We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but low on hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Ranked #6 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
danstah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice room but low on hot water”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I liked the hotel in general. It was nice to have a bar and lounge on site and the breakfast was decent. The room was ok but unfortunately the irregularity of the hot water made for a difficult stay. When asked the staff would say they'd look at it but never did.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    74
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
8
57
86
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CLinton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I originally planned to stay at this hostel for two days. I stayed four...after considering even another night or two. To be fair, it is in part, due to the great town of Banos. But it is also a great chill vibe at this hostel, and that was exactly what I was looking for.

I am leaving in a couple of hours from the hostel. I have just finished my free dinner of rice and veggies. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday are free dinner nights, which is a definite bonus. While not amazing meals, they are tasty enough and filling. It is strange, though, that we cannot simply put our names on a paper signup sheet, in order to sign up for the free dinner. We have to log on to Facebook and sign up there. I think that is a bit annoying. But the idea behind this is nice.

The property is very conveniently located to the thermal baths, and to the center of town. Banos is a small enough town that nothing is far away. The bus station is all of a 10 minute walk, rental of bikes is less than that, and taxis, to go up the mountains and view the amazing volcano...they are nearby as well.

I stayed in the Cabana...the dorm room, with 8 beds. It is a bit damp-smelling, as the area rains a fair amount, but that is not unbearable. The bathroom in the room is strange, as you can literally hear everything. but....to be straightup here....you can poop in another bathroom, and the shower and bathroom in the room is actually nice. There are lockers, but bring your own lock (which you should have when you travel, anyhow).

There is the ever-present morning noise of roosters and dogs, but that has been nearly everywhere I have stayed in South America. There are two sweet dogs and 2 nice cats on the property, and they are around quite a bit.

There are drinks for sale on premise, so don't expect to bring in your own alcohol. You can rent a towel for the thermal baths, for a mere $1. You ARE asked for a $10 deposit for your shower towel, which is a first for me. However, I got my money back easily, upon return of the towel.

The staff are really quite helpful. I would love to see Martin, one of the owners, smile a bit. It almost felt like a goal to make him smile. But he was truly helpful, and nice enough. I just wanted to see a smile from him. :)

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Banos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schwartzsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi there! Glad you enjoyed your stay and you liked the place. We cook all our meals with lots of love and although you think the signing through facebook for this is annoying there is a reason behind it. We do this so when our guests hit join or like it’ll appear on their facebook and this way more people will get to know us. Sorry about the bathroom in the Cabin, we’ve tailed it up and deeply cleaned it but we’re working on making it bigger and better, but as you say, there are more bathrooms too. And about the locks, we did do it once but the kept getting lost so as you said, as a backpacker you have to travel with one. If not there are hardware stores were you can get some for a good price. Thank you for recommending us!
P.S. Thanks for the pic from the volcano it looks great as a deskpic on our computers 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My friend and I ended up staying in three hostels in Banos and this one was by far the best. The vibe was really good right off the get go. The rooms were clean and big, we stayed in a private and it had more room than we needed. The kitchen was a bit lacking for cooking but it did the trick. There is a nice comfy couch you can watch one of hundreds of movies they have and if you get bored you can always play pool or darts. The hostel is a bit outside the main town but it was quiet because of it.

I would definitely recommend this hostel for the vibe and the staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your comment! We always try to give a great vibe and be as helpful as possible. Glad you enjoyed it. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I moved to Los Pinos after a 3 nights at a different, less central hostel. I was very pleasantly surprised.
The hostel is located a few blocks from the centre (with everything in walking distance). It is also clean, spacious, and has a really cool communal area, making it easy to meet fellow travellers. There are also 2 computers that guests are free to use, plus wifi throughout the hostel.
The free food is also super - free dinners Mon -Weds (including risotto) and great bread etc for breakfast. I think that this hostel is suitable for both individuals and couples - go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccccccc186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the comment! We really appreciate it  We’re glad you enjoyed the hostel and the free meals (all home-made). Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Really nice hostel in one of the most beautiful town's in Ecuador. The dorms are very clean and quiet with private bathrooms, hot water, and wifi. Most staff are very friendly (the exceptions are quite rude). Cozy common area to chill out in after a day full of activities weather it's watching a movie or socializing with other travellers at the bar. Breakfast is simple but good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 780amy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the comment, it helps us improve and keep going on. Glad you had a good time. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was lucky enough to volunteer here for one and half months and I loved every minute of it! The hostel is in a great location -- just a few minutes walk from the center of town, but still in a quiet and safe street. The owners are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. The hostel does a free dinner 3 nights per week, and specials the other 4 nights. There are tons of home-baked desserts and they sell cheap beer and drinks at the bar. There's plenty of space and hammocks to relax, a great book exchange, huge DVD collection, and the beds and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Loved my stay here.... highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel. We stayed in a small 4 bedded dorm with en suite bathroom. Excellent value for money, hot water!! The facilities were ok good value for money. A bit difficult to find initially!
Very close to the main town area & thermal baths.
Staff were helpful :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieLola34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a comment, we really appreciate it. Glad you thought it has excellent and you had a good stay.
We have put a neon sign with map opposite to the bus terminal to find us easily, however see also recommend a google map or our website. greathostels.com.ec. -
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 27 in Banos
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#2 of 48 in Banos
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Mathias
Hostal D' Mathias
#2 of 70 in Banos
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos

Property: Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Address: Ricardo Zurita Carrillo y Ambato | Barrio Los Pinos 150 mts from the Church, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Hostels you will experience great moments. Meet other travelers, get involved in social activities, relax in the gardens and hammocks. Enjoy Pizza party on fridays.Free cocktails on wednesday and saturdays. Movie Nights on sundays with free popcorn!!!!!!!have fun at the meeting point, in were you will find a collection of movies (more than 300 dvd`s), books for book change, cosy lounge & living rooms , lots of table games pool table, internet, wi-fi , social activities.You will enjoy good music, cocktails, tasty food, homemade cakes and jams - not to be missed ! Rest in the spacious and comfortable rooms.For those who like to make their own food we have a fully equipped kitchen open all day.You will always find the staff ready to help you. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together.Our Hostel provides infomation and many recommendations about restaurants, regional markets, main attractions and truistic activities.We will help you finding the best tours in the region such as Jungle , Raffting, Canyioning, Canopy, Climbing, Parapenting, Biking, Trekkings. You can choose... to stay at a regular hostel or at a Great Hostelstay in a normal dorm or in a large dorm with murals and mountain views.stay in the dormitory or at cool designed common area.be close to buildings and noise or be close to mountains, waterfalls & hotsprings.enjoy congestion and griminess of the city itself or enjoy silence,good music, gardens & hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing