We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I could have expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Princesa Maria
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Amazing place. The Staff are some the friendliest I've ever met. Helpful, knowledgable, and genuinely concerned that we had everything, were content, and comfortable during our stay. Room was clean (the sheets are hilarious). Very bright and open, and the biggest rooms we stayed in on our trip to Ecuador - also the cheapest. Decent sized kitchen, excellent garden to relax in before dinner.

I would recommend this place to anyone. We planned on staying for 3 nights, ended up changing our plans and stayed an extra two.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zieglerpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

People this is a solid choice for a clean, well organized, friendly place to hold out while in Banos. Victor and his family run a home style setup, and bend over backwards to make the stay as accessible as any south american hostel can be...

Fully recomment this hostel....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenKnorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay for budget travellers as well as for others. The price is highly convinient, around 8$ a night, but doesnt seem to affect the standards or service. Very nice staff, speak both english and spanish. They can give you a lot of help with what to do in Banos. Very reliable. Also location is very good. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristofferharryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Amazing hostel. The rooms and facilities are immaculate. The hostal's managers are incredibly friendly and pleasant. The location is very good, as its a very short walk to one of Banos' main squares. The wifi covered the entire hostel and was faster than most in the area.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Located just a few minutes walk from the bus station and the main plaza, this hostel is in a great position. For only $7 a night we had a private triple room with cable TV & bathroom which is probably the best value hostel we've stayed in throughout South America. Wifi worked well in the rooms. The hostel has a TV area, 1 computer for use, kitchen with a free-food shelf, and communal dining table so plenty of opportunities to meet fellow travellers. Showers were always hot too, which is important after a day of mountain biking or trekking! Small touches like flowers on the table and a fireplace make you feel like you're at home and Victor and Saulo are always on hand to answer any questions. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were to return to Banos.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachesandcream81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a great hostel located in a central location in Banos. We almost didn't stay here because the price was so cheap ($16 for 2 people in a private room with a private bathroom) but I am glad we did.
The room was spacious and clean and the hostel had a good shared kitchen as well as a lounge/dining area that you can relax in to watch movies, use the WIFI (which worked well) or just meet other travellers.
The owner and his son were always around to answer any questions we had and were extremely friendly and welcoming!
I would recommend Princess Maria to anyone travelling to Banos, it is in a great location, friendly staff and GREAT value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A very good hostel in Banos Ecuador. The owner and his son are always there to look after you and very hospitable and friendly.
Good rooms and good value for money.
The kitchen and Wi-fi all work well. I would go there again for sure.

Room Tip: You can walk to this place from the Bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
0.0 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 73 in Banos
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.0 mi away
Erupcion Art Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Princesa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Princesa Maria

Address: Rocafuerte and Mera (up the hill at the corner), Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Maria is a 3 floor building, with wooden floors, well equiped kitchen, large spacious rooms, hot water private bathroom and much more...The adress of our hostel is Rocafuerte y Mera (esquina)To find us you have to walk 3 blocks straight to the park and 3 blocks to the right following rocafuerte street Up The Hill, we are a blue building right on the upper corner of Rocafuerte street.If by any reason you cant manage to see where are we located you can call us and we will be ready to tell you an accurate description of our address.Princesa Maria is not a party hostal, we are a small and cozy business, we offer the basic services for you to enjoy your stay in Banos/Tungurahua, Nothing Luxurious, we just give you enough things to feel at home within an environment of respect and happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Princesa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Princesa Maria Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing