We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mayra's Apartments and Spanish School
Ranked #20 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for Christmas and New Year's Eve - it was a great apartment - very clean and spacious and in a good location. Mayra was very helpful and accommodating. She allowed us to use an oven in another compartment and even took us on a brief tour of Banos when we arrived!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
13
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We spend a really nice time at Mayra's Spanish school. We learned a lot at the classes with Mayra and Marco, because the classes we're balanced on our needs and level. They use good didactic methods and games to make it easy and fun to learn the language.

At first we planned to stay 3 days in Banos and take a Spanish course in Cuenca, but it turned out to be 9 in Banos because of this great school and the relaxed atmosphere of Banos. In addition, we rented a nice appartment of Mayra, that made the stay even more pleasant. Mayra and her family makes you feel like home!

If you're planning to take Spanish lessons in Ecuador, go to Banos and Mayra's Spanish School.

Wouter & Wendy
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Ps: also try the beer Mayra's husband is brewing in the garage!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouterAmsterda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I studied Spanish here for a few days and found the school really excellent. Mayra is a brilliant teacher, very patient and has many fun games to make learning easier! Lots of grammar explained well and plenty of time spent in conversation practicing the grammar I had learned. Definitely recommend spending some time in banos learning Spanish. You can do classes in the morning and activities in te afternoon, lots of fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have really enjoyed living in these apartments. They have everything I need (including Wi-Fi). They are clean and close (walking distance) to everything in Banos. I love the big open space in the kitchen and living room and of course the windows with views of the mountains. Mayra and everyone else have been super helpful whenever I had questions. I highly recommend it! Happy travels. Luther

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luthercale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmore, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I spent two months in Banos studying at Mayra´s Spanish School. I was pleased with the high quality of the professors that teach there. Almost never did I have a question (gramatical or otherwise) that they did not have a clear answer for and an explanation that made sense to me. In the 2 months I was there my spanish improved greatly. We moved forward at a steady pace with grammer and spent time each day practicing in conversation what we had previously learned. While I was there I stayed in a small but comfortable appartment on the 4th floor with a nice view of Banos and the surrounding mountians. Banos is great place to stay if you like adventure and appreciate beauty. There is plenty to do and if you are looking for a place to stay and maybe to improve your spanish I recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very nice. Family
Silent location. Good Spanish school beautiful terrace. Comfortable facilities good mattress and clean nice price thanks Mayra and also nice Belgium.beer

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heymrgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.4 mi away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#5 of 28 in Banos
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.4 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#14 of 28 in Banos
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#12 of 28 in Banos
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayra's Apartments and Spanish School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayra's Apartments and Spanish School

Property: Mayra's Apartments and Spanish School
Address: Eduardo Tapia112 y Oriente | 3rd floor, orange house, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four separate apartments for rent. Each apartment comes with high speed WIFI, cable TV with English speaking stations, fireplaces, outdoor terraces, private gardens, writing desks, fresh linens, complete set of cooking supplies and utensils, natural gas stove, microwave, towels, and all you need for a great Ecuadorian experience with modern western conveniences and luxuries. The owner also runs a large Spanish School in Banos which provides great opportunities to learn and practice Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mayra's Apartments and Spanish School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing