We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best vegan tamales!”
Review of Sativa Studio Cafe

Sativa Studio Cafe
Ranked #23 of 134 Restaurants in Banos
Price range: $4 - $5
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Sativa Studio Cafe is a pottery studio and vegan cafe located in the heart of Banos city. Its a space where you can relax, enjoy a healthy and beautiful meal on handmade ceramic plates, drink organic homemade fruit wines, organic Ecuadorian coffee, or just hang out by the fireplace while sipping a hot cup of our organic herbal teas. The food is all vegan and delicious.
Encinitas, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best vegan tamales!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

They don't offer a lot of dishes, but the ones they do are all vegetarian and delicious. Fresh squeezed juices are fantastic. The veggie burgers are outstanding but my favorite dish is the vegan tamales served with a side salad. The salad has such a unique flavor with a dressing that enhances and does not overpower the vegetables. I love the decor and the vibe inside as well. Say hello to the 2 cats you might see lazing in the outdoor space behind the restaurant. My favorite place for lunch in Baños!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SativaStudioCafe, Manager at Sativa Studio Cafe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed our food and vibes so much, it's what we want to share with the world:)
Our 2 cats are our good luck charms, and one really likes to eat the tamales, its our favorite dish here too! We grow a lot of our salad ingredients and what we don't, we get from local farmers, the dressing is made with our homemade blackberry vinegar. Thank you for your sincere review:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    16
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb veggie food and tasty drinks”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Okay, so the food menu is limited to 3 choices, but boy are they good! Freshly prepared by a husband and wife team who really understand flavours and use good quality ingredients. After so many "platos tipicos" this place really is a welcome treat for the taste buds. As for the drinks, try the flavoured guarapos, variety of coffees or, my particular favourite, the lemonade with rosemary. Muy rico!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbwatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SativaStudioCafe, Manager at Sativa Studio Cafe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I'm happy to know you had a great experience with us. We always strive to source the freshest locales ingredients, when we can't grow our own. The rosemary lemonade is my favorite drink here too. The rosemary and the lemons are from our garden. We hope you come back to try our kombucha and honey mead, thanks for your sincere review:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy little cafe”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stopped in here for a late lunch and had the vegie burgers. They were nice and very filling. The drinks however were AMAZING.. try the hibiscus and spice drink and the 7 spice coffee...delicious! Didnt try the cakes but would definately go back to do so.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SativaStudioCafe, Manager at Sativa Studio Cafe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We really appreciate your sincere review, the Hibiscus drink is so healthy and also our 7 spices coffee, i'm so happy you enjoyed them. Our burgers are even bigger and nicer now, if you try them now you would be more than full:) Thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Sure”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place did not seem to know what they really are. Not a restaraunt and not much of a cafe. No one else was there

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sativa Studio Cafe also viewed

Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Sativa Studio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing