We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I was going again:” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Piscinas de la Virgen

Estes Park, Co
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“If I was going again:”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

..I would arrive at opening time, then stake out a spot to soak and watch everyone dodge others feet as they shuffled around the crowded pool.

The down stairs pool is hotter, 118 I hear! Shower caps are 30 cents, towels 5 dollars to buy, not avail for rent. Storage in a basket is free. Don't bring valuables along, other that the money you need to get in, etc. Water bottle for drinking was a dollar.

Helpful?
2 Thank bestestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    117
    68
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Must visit place in Banos and is located inside the city
Natural hotspring with a beautiful view of a waterfall and mountains.
entry fee is 2$ in the morning and 3$ in the evening and will always be crowded.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank arundevkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are in Baños you have to go to a hotspring. This is probably the best. A beautiful view at the waterfall and serveral baths. From warm to really hot. In daytime it's $ 2 and in the evening $ 3 excluding a showercap, which costs 30 ct. There are changing rooms and you can give your personal items in a crate so that they secure. Between 4 pm and 6 pm it's closed for cleaning. I suggest to go at 7pm to avoid a queing and all the baths are full of water

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zipolite, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good way to start the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been for the past 6 mornings, it can get really busy but its got amazing views of the waterfall and surrounding mountains. Its the highlight of the day for sure. If you need to be in a quieter place then hop in a taxi to 'el salado' hot springs..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vulcanic Bathing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with a taxi from the city centre, very much against closing time but due to enough knowledge of friendly "Castellano" words we had a warm welcome and were allowed in for another 45minutes. Most people were leaving already but we could stay in the hottest bath until we decided we had enough. No tourists were there at that time, only locals who enjoyed their hot evening bath as much as we did, and took pictures of us and enjoyed our company. Wich was both ways. Nice view with evening sunset, guarded by the Volcano...
Nice. Don't complain about wet clothes or dogdy cabins: after the bath you feel reborn and full of vitality! Great visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Piscinas de la Virgen also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Las Piscinas de la Virgen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing