We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Mexican!”

A Lo Mero Mero Oficial
Ranked #17 of 133 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Comida autentica mexicana: Fajitas, Nachos con Guacamole, Enchiladas, Tacos, Burritos y Quesadillas. Tortillas y nachos hechos en casa.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Mexican!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I've been in Ecuador for months. And been doing so for 4 years.

This is hands down the best Mexican food in the country. It's a new place and was a great surprise on my recent trip to Banos.

I ordered the chicken and mushroom burrito. It was so good, I are there 3 times on my 3 night stay.

Highly recommended if you like good Mexican food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoFootCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had visited several Mexican restaurants in Ecuador and had decided that there was no chance of finding a spot with real Mexican food. Until I decided to give A Lo Mero Mero a shot.

The owner says he lived in Mexico with his dad for 7 years, so he actually knows what real Mexican food tastes like. The service is great, and they also offer different flavors of hot sauce that they make at the restaurant. It's right on the main drag in the bar area in case you want a nice snack after bar hopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

After living in Ecuador without good Mexican food for 6 months, this was a nice surprise. It is a small restaurant with paper plates and plastic utensils, but it doesn't matter when you can eat good Mexican food. We had burritos, tacos and homemade corn tortillas!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lourabonita429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“yummmy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

i never usually write reviews for restaurants, but the food was so great here that I decided to. its very tasty mexican food cooked right in front of your eyes. i had a burrito for $4.50 which was great value for what i got.it was very well seasoned and the best mexican food I've had in sone time. The lady cooking that I think runs thw place was lovely and provided excellent customer service. a must visit if you are in banos and like mexican food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“High quality food for low budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Food is delicious! (if you like Mexican food) Its an open kitchen, so you can see how the lady is cooking you're dinner. Everything is fresh, and the people are very friendly. It's not expensive at all ($4,50 for a burrito with beans and a little bit vegetables). They recognize you when you come back and they will have a little chat with you. This food is just as good as in Mexico (been there 2 years ago). Defenitly worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hug0Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Lo Mero Mero Oficial also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to A Lo Mero Mero Oficial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing