We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet other travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #2 of 51 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arrived late without a booking, but thankfully got booked in to the last private room by the son of the family run hostel. Nice, clean rooms, not massive but good for the price. The breakfast here was one of my favorites in South America, eggs, fresh bread, fresh juice, jam and tea/coffee, (Amazing how other hostels do it so badly) Didn't eat at the resturant but the area is available throughout the day, great for having a beer and chatting with other travellers. They can also book any activity in Banos for you. Stayed three nights, could easily have done longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat__8353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director de Recepción at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 215 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Chicken - and all meat - in Ecuador is typically cooked until it horrendously dry. The pollo a la plancha here was cooked perfectly. Moist, tender, and with great flavor. Too bad it was an incredible salt bomb. One hour later I still feel like I drank ocean water.

Another plus was that the meal also came with a generous portion of vegetables, which is rare for Ecuador.

I will return again, and ask for chicken without salt....

I did not stay in a room, just ate in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very friendly & hospitable family runned hostal. Son of the hostal owner brought us at 1am at night to a good spot to see the vulcano Tungurahua erupting and see the lava. A great Experience! Furthermore: Great location, good breakfast, clean rooms for a reasonable price. Definetly recommend this place to sleep when you spent some days at Banos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I didn't actually stay here but spent a great deal of my time in Baños here. Friendly staff, great advise, top quality food, prime location, and a fridge full of beer.
Im going back to baños and will defiantly stay here next time.
Thank you......

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Itchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me start off by saying we never actually stayed at Hostal Erupcion, so I can't speak for what the rooms are like, but my experience there was fantastic.

My girlfriend and I booked a room there for a Saturday night only to find out that, when we arrived, we had accidentally booked it for the wrong night. Henry, the son of the owners, however did not just kick us to the curb as I feel many others would do. He spent the next half hour calling every other hostal/hotel in town trying to find us a nice, affordable place. The town was absolutely packed so I don't know what we would have done without him. And when he finally found a place, he informed us that it was a ways outside of town. Not to worry though, he, his sister, and his dog Gogol walked us to their car and drove us there completely free of charge! Please remember, we weren't renting a room from them at this point and he wouldn't accept any money. They did this just out of their own kindness.

These are wonderful people, and I hope everyone gives them lots of business because they deserve it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Awesome homey place with a good view, comercial kitchen so you can cook whatever your heart desires, the staff are soo friendly the owner did my laundry quickly, helps you with everything and is always happy and nice! One of the best staff crew!!! Never felt like anything was a hassle and always willing to help!!!! (Very rare in ecuador)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank backpackermmmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a great hostel centrally located in town. It's about a 5-7 minute walk from the main bus station and right next to the central park.

The only reason I marked down the cleanliness is because the shower looked like it was somewhat getto and a 2-3in pool if water filled the basin after less than a 5 min shower. Otherwise it was fairly clean.

Make sure you bring ear plugs (which is a good idea whereever you go anyway) because it is a great central location so you do have noise from vehicles at night.

The room itself even had a flat screen TV with cable and one English channel (Warner Bros).

The night stay included a generous breakfest of bread, two eggs, coffee and juice on the second floor deck overlooking the central park. My wife and I also had dinner there on the first night that again was a generous portion for a total of $10.

The service overall was excellent. They were able to answer questions about the town and activities. Internet access was great and they had a convenient water dispenser to fill our Nalgines when we left for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kublaishive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slurmheinrich, Director General at Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Hostal El Recreo
Hostal El Recreo
#9 of 51 in Banos
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel

Address: Ambato y Thomas Halflants | (Central Park Crnr), Banos 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is favored for our excellent guest services, great atmosphere, and location; we are overlooking the main plaza of Banos Ecuador, at only 3 minutes walking from the nightlife of our lovely town. There is no need to waste your day hunting around for the best deal - We have it all here for you at reception. Let us do all the hard work, so you can enjoy time in Banos!! You can book Banos day tours and packages all around Ecuador, we have plenty of options to choose from. We're proud to offer our guests a safe, secure environment with our security camera system. Our hostel offer a variety of private and dorm rooms to perfectly accommodate your needs. Whether you are a family, a couple, solo traveler, or student group, you are guaranteed a cozy and affordable stay with access to all of the amenities we offer Not only do we offer a strong internet WIFI connection to all of our guests, but we offer multiple computers (2 in total) for you to use free of charge in our lobby. We have satellite television and 32" LED TV(in our Queen Size Bed Room), and a variety of games and books for you to check out in our reception. We are proud to offer a huge variety of GREAT Breakfast for an extra cost. You won't go hungry staying here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing