We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Baños”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Baños”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is amazing. The rooms are wonderful and located in two dedicated buildings. There is a common kitchen; the common area is in a hut along with the reception, the bar, the tv/dvd corner and the pool table. Movie nights are with loads of popcorn. Outside you will find a good number of hammocks to chill out.
The best part of this hostel is the staff. They know their way around Baños and can help you with everything. We got very detailed and useful information during our entire stay. Breakfast is included, and from mon-wed you can sign up for free dinner - which makes this place a bargain.
The only negative thing are the info flyers with the penalty information, where it says you will be charged at least 5$ if you're too loud after a certain time, if you take towels out of the room etc. While the flyers are annoying, we never encountered a problem with the staff about the points listed in them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest opinion. We also feel it is a bad thing, as you say, on the penalties. But there are people who will have to explain basic rules of coexistence. Never have problems that you know how to behave respectfully. It would be fruitless hereby anecdotes but you would laugh a lot.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    72
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
7
57
85
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were two female students travelling through Ecuador and stayed here for 4 nights. The hostel is in a great location for all the towns amenities, being close to the pubs, square and tour operators. The hostel has great rooms, all with their own individual mood painted ceilings adding to the character of the place. The rooms have very comfy beds and nice hot showers (always a bonus). The communal area has everything you could want, with a pool table, bar/kitchen and a massive selection of DVDs. The food is great and the people running the hostel could not be more helpful and welcoming. The friendlieness extended to us all sitting down to watch a movie in the lounging area and the staff made us complementary popcorn. It was these attentions to details that made this place so great. At the moment it is quiet but hopefully word will get round and this place will become a popular place for travellers as we cannot recommend it enough. We had a great stay and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcj9139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello!
Thanks for your detailed opinion about us.
We can not say more, because you have said it very well.
Thank you so much. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hostel twice, and can't recommend it highly enough! The second I arrived, Josefina pulled out a map and told me all about the town and the tourist attractions that were nearby. Every time I had a question about Baños or about the room or anything else, Josefina and Martin had the answers! They are so friendly and make you feel welcome! The rooms are great, the showers are hot, and the beds are comfortable. It's literally a two minute walk to the town square, but it's just far enough away to feel secluded and quiet. I felt completely safe there, and never had any concerns about leaving my things in my room. Breakfast is included, and consists of coffee, oatmeal, bread with homemade jam, juice, and a banana. You definitely won't leave hungry! Speaking of hungry.. their food is AMAZING. I'm talking gourmet-status meals. If you stay at this hostel and don't order something off their menu at least once.. you're making a big mistake. When I go back to Baños, I will definitely be staying at the Backpackers Los Pinos again. Such a great deal for your money, and such a great couple that runs the place! I miss Josefina and Martin already!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Los Pinos has a good layout with each building seperated. There is a large common area to meet people, play pool, order drinks and food, and watch movies (of which they have many), a large well equiped kitchen and comfortable beds in the dorms. The dorms being seperated means there is no noise from the common area which is nice for sleeping. They are also kpet very clean. The only issues I had with the hostel is that the common area can get quite cold and the lights could be a bit brighter, but overall a great hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Propietario at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. About all the good it will maintain and respect the light and cold, we've added lights and put a heating system for the living.
Many thanks for the observation helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Hostal is located in one of the most beautiful tourist regions in Ecuador, Banos de Aqua Santa, which is a picturesque destination with idyllic landscape and with a long and international tradition on the tourism map.Surrounded by forests at the foot of the volcano Thungurahua, the Hostal was specially arranged in a natural area surrounded by privacy, but it has quick and easy access to major attractions in the region.
I can list some of the Hostal facilities have created for me a good mood and made my time spent in Hostal one of the most beautiful moments that I spent in Ecuador:the rooms are clean, cozy and intimate and has its own bathroom and shower, hot and cold running water 24/24, Internet.The Hostal offers a tasty breakfast and the menu includes dishes of international cuisine served with generosity including the vegetarian dishes or if you want the Hostal has a specially designed space where you can cook.
In the Hostal living you can relax by playing some pool, reading a good book, watching Tv, playing a board game..chess, backgammon, rummy, Monopoly, card game, accompanied by coffee or tea and a good tasty homemade cakes.From the bar you can have a cocktail made ​​with confidence on your taste.The staff is pleasant and helpful, giving you with pleasure information on the attractions of the place.I felt great in this place, a place where you can recharge your batteries and I recommend it with all trust.Thank the staff Hostal for the pleasent moments that you offered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Gerente at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Very comforting to know that you've spent a great time on the hostel.
That is our goal, we want people to sleep well and have fun. We also offer cake, coffee and drink to enhance the stay of the people.
We have added tourist information organized for use by guests.
regarding the location, we are signaling to reach the first time, is also easy as the others. We are strategically located 150 meters from the Church in the neighborhood of Los Pinos, 3 minutes walk from the center, which you can enjoy true tranquility. Thanks again. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel has everything you want - clean kitchen, beautiful common room with pool table, TV and an excellent bar with a great variety of delicious cakes. the rooms have huge beds but be aware of the showers. it may take 30 minutes to have hot water...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sienchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospinosbackpackers, Propietario at Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for mentioning an important aspect, we're just a few blocks from downtown. That makes it quiet, calm and above all, Baños de Agua Santa is safe to walk. Thanks and good riddance. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

los pinos is a very comfortable hostal with pool table, bar and all the ususal facilities. It is only a few blocks away from the spa so you can go there everynight :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasek_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#7 of 28 in Banos
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#24 of 28 in Banos
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 45 in Banos
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.6 mi away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos

Property: Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Address: Ricardo Zurita Carrillo y Ambato | Barrio Los Pinos 150 mts from the Church, Banos 010151, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Hostels you will experience great moments. Meet other travelers, get involved in social activities, relax in the gardens and hammocks. Enjoy Pizza party on fridays.Free cocktails on wednesday and saturdays. Movie Nights on sundays with free popcorn!!!!!!!have fun at the meeting point, in were you will find a collection of movies (more than 300 dvd`s), books for book change, cosy lounge & living rooms , lots of table games pool table, internet, wi-fi , social activities.You will enjoy good music, cocktails, tasty food, homemade cakes and jams - not to be missed ! Rest in the spacious and comfortable rooms.For those who like to make their own food we have a fully equipped kitchen open all day.You will always find the staff ready to help you. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together.Our Hostel provides infomation and many recommendations about restaurants, regional markets, main attractions and truistic activities.We will help you finding the best tours in the region such as Jungle , Raffting, Canyioning, Canopy, Climbing, Parapenting, Biking, Trekkings. You can choose... to stay at a regular hostel or at a Great Hostelstay in a normal dorm or in a large dorm with murals and mountain views.stay in the dormitory or at cool designed common area.be close to buildings and noise or be close to mountains, waterfalls & hotsprings.enjoy congestion and griminess of the city itself or enjoy silence,good music, gardens & hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing