service was top-notch. The owner even sat with us for a while to welcome us to his home and his property which was very nice. The people at Hacienda truly want you to feel welcome and they do a great job of this. I would recommend this place to anyone. Awesome people, dogs, location and time. Thank you Fernando!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hacienda Manteles for one night while on a tour, but would have liked to stay longer. Although remote, the setting is beautiful overlooking the Cotopaxi volcano. Both the owner and manager greeted us personally and the manager made sure we were all comfortable and even offered the use of the Hacienda's clothes dryer when my daughter and I found that that our clothes were damp due to our suitcases getting wet during the transfer from our Amazon hotel to the bus.

The rooms varied. Ours in one of the outlying buildings was clean and comfortable and just big enough for the 2 double beds. The bath was modern and we had plenty of hot water.

Since we were there just before New Years, the manager arranged for us to view several traditional Ecuadorian New Years customs which enriched our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Hacienda or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEL67NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities. We are sorry for your inconveniece with your clothes and we´re glad everything got solved.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hacienda Manteles in Banos offers spectacular views to the Cotopaxi volcano and the surrounding park. This Hacienda has been converted into a lovely boutique hotel with converted guest rooms in the main house and separate accommodations in another out building on the grounds. Our cozy little room had a great view of the volcano. One note, the Manteles really is off the beaten path and it’s a 30 minute drive on the main road to get there – better get good directions or you are definitely getting lost.

The owner, Fernando, warmly greeted us when our bus arrived (with his many friendly dogs) and showed us around the beautiful hacienda and grounds including some of the special fruits and vegetables found in the garden. Our, room in the main lodge was very comfortable and the bathroom was small but had a great shower. Dinner in the dining room was delicious and the crepes and fresh fruit for breakfast were also delicious. Fernando gave us very personal service and he is very proud of his hotel and it really shows. There are some local artifacts on the hotel walls that are 500+ years old.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.
We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here on our trip with a tour company. The property was beautiful with great views of the surrounding countryside; the suites have giant picture windows that allow for great viewing of the nearby volcano. We were served a tasty pre dinner snack and a wonderful dinner with plenty of options for all preferences; it was one of the best meals we had in Ecuador! We also got a tour of the farm, accompanied by the very friendly dogs! They only have wifi in the common area in the main house, and its' spotty, but that's not necessary when you have great company! We had one minor mishap during our stay, in the morning, we were looking forward to a shower in the wonderful accommodations; however, one of our other tour group members got up early and her shower handle broke and she flooded her room with all the hot water the property had! So we had to pass on a shower that day as the water was ICE cold! We only stayed one night which was too short; but it was a great way to end our trip in Ecuador.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We apologize for this water incident. Unfortunately we had a situation with another room and this caused this inconvenience.

We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Banos, Ecuador and we had the luxury of staying at this charming property. This hotel has stunning views of the Tungurahua Volcano and let me tell you, they are MAGNIFICENT views. When we first arrived we were greeted by Fernando, three very friendly dogs and a cute puppy. This did not look like a hotel. It was indeed a home. Fernando checked us in and offered us some wonderful refreshments before they showed us to our room. Now I have to say, that some rooms are better than others. We lucked up and were able to stay in room 20 and it was a knock out. This room was located towards the end of the property and had a stunning view of the volcano. We were thoroughly impressed with the accommodations. There was a very large picture window that overlooked the volcano. The bed was beautiful sitting against a stone wall. Their was a living area that consisted of a loveseat and two beautiful chairs. The bathroom was out of this world. There was a large whirlpool tub in the far corner and an equally large shower next to it. There was also a wrap-around picture window in the bathroom that offered uninterrupted views. The commode had it's own separate room with a door, loved that!! Fernando was kind enought to show us his gardens. They were stunning. We ate dinner on site as there were no close restaurants nearby. However, who would want to go to any restaurant with the meals that were served. We had a choice of trout, chicken, lasagna, filet mignon and pasta. I had the pasta, what delight! Most of the food came from the gardens on site. The meal was visually stunning and delicious as well. We were even invited to have wine and cheese before dinner. The cheese was made on site as well. Talk about delicious. The volcano had erupted three weeks before arrived and Fernando was kind enough to share the pictures of the eruption. I have to admit that this place was very homey and tranquil. Overall, you will not be disappointed if you intend on visiting this beautiful property. Like I said in the title, it's a piece of heaven on earth. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Try to get the newly renovated rooms towards the back of the property. They are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.
We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived after an ambitious journey, rather later than planned, but after a rewarding day. We were greeted , in the dark, by Fernando and the dogs and shown to a somewhat splendid room. For some reason, perhaps because it was a Sunday night, we were the only guests. But what a place- this was wonderful. We drank a good wine, ate a beautifully cooked steak, relaxed to good music and good books, admired ( aka envied) Fernando's photos of the erupting volcano ( which we never really saw because of the low cloud) and retired later to a very comfortable room.

We were due to leave quite early the next day, but got up early in a successful attempt to see the humming birds. Then, a beautiful scenic walk with Fernando and dog, a guided tour of the vegetable garden, and even a turn at milking the cow.

This visit was rather too short. The views and surrounding countryside are beautiful. The house is warm and tasteful, the food good, the staff welcoming and Fernando very special.

If it's on your route, or close, go here. Really. It's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jejova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.
We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home and also help them to relax and enjoy! and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
6.8 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
208 reviews
6.5 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
105 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
6.7 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 28 in Banos
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Property: Hacienda Manteles
Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Manteles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Banos and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a 'must see' during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing