We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel, great people :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens Na
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great hostel, great people :)”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we stayed there for 2 nights but surely wish it would be more! this absolutely great hostel is less than 10 min away from the centre and has pretty much everything a backpacker can ask for. Very warm and welcoming people, clean and comfortable rooms, the most amazing breakfast we ve eaten in a long time, a cute garden with a hammock, wifi connection, a living room with a huge variety of movies and books.. also we were very quickly set up with bikes to tour the area! definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_K_K22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    35
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
74
64
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A nice new place with a friendly owner. It's usually kept spotlessly clean and breakfast is above average too, with a staple of bread, butter, jam, coffee or tea, accompanied by varying other items, like cake or eggs. While we didn't book with them, there are tours on offer and from what they told us, their prices seem reasonable. The best thing about the place are the staff members though, they really will make you feel at home at this place!

WiFi is only available in some rooms though, so people tend to use the kitchen area to go online, which means usually there are more people hanging out there than in the common area/living room upstairs. Also if you plan on cooking, keep in mind that there are only two fires, so if other people want to cook too, you may have to wait for quite a bit. One of the two private rooms we stayed in (#5 if I remember correctly) only had a tiny window, so it didn't get much light at all. You may want to check the room before agreeing to stay in there.

Room Tip: If you are going for a private, try to get one with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went to molino blanco just by chance when I was looking for any hostel that would accept me along with my puppy that I had recently adopted. Wow was that so lucky!

Everyone was very welcoming right from the start, and they were so helpful with my dog. They've got a dog, Blacky, who was kind enough to share her yard with my dog!

I was in a private room, which was lovely. Amazing beds and duvets! Room 1 and 2 upstairs are above the kitchen where the main wifi spot is, so they also get wifi.

The bathroom is shared but well kept. The water gets very hot, you just have to give it a few moments to warm up and then you're good to go!

Breakfast is included, and very filling. Always bread and coffee and tea, and each day they spice it up with something a little different (ie cold cuts, cheese, granola, cake etc)

The Kitchen is available for use-- they've got everything you need to cook up a good meal. It is also central wifi zone so people tend to congregate more there than the other communal living space upstairs.

Great patio in front and lovely yard out back.

This hostel is the best I've stayed at in baños, hands down. Thank you for a lovely stay! I left having obtained a second family that I will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The perfect hostel - beautiful, clean, quiet, spacious...there's nothing the hostel was lacking! The wi-fi connection was strong, the breakfast was good (and changed up once in a while) and lockers were provided for safe-keeping. We were initially supposed to stay there for 3 nights but ended up being there a week.
Everyone who works there Elba, Jimmy, Monica are genuinely wonderful people! They helped us improve our Spanish, took us to the thermal springs and we spent lots of time chatting and bonding. They provided us with all the information we needed....whenever we needed it. They truly made our stay in Banos worthwhile!
The center is about a 10-15 min walk from the hostel...but we appreciated being in a quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Casa del Molino Blanlco earlyier this month and could not speak highly enough of the staff, facilities, and overall general vibe of the hostel.

5 of us stayed - the room was amazing white sheets (changed daily), amazing kitchen to cook in, TV room with DVD´s. it feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

But the most impressive aspect of the hostel is the staff go out of there way to make you feel like you are in a home away from home!

Best stay our whole trip

Caitlin, Nicole, Jordan, Lara and Asssssshhhaaalleeeaaaaaaaaaaaa

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Hostel is great! I was 4 night there. The room, the bathroom everything is so clean. You feel like being at home. Jimmy, Elba and Monica do just everything to make you happy. They helped me in everything I. The breakfast is served everyday, and it always was delicious. I really just can recommend this place. I am sure you would not find a better place in Baños for this price! I will be back. Hasta luego....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Casa De Molino Blanco for 5 great nights. The hostel feels brand new with great dorm rooms, well equipped kitchen, clean bathrooms, great wifi, amazing bed linen and nice lounge area. Evita and Jim were extremely helpful with organising activities and anything else we needed. Molino Blanco a great place to relax after a day of activities around Banos and I would recommend it to anyone heading to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 45 in Banos
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 67 in Banos
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Address: Misioneros Dominicanos y Mera | Subida a la Virgen/Barrio San Jose, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal "La Casa del Molino Blanco" is not only a meeting point for travelers and backpackers from all over the word; it is as well a green house. 90% of our light is powered by solar and wind energy.We are offering you luxury rooms and awesome dorms for a backpackers price. Check it out .. you will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing