We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel luxury for hostel prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights together with my gf in September 2013. Our privae room was amazingly comfortable and clean. have stayed in hotels with star ratings with less comfort! The owners are super friendly and try everywhere to help and advise. When I tolld her that we had to take the bus the next morning at 6 she even offered to make us lunch boxes! GREAT!
The breakfast every morning is good and includes bread, fruit, juice, cake, coffee/tea, cereals, yoghurt and most days eggs, pancakes etc. Outstanding for a hostel!
Are there any negatives? Yes! They don't offer private ensuites (but the bathrooms are kept in excellent condition) and it's locate a bit outside the town's center. (But a walk takes less than 5 mins and taxis are cheap)
Wish every hostel was like this! :)

Room Tip: Stay here when in Baños!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 915Alexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was recomended this hostel by a friend and was not disopointed! I also met plenty of other people throughout my trip who had either been and thought it was great or been recomended to go by other people... It's also only 9 months old or so (hence why it's not on guides)

The rooms are great, really clean and cosy, the communal area is veery nice! You can get a bed in a dorm for 8 dollars ish and that includes a really good breakfast. Bathrooms are spotless, with warm showers.

And that's just the accomodation. The people there are so nice, Elba and Jimmy are really friendly and help loads with anything you need or want to do. I had a really good time at that hostel and would definitely go again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lucie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This exceptional hostel doesn't feature in the lonely planet guide to South America. I can only assume that's either because it's too new (lonely planet was published in 2009) or because the LP reviewers were blind and/or retarded. Personally I'm leaning towards the former as an explanation as, unlike pretty much every other hostel on the continent, the floorboards, beds and other furniture don't creak and squeak and groan when there's a slight breeze.

In this lovely family run (but not boring) place, the owner, Elba, makes you feel at home from the minute you step through the door. As do the rest of her family/staff - including her 11 year old daughter Sophie, who seems entirely capable of running the place on her own already! Everyone is extremely knowledgable and helpful when it comes to organising activities etc, and Elba's own company provides good quality adventure activities like white water rafting which pick you up and drop you off at your door. The breakfast is a cut above other hostels' standard toast, cereals and cold coffee - as well as the usuals there's cold meats and cheeses, tea, coffee, occasionally scrambled eggs (made with love - butter, salt, pepper) and a selection of sweet breads like banana or chocolate bread that changes daily. There's a nice garden, a friendly little dog called blacky who loves belly rubs (he is black, but I'm sure they weren't being racist when they named him) and a tv room with the obligatory 10-tonne stack of DVDs. Oh, did I mention that its only like $7/8 a night for a dorm bed? Excellent value for money, gem of a hostel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDangerMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm traveling since more than 20 years in Latin America and I know all the countries, but the best budget hostel was this one. In dorms paying 8$ and that includes a rich breakfast (In restaurant they would charge you 6$ for this breakfast). Perfect rooms, super clean, hot showers, nice terrace, fireplace ... well the list is very long. I enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

You will find all what you are looking for in this place. I loved to stay there. I loved all !!! Big , spacious, very clean , nice helping stuff like Elba , best prices ,hot shower , if you want you can use the stove and much more.... I will come back soon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the first hostel in Ecuador where I have really felt at home. Elba and Jimmy are lovely people and make you feel very welcome in the hostel, providing a great value room with free buffet breakfast, hot showers, comfy beds and great communal spaces for watching films or chilling in a hamock. Booking bike rentals and zipline was just too easy through them and they had good ideas for resteraunts and cafes in town. Travelling on my own, I never felt alone - great place to meet people. I had a very relaxing and comfy stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hostal is very clean. Also I enjoyed it being a bit outside of the main busy part of baños. There is a very big family living here. They share all their living spaces with the guests (tv room, kitchen). The owner (lady is extremely friendly) but the guy has a bad attitude yet is helpful. Because of the family and the way the house is built it is very noisy early in the morning and late at night. If you want a quiet sleep in this is not the place for you despite the fact that the beds are very comfy. if you want to party it up this is also not the place for you. but if you want to share a house with a family for a very fair price come here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anaisfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#15 of 27 in Banos
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 73 in Banos
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast

Address: Misioneros Dominicanos y Mera | Subida a la Virgen/Barrio San Jose, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range: $22 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal "La Casa del Molino Blanco" is not only a meeting point for travelers and backpackers from all over the word; it is as well a green house. 90% of our light is powered by solar and wind energy.We are offering you luxury rooms and awesome dorms for a backpackers price. Check it out .. you will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing