We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding cafe with best coffee in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arte Cafe & Te

Arte Cafe & Te
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Coffee and tea
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding cafe with best coffee in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We sought out Arte Cafe & Te for an afternoon coffee based on TA reviews, and it lives up to its top billing. Located on a quiet street in the northeast corner of town, it serves pretty much just coffee, tea, and crepes - all of which are likely the best in the region. They have an extensive menu and various crepe/drink combos. We opted for a vegetable crepe and a banana/chocolate crepe, both of which were very large for a snack (but maybe too small individually for a meal). Nice outdoor seating - even a few swinging hammock chairs - and excellent service. Highly recommended. Note they are closed on Fridays, which we learned the hard way after arriving for breakfast the morning we left town. Next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgetahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    56
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Usually when I see a menu with multiple pages just of drinks, I go running in the opposite direction...those kind of places just always end up being too pretentious. But it was raining, and I was tired and just wanted a dry place to sit. I was pleasantly surprised. Had a picante cappuccino, which was a regular cappuccino plus some of the spices usually used in chai. They also had a wide variety of sweet and savory crepes, very reasonably priced. The one I had was delicious and filling. It would be nice to go back with friends, to try more than one type.
I didn't have any problems with staff being rude, and I'm both a gringo and a woman.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good coffee and time to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went here by recommendation from a fellow traveller and indeed; great coffee. They have a menu of over 8 different types of coffee from Ecuador and Colombia! It's a great place to relax and forget time for a bit. I enjoyed a cappuccino which was of very good quality (and I sure love my coffee!) they have wifi but is a bit slow, but then again, you forget time in this nice atmosphere anyway. Enjoy your coffee!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Out of this world coffee! Truly knows their coffee and food. Super delicious food with great hospitality. Great environment.

Helpful?
Thank Nich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArteCafe, Propriétaire at Arte Cafe & Te, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Google Translation
gracias!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

An excellent little cafe with a great atmosphere and outstanding coffee. The owners are very friendly and passionate about what they do, creating a very pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Dogdonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArteCafe, Propriétaire at Arte Cafe & Te, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Google Translation
gracias!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arte Cafe & Te also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Arte Cafe & Te? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing