We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended! I would go back again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Chimenea

Hotel La Chimenea
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Chimenea
Ranked #14 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended! I would go back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable! I stayed 4 days with my husband, parents and sister with her husband. The owner and all the people working there are really nice. They even did our laundry for free (my mom is a frequent costumer). If you walk one block you will find small stores to get drinks or snacks.. and also a farmacy.. 3 blocks away you find restaurants, churches, etc. You get hot water and also wifi for free ( best signal on 1st. floor)I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After 7 weeks of hostels this is the bargain of the century. My room was 4th floor with great views of montanes and waterfall. Super large room, fresh paint, much hot water, comfy bed and very clean. Staff were excellent. I would rate this hostel as 4 star and at $17 is an absolute bargain. In fact i thought they said $70 and could quite believe it too however they then wrote 17 and i quickly grabbed it.
Amazing though...i was the only person there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am an ecuadorian traveller and I have an awful experience with the staff, they deceived me and my foreign friends with the fees.. they told us the price per person (9,50USD) and on the check out they charged us for a double room (19USD) despite only one of my friends slept in the room .We had to call the police to make them charge us the price told... they ended up charging 40USD more and where VERY RUDE WITH US AS ECUADORIAN AND LATINAMERICAN TOURISTS, saying we are thieves and that would have never given us the room if the booking would not have been made by a french person (one of our friends)!!! What kind of place can this be? DO NOT GO THERE!

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good:
- for USD15, you get a spacious and clean single room en suite, a very comfortable bed. Like the other traveller said, it's close to the bus terminus (along the same street as the bus terminus). Very convient. But Banos is not big anyway.
- staff are very very friendly and helpful. They only speak Spanish but if you don't speak Spanish, they will do whatever to help you and to understand your requests.
- they do the laundry inside the hotel. USD1 per kilo. Quick and convenient.

Not so good:
- I was on the ground floor so I could hear people talking at the reception at night and in the morning. There were also little things like spiders and centipede in my room climbing from the outside.

Note:
This hotel is Hotel la Chimenea Santa Maria. There is a hostel called Hostel Chimenea. By mistake, I came to this Hotel. But it turned out to be a good surprise.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very Nice hôtel, 5 minutes walk from dowtown away from the noise. Staff is very nice. We stayed 4 nights, had delicious breakfast (delicious bread, eggs, fresh juices). We are traveling with a kid and had the room 404 with two separate bedrooms for 45$, including breakfast. They offer laundry service for cheap. I would go back. A new place (there os also the hostal Chimenea) that is a hidden gem

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#13 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.1 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chimenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chimenea

Property: Hotel La Chimenea
Address: O.E. Reyes entre Montalvo y Martinez, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing