We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruta de las cascadas

Ruta de las cascadas
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved the Diablo waterfall - awesome to get behind the fall itself! Fun suspension bridges, along with juice/snack area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    334
    65
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Take a Bike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We did the ruta by bicycle. I had read scary stories about doing this so I was a little hesitant. But it wasn't so bad. You just have to be very aware of your surroundings and the many trucks, cars and buses that are passing you. The route is mostly downhill but there are a bit of uphills too. The whole trip is beautiful with the river canyon on your right side and many waterfalls cascading down. We stopped at one place and did the canopy ride (or zip line) across the canyon. So scary but amazing. The thrilling ride back in the little cage was no less amazing. Highly recommended. At the end you get to Rio Verde which is a cute little village near the entrance to Pailon de Diablo. Don't miss the best empanadas at a little stand a bit above and away from the other tourist restaurants. For $2 we had chicken and cheese empanadas that were fresh made, crisp and flaky. Yum! We put our bikes in a waiting truck that took us back to town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cshalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Andes to the Amazon Basin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

There's no better downhill (more appropriate "downmountain") bike ride in all of Ecuador. What more could you ask for? There are waterfalls, views, ziplines, bridge jumps (which are not very safe unfortunately), spectacular views, mountains, and eventually the rainforest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gkrupa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Leave early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

You need 5 hours to truly enjoy the route to the big waterfall - I took 4 and I felt rushed...didn't make it all the way to Puyo because I get bored biking on roads.... the scenery is to die for and I felt like I was living a dream every time I looked out over the canyon to view the waterfalls.....

Go to the supermarket, grab drinks and snacks ($5), pay $5 bucks to rent a bike, bop along the road... do the zipline across the canyon for another 5 bucks, visit the pailon del diablo up close ($1.50), grab a fresh orange/carrot juice on your way back up ($0.50), pay a truck to take you back to town ($2)... best 19 dollar day trip you'll make for yourself!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We rented bikes from Carolinas close to our Hostal and the lady was really helpful and charged just $5 compared with 7 elsewhere

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruta de las cascadas also viewed

 
Banos, Tungurahua Province
 

Been to Ruta de las cascadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing