We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view, with mediocre show” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tungurahua

Tungurahua
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of Ecuador’s most active volcanoes, this strato-volcano (a volcano that almost constantly emits gas and vapor) towers more than three kilometers above its northern base with a crater measuring more than 400 meters in diameter.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, with mediocre show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We took a chiva up to a viewing point to see the erupting Tungurahua. The chiva was $3. Cheap enough. The view breathtaking. Even though it was cloudy, we were able to catch glimpses of the lava and explosions. Truly a once in a lifetime kind of thing. Except if you live here and you can visit more often ;)
The bad side was, once up there, with no ride back except the chiva, a couple of entertainers had their little show. It was allegedly a magic comedy... I was there with my 9 & 4 year olds and it wasn't for them! It was lewd, crude and politically incorrect. And they made you pay...donations they called, but they put you on the spot if it wasn't enough for them.
They made fun of a German tourist, who didn't understand half of what was said. I just think the sightseeing should be separate from mediocre street performers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    65
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Magnificent, but sleepy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were very lucky and had a chance to see Tungurahua during an active phase on our first day back in Banos. It boomed and belched a bit, sending up ash and smoke, no other excitement, though. It is pretty much never a danger to the town or its inhabitants, although the ash fields outside of town are huge and moonscapey. We drove through the ashfields during a taxi ride to Riobamba, highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancyye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seeing an active volcan for the first time in my life!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have never seen active vulcano in my life, so first time we saw it, we were so spechless and just looking up for the vulcano. We were there during the time when the vulcano was highly active. So at night we took a cap to get as high as possible. Taxi drive took us to the place called "Las Antenas" for 15 dollars and he waited here one hour with us. We saw just a small eruption that you also could see from Baňos (city where we lived) so if you have a lot of money let´s pay for, if not...observe it from Baňos!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Misty Volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

During the time when I was there, the volcano was highly active. We took a taxi to get to the top as close as possible, and I was a bit disappointed.. it's just a mountain, after all, and you couldn't even see all the way to the summit. Still nice to know you're standing on a volcano that had emitted lava a few days before.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nature at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

what a sight! nothing like viewing a volcano spewing out molten rock and ash, from a safe distance. well worth hiring a taxi for a couple of hours to take you to the antennas or the pajaro for a great view!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lacasaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tungurahua also viewed

 
 

Been to Tungurahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing