We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with ok staff, and a lil hard to find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel with ok staff, and a lil hard to find.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

the hostel itself is great but the attitude of the staff is unwelcoming and makes it seem as if they are doing you a favor by taking your money... i stayed 2 nights and went to another hostel in town for this reason. With an improved attitude this hostel could be top notch, but at this time i would suggest if you're planning on visiting banos and all its awesomeness you would be better served closer to the middle of town with a cheaper price and with a private room in one of the many hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    74
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
8
57
86
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms, great staff. The fresh cakes on offer are amazing. Free dinners mon-weds is a great touch. Really helpful with organising trips and activities. Cheap bar and food. Really enjoyed my stay here in Banos.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

IT is a really nice place to stay, staff are fairly helpful, very well facilitated to help you adapt to the hostel. free food and free breakie, not the best breakie but can't complained for free food! the rooms has a bit funky smelling though, but great hot shower!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank evelizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I would still recommend this hostel as it had a great atmosphere and bar area. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms fairly poor condition though. Also, one of the staff members made you feel as though you were an inconvenience when you were being served. Other guests commented on this also while I was there.
For these reasons I score the hostel as overall very good even though I don't score it higher in specific areas.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Nice place with good atmosphere and facilities. Basic breakfast. Staff were helpful. I only stayed one night so cant make much comments on activities available. The room down the back, the cabin I believe its called, smells a lot. Big lockers in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plip2dplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went for 2 days and stayed for 4 as there is so much to do in Banos! Great social space in this hostel, with good computers and TV area, plus the bar is great value. Food is ok and they do free meals some nights. Breakfast was fab too. Easy to walk anywhere in town. Staff were a bit odd, the guy with dreads was a bit rude at times, sitting on facebook and making us wait for drinks or food til he decided to finish up. Good base for exploring the city though and a nice place to make new friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice hostal with a good social setting. Hint: There is a secret passage between the center square and the hostal. Walk straight down the hill and a pathway goes forward and jogs left.

Still writing, review is over!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 69 in Banos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos

Property: Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Address: Ricardo Zurita Carrillo y Ambato | Barrio Los Pinos 150 mts from the Church, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Hostels you will experience great moments. Meet other travelers, get involved in social activities, relax in the gardens and hammocks. Enjoy Pizza party on fridays.Free cocktails on wednesday and saturdays. Movie Nights on sundays with free popcorn!!!!!!!have fun at the meeting point, in were you will find a collection of movies (more than 300 dvd`s), books for book change, cosy lounge & living rooms , lots of table games pool table, internet, wi-fi , social activities.You will enjoy good music, cocktails, tasty food, homemade cakes and jams - not to be missed ! Rest in the spacious and comfortable rooms.For those who like to make their own food we have a fully equipped kitchen open all day.You will always find the staff ready to help you. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together.Our Hostel provides infomation and many recommendations about restaurants, regional markets, main attractions and truistic activities.We will help you finding the best tours in the region such as Jungle , Raffting, Canyioning, Canopy, Climbing, Parapenting, Biking, Trekkings. You can choose... to stay at a regular hostel or at a Great Hostelstay in a normal dorm or in a large dorm with murals and mountain views.stay in the dormitory or at cool designed common area.be close to buildings and noise or be close to mountains, waterfalls & hotsprings.enjoy congestion and griminess of the city itself or enjoy silence,good music, gardens & hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing