We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangay Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sangay Spa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Banos
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Sangay in July 2013. We loved the hotel. My 4 year old especially loved the outdoor trampoline. I loved watching him jump and being able to enjoy the view of the mountains and waterfalls. The location is perfect. Right next to the hotsprings. We stayed two nights with a view of the waterfall. I liked this room better than the cabin rooms. We had only booked two nights and had decided to go back to Quito. After returning, from a jungle tour really late we booked the Cabin room. My 4 year old also prefered the hotel rooms with a view of the waterfalls. The water in the pool was a little too chilly for us. We enjoyed the indoor hot tubs. Breakfast buffet was really yummy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PnRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangayspahotel2012, Gerente at Sangay Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Google Translation
Estimad@ Huésped

Queremos agradecerle el formar parte de Sangay Spa Hotel, nuestro principal interés es su bienestar y comodidad
Esperamos atenderles en otra oportunidad!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
74
56
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I went to Baños many times and stayed in different hotels but Sangay is one of the best up till now. The cheap rooms are a bit small but the extended the hotel recently with really nice suites as well. Service was really professional with excellent food. The Spa is well equipped and perfectly clean and the location is perfect, close to the waterfall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangayspahotel2012, Gerente at Sangay Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Google Translation
Estimados Señores:

Es nuestro compromiso y principal motivación el que su estancia sea placentera, única e inolvidable.

Sera un gusto atenderle nuevamente!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We just enjoyed a fantastic week in Baños thanks to the great hospitality and warmth of the owners and staff at the Sangay. The hotel is newly refurbished with lovely exposed volcanic rock and spacious brand new rooms that overlook the spectacular waterfalls and thermal baths. It looks like a lot of work has been put in to restore this beautiful colonial building. The grounds are neat and tidy and there is a fantastic restaurant attached to the hotel. We enjoyed first class meals, our favorite were the spare ribs and bbq fish. You will be the first in line at the thermal baths being located directly opposite the hotel. To enjoy a relaxing bath and to beat the crowds we recommend going at the opening time of 5am. Best of all the staff and family owners went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. We hope to return again soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hopefully, you are not in Banos to sleep in your room all day, so it has a great location and nice view. It was clean and staff was friendly. :) The hotel was pretty standard for cheaply priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. It was an excellent experience.

Upon arrival, we had the choice of having a room with a balcony and view of the waterfall, or a cabin. The front-desk clerk took us to both rooms so we could see them and then decide. The cabin room was smaller and darker, so we opted for the room with the balcony. It had a twin bed and a double bed, and the balcony received morning sunlight.

The breakfast was very good - there was a wide array of fruits, breads, juices, tea and coffee, and eggs.

The bathroom was clean, although the shower head was a bit low so tall (>6ft?) people may find themselves bumping their head on the shower head while they shower.

The spa was very good. We tried the steam box, which was very relaxing. The resort also has a tennis court and a squash court, in addition to pool tables, table football, 2 outdoor pools, and an indoor jacuzzi hot tub.

The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the Virgin Waterfall and a local hot-spring pool.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony are bigger and have a nice view. The cabins are smaller and darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FattyBomabalatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Sackville, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for four nights in a Cabano. There are various sizes but the ones with two beds tend to be larger. Even though ours was not that roomy, we hardly noticed because we were ony there to sleep. The rest of the grounds and the two restaurants made up for any deficiencies. One portion of the hotel is under renovation. The cost was acceptable and it included a buffet breakfast. One morning we ordered bacon, at a nominal charge. There was a Mother's Day lunch, which we missed, but every mother was given a momento from the hotel. I received mine at supper that night. It sits on my kitchen table to remind me of my stay at this very hospitable hotel. The owner is British and he has mastered Spanish so he helped us out. His Ecuadorian wife speaks very good English, as do the reception staff. The pool and spa area are very clean and quite extensive. The food is outstanding and very well priced. One of our sons was not well one day and the staff provided him with a delicious bowl of soup. The hotel is located beside a waterfall and public pools. The town is safe and easy to walk around. The hot springs here are not filtered but they are very good. Go either at 5 am or 5 pm to avoid crowds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at the Sangay hotel for 3 nights and really liked the place. The food was very good and buffet style, lots to eat. The staff was nice but a bit busy and they overlooked a few details. I slept in a little house close to the swimmingpool and the bed was clean, but there was some humidity on the walls and the roofs are made from cardboard. It was fine really. I got one massage at the spa area and thought it was one of the best massages I've ever had. I also tried the sauna-box which was great relaxing too. If you want to visit the hot water springs I recommend to go really early in the morning, because in the afternoons the water is just dirty already by all the people using it. They fill up the pools around 4am, so if you go at 5am or 6am you're good and it is a fantastic place for relaxation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
7.2 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#13 of 28 in Banos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Arte
La Posada del Arte
#6 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 28 in Banos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangay Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangay Spa Hotel

Property: Sangay Spa Hotel
Address: Plaza Isidro Ayora 100 | across the street from the Virgin Waterfall, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sangay Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sangay Spa Hotel in 'Banos' Tungurahua Ecuador, British run family hotel, a thermal bath destination which offers peace and quiet during week days. It faces the waterfall which can be admired from its balcony rooms, some with baths. We offer two Restaurants; Rumi Wuasi with Ecuadorian food and Chozon Bar & Grill with BBQ, Pizzas and good Mojitos. Ayurvedic Therapies from India and Massages facilities are our specialty. Nursery area for children and Tours & Activities are organized. Member of Cialcotel Hotel Chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sangay Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangay Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing