We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Except for a girl at the reception, the personel was friendly. The room was smelly and a little outdated, but the view was amazing. Just as the pool and the view at the pool. Ecuadorians recommened this hotel and said it was the best in Ecuador. We do not agree: it is ok, but certainlly not the best. We think you can maybe stay at a different hotel for the same price. Free internet acces was available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

Regarding the smelly and outdated room, you are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites with eco-heated floors and fireplaces.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    147
    73
    23
    34
See reviews for
132
398
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

went for day spa - nice to be able to gaze at mountains when using their pools (and being the only person there), though the water was more tepid than warm/hot.

beware - post-hoc, they tried to charge $7 for dry sauna. samari is closer to town and actually has a more impressive interior and perhaps better value packages (but more variable service).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcl932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

I apologize for the inconvenients. We have taken your comments into consideration.

The pools are now heated with a central system that allow us to regulate the temperature from 25°c in the big swimming pool to 38 °c in the small ones, perfect to enjoy the sunset with the most spectacular view in town.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We enjoy all seven days in "Luna Runtun". Thanks to Darwin,who upgraded us to rooms with spectacular view over Banos; both rooms were very comfortable, charming and clean. Food was delicious at restaurant and cafe. Our guide Rodrigo is excellent, very knowledgeable, carring, with good sence of humor, Oscar complements him as a very good and safe driver. Both of them made our adventures very special and full of fun. Every day after biking, trekking or horse riding we relaxed in a warm spring water to restore for next day. What can be better?! We highly recommend 'Luna Runtun" to all who enjoy mother nature, adventure and comfort after at the quet and beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alla000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

I'm glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Luna Runtun - Amazing lodge, amazing food, amazing adventures. The only complaint I have is that the spa was pretty lame. If you go, don't get a spa package. Buy it seperately. However, get an adventure all day tour and ask for Rodrigo and Oscar. By far our two most favorite people. Oscar is an awesome, fantastic driver and Rodrigo is a knowledgeable, fun, worldly tour guide. The two of them are a combo that can't be beat. The rooms here are beautiful, the food is gourmet, and the experience is a lifelong memory.
You won't be dissapointed with Luna....
And a cab to Banos (which they call for you) is $5 and a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjula1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We were recommended to Luna Runtun by an Ecuadorian and enjoyed our one night there immensely. The road up from Banos is narrow and windy but offers great views. The hotel buildings are set in lovely grounds with stunning views of the mountains and valley below. The pools also offer great views. Our room was spacious, had comfortable beds, and large windows that made the most of the views. The dining room offered buffet style dinner and breakfast with good (if not exciting) food. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The spa provided reasonably priced treatments. We left Luna Runtin wishing our itinerary had allowed us another day at least to enjoy the hotel facilities and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

I'm glad to hear that you enjoy the food, the rooms and the setting.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This hotel is in a spectacular position , nestled in the cloud forest with views of the neighbouring volcano. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The spa treatment centre is excellent. The pools and spa are clean and have a fantastic view of the town of Banos below. If you go there make sure you ask for Rodrigro , the hotel's guide, as he is exceptional.

Unfortunately this is a hotel which is resting on its laurels. There is no attention to detail and the service is truly awful. For example we sat waiting in the reception for 30 mins waiting for a taxi. We then asked where the taxi was and they said it was wating for us outside but no one had bothered to tell us! that was a typical experience in this hotel. Like the night that the hotel decided to change the time for dinner from 6.30 - 7.30 without telling anyone and so we were waiting for an hour for dinner! No apologies offered, just too bad!! The other night dinner was 30 mins late with no explanation! The service in the restaurant was also very poor. I waited 25 mins for an orange juice! THey realise that you have no other dining options if you stay at the Luna Runtun and so they seem to have the upper hand.

The management seem 'grabby' as far as I could see. For example we had paid $900 a night for our rooms
(2) and when I went to check out the receptionist wanted to charge me for a tiny carton of milk that we had used during our stay! Seriously!

Stay here for the views but I would recommend you take a day pass and just come up and use the spas , have a light meal etc all for $30 pp . Much better value!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britabroad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador

I apologize for the inconvenients. I appreciate the time you took to share the problems you encountered in the front desk and the Runtun Restaurant.

Please be assured, that I wil do my utmost to provide an appropriate follow up to your comments.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My family booked a weekend stay at Luna Runtun, after hearing great things about the view from the lodge. Our package included meals at the resturaunt and adventure (whitewater rafting/canopy tour) arrangements. After our first night eating at the Luna Runtun, my daughter and I became ill with food poisoning. Apparently, the kitchen staff reheats old food and does not practice proper refrigeration. On the second night, my wife also fell ill from food poisoning. After a day of vomiting and diarrhea, my daughter and I had recovered sufficiently to check into our canopy tour arrangements. To our extreme displeasure the Luna Runtun staff was charging $100 per person. After hearing this, I checked with local operators in town and found out that the going rate was $10. On our final day, we went for breakfast, being much the wiser and very careful on what to eat, the kitchen staff unilateraly decided to stop serving breakfast at 9:30 am, even though breakfast was scheduled to be served until 10 am. For all of this and more, I would NOT recommend Luna Runtun. There are better places in Banos, Ecuador at a better price with better service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GringoNicaEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients regarding the closing of the restaurant before the scheduled time.

Regarding the food poisoning, both restaurants: Runtun Restaurant, since 1994, and Café del Cielo, since 2007, have high quality standards, and no other guests got sick during your stay. Regarding the tours, yes, you can find cheap tours in Baños, different service, our operation includes private transportation, english speaking guide (with license of the Ministery of Tourism) and lunch. Security is extremely important in adventure activities, the quality is by far different from a cheap tour in Baños.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA

Property: Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (2,5 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. Spectacular views! With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing